Customer Reviews for

A Wicked Snow

Average Rating 3.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

deep psychological suspense

When Hannah was a young girl, she watched the inferno destroy her family barn with the pure virgin snow making quite an eerie panoramic backdrop to the yellow orange. When the blaze was finally put out and the area cooled enough to investigate, the police find numerous...
When Hannah was a young girl, she watched the inferno destroy her family barn with the pure virgin snow making quite an eerie panoramic backdrop to the yellow orange. When the blaze was finally put out and the area cooled enough to investigate, the police find numerous corpses including that of Hannah¿s mother whose pink halo in the snow will be inside Hannah forever The arsonist-murderer was never caught and eventually the case went as cold as the wintry night that it occurred on. --- Her mother¿s homicide was the impetus that led to Hannah becoming a crime scene investigator though she has never worked on trying to uncover who the killer is. Now two decades later in Southern California, Hannah is married to Ethan Griffin and raising their daughter Amber together as she hides what happened that fatal day from even her loved ones. Her current assignment involves a child abuse case when a message from the grave reaches out to her forcing Hannah to begin an investigation before history repeats itself with her and perhaps even Amber being the target. --- The vivid use of contrasting colors provides a powerful background to a deep psychological suspense investigative thriller. The story line is action-packed as the audience wonders whether the heroine has gone over the edge after receiving the dramatic note of ¿Your mom called¿ when she had buried that day deep inside her mind. Gregg Olsen writes a terrific tense thriller that grips the audience once Hannah realizes she must become the predator before the culprit targets her loved ones to get at her. --- Harriet Klausner Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Read this mystery!

Great mystery! Can`t wait to read other Olsen books!

posted by tulaDM on November 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep psychological suspense

    When Hannah was a young girl, she watched the inferno destroy her family barn with the pure virgin snow making quite an eerie panoramic backdrop to the yellow orange. When the blaze was finally put out and the area cooled enough to investigate, the police find numerous corpses including that of Hannah¿s mother whose pink halo in the snow will be inside Hannah forever The arsonist-murderer was never caught and eventually the case went as cold as the wintry night that it occurred on. --- Her mother¿s homicide was the impetus that led to Hannah becoming a crime scene investigator though she has never worked on trying to uncover who the killer is. Now two decades later in Southern California, Hannah is married to Ethan Griffin and raising their daughter Amber together as she hides what happened that fatal day from even her loved ones. Her current assignment involves a child abuse case when a message from the grave reaches out to her forcing Hannah to begin an investigation before history repeats itself with her and perhaps even Amber being the target. --- The vivid use of contrasting colors provides a powerful background to a deep psychological suspense investigative thriller. The story line is action-packed as the audience wonders whether the heroine has gone over the edge after receiving the dramatic note of ¿Your mom called¿ when she had buried that day deep inside her mind. Gregg Olsen writes a terrific tense thriller that grips the audience once Hannah realizes she must become the predator before the culprit targets her loved ones to get at her. --- Harriet Klausner Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Read this mystery!

    Great mystery! Can`t wait to read other Olsen books!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    highly recommended

    never read olson before but i will now. great story line and great characters. very good choice

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Great write

    Read three of his books and hooked. Interesting book and kept me up night after night

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Great transition from true crime to fiction!

    Yes, the ending is controversial, but somehow feels right somehow I don't feel like Claire was a bad person, even after everything she did. Maybe because we don't get to know her until the very end and she's protrayed as this really nice older lady who's done a lot for her community. Actually, lots of 'bad' people aren't ALL bad...which I'm sure is something Gregg sees all the time when writing about the 'bad girls' in our area. The only thing that made me cranky was that Hannah's Aunt Leanna never at any point disclosed an important truth to Hannah. Okay, obviously it would have been too troubling immediately, but once Hannah was grown? I guess, if Leanna had told Hannah, Hannah wouldn't have been forever chasing her mother, and there goes the story? Or does it? Mightn't Hannah still be inclined to follow another Claire Logan sighting even now that she knows the truth? Hmmm... Guess you can tell I really enjoyed the book! I love a read that leaves me continuing to think about it for days/weeks afterward!! Want more!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Great book!

    Kept me going back to get to the ending, very good suspense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Excellent mystery

    The story kind of jumped from present to past and back again but still was an excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    I had real trouble putting this book down. I am usually a pretty slow reader, but I got through this novel in just a couple of days. The twists and turns really kept me guessing, and despite my best attempts at figuring things out, I was still utterly surprised at numerous points in the book. I felt the main character was more intriguing than a lot of protagonists I've found in other novels from this genre. Compared to most other thrillers I've read the conclusion was especially fulfilling. I've been a long-time reader of thrillers, along with being a fan of Olsen's true crime books, and was a little hesitant about his jump to thrillers. I couldn't have been happier with the result. I'll be sure to check out Olsen's next novel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Excellent Read. Page turner.

    Couldn't put it down. I think Gregg should concentrate more on his fiction now, than the true crime market, as there are a glut of true crime writers now. Ann Rule raves about him - and so do I! Read all of his books, especially the historic 'Starvation Heights' Keep writing faster, Gregg!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    spirit

    thought the beginning was great,,,,,got a little bogged down in the middle,,,,,,,the end was a little deflating but the author was good enough to keep me reading,,,,,,,,thought the story could have been really good,,,,,,,,,,,,just got lost a few times in the telling, will read more from this authot because i think he has some great stories to tell and will eventually pull it all together,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A suspense with a lot of compassion for the title character

    You can't help but feel the pain and fear the the main character goes through. It grabs you and you just want to read chapter after chapter. I haven't read any of his true crime so I can't compare it to his fiction, but I liked the story. It was a little slow in the beginning but picked up after the first couple chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Surprisingly good!

    I loved this book. It kept me guessing to the end. The plot was tricky and the characters were believable. I hope Mr. Olson writes a sequel to A Wicked Snow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    captivating

    I loved this book. A wicked snow had me from the beginning. I finished it in 3 days. Superb reading. I didnt want to put it down. I will definalty be reading more of Mr. Olsens books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    Could not wait to finish this book so I could burn it!!!

    Could not wait to finish this book so I could burn it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Io

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Gregg Olsen's A Wicked Snow

    Unbelievably great book and page turner! Read it in one sitting because I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great story! Hooked me from the start.

    Great story! Hooked me from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Awful

    Ridiculous! This writer has evidently confusedvthe job of csi e,with that of a social worker. Poorly written, with unlikeable characters throughout. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    This one will definitely keep you guessing until the very end. S

    This one will definitely keep you guessing until the very end. Slowly revealing bits and pieces of Hannah's dark repressed past while she tries to find some answers, and come to terms with what happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great

    Another great book by Olsen !! Fiction or non Fiction he truely knows how to keep you interested in a book..
    Looking foward to reading more of his books....and ive read several.. Bn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17