Customer Reviews for

Wicked in Your Arms: Forgotten Princesses

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Are we able to overcome the expectations set for us?

When you are born into life with no discernible lineage, trying to find a good match becomes close to impossible. Despite the fact that her father is ridiculously rich Miss Grier Hadley is viewed as his illegitimate daughter and the large dowry he is offering is the on...
When you are born into life with no discernible lineage, trying to find a good match becomes close to impossible. Despite the fact that her father is ridiculously rich Miss Grier Hadley is viewed as his illegitimate daughter and the large dowry he is offering is the only reason she is invited to parties at all. Grier is convinced she will marry a common man not a titled heir despite what her father wants.

Crowned Prince Sevastian Maksimi is looking for a queen with impeccable taste and breeding and he needs to get that done today. He is to be King and everyone expects him to produce numerous perfect heirs with this flawless to be chosen queen. His interests are not to be considered and once Grier dumps her drink on his head, he is sure that she can be ruled out of any race to the altar despite her money and exquisite good looks. A man does love a feisty red head with freckles who can sass him without breaking a nail and funny things do tend to happen on the way to destiny.

Sev may have the title but Grier has the magic that is drawing him to her and making him want to stop her from talking with a kiss. That one kiss turns into some roaming hands, deep breathing, and the thought that he might get her out of his mind if only he could get her into his bed for one night. He may know he cannot marry her, but does that have to rule out having a relationship with her?

Grier is not going to back away from any fight as she has held her own since she was left to her own devices at a young age. She has known despair and the stigma of name calling so this future king can take a flying leap; she is not going to be any man's temporary fling. Yet the harder she fights to stay away the more she is drawn to him and he to her with total abandon to king and country. Sev has always fulfilled his duty but just this once he wants to know what it feels like to make his own choices and decide his own fate and love whom he desires.

Sev and Grier stumble over each other enough that once they figure out that love has a way of making decisions for you. They are lost in one another's passionate embrace and while the past may cause some blips on Grier's radar and Sev's family seems to have more issues then he ever suspected if they can get past all that to move this may prove to be the best decision they independently make together!

You have to prepare yourself that once you pick up this book the dishes will not be done, the family will have to fend for itself, and you will not be able to stop reading Sev and Grier's story. You feel the pain and passion from both of them and the adventure they are on is fabulous! The only unfortunate part is the book does end so do as I did and read it again and again and again.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This is just OK. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my Nook be

This is just OK. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my Nook because it was free there, too. My taste doesn't run to the steamy romances but if yours does, you'll like this. It's short on plot but long on the heavy petting scenes. As typical of these stories, it's dism...
This is just OK. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my Nook because it was free there, too. My taste doesn't run to the steamy romances but if yours does, you'll like this. It's short on plot but long on the heavy petting scenes. As typical of these stories, it's dismissive of promiscuity and ignores the inference that she was a virgin before he treated her so roughly. I'm certain that was inferred, but he doesn't care, nor does she seem to. She seems incongruously tough and progressive, so outspoken for her time; then she faints...hmmm. Believable? Not so much. I don't especially care about the characters. There were several typos, but not too bad, comparatively. I liked the creative descriptions, though: I learned new words, like termagant and virago. It's good for a diversion, and a quick, unchallenging read.

posted by AnotherBibliophile on May 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Are we able to overcome the expectations set for us?

    When you are born into life with no discernible lineage, trying to find a good match becomes close to impossible. Despite the fact that her father is ridiculously rich Miss Grier Hadley is viewed as his illegitimate daughter and the large dowry he is offering is the only reason she is invited to parties at all. Grier is convinced she will marry a common man not a titled heir despite what her father wants.

    Crowned Prince Sevastian Maksimi is looking for a queen with impeccable taste and breeding and he needs to get that done today. He is to be King and everyone expects him to produce numerous perfect heirs with this flawless to be chosen queen. His interests are not to be considered and once Grier dumps her drink on his head, he is sure that she can be ruled out of any race to the altar despite her money and exquisite good looks. A man does love a feisty red head with freckles who can sass him without breaking a nail and funny things do tend to happen on the way to destiny.

    Sev may have the title but Grier has the magic that is drawing him to her and making him want to stop her from talking with a kiss. That one kiss turns into some roaming hands, deep breathing, and the thought that he might get her out of his mind if only he could get her into his bed for one night. He may know he cannot marry her, but does that have to rule out having a relationship with her?

    Grier is not going to back away from any fight as she has held her own since she was left to her own devices at a young age. She has known despair and the stigma of name calling so this future king can take a flying leap; she is not going to be any man's temporary fling. Yet the harder she fights to stay away the more she is drawn to him and he to her with total abandon to king and country. Sev has always fulfilled his duty but just this once he wants to know what it feels like to make his own choices and decide his own fate and love whom he desires.

    Sev and Grier stumble over each other enough that once they figure out that love has a way of making decisions for you. They are lost in one another's passionate embrace and while the past may cause some blips on Grier's radar and Sev's family seems to have more issues then he ever suspected if they can get past all that to move this may prove to be the best decision they independently make together!

    You have to prepare yourself that once you pick up this book the dishes will not be done, the family will have to fend for itself, and you will not be able to stop reading Sev and Grier's story. You feel the pain and passion from both of them and the adventure they are on is fabulous! The only unfortunate part is the book does end so do as I did and read it again and again and again.

    15 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it e

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it end.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    This is just OK. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my Nook be

    This is just OK. I read it on my Kindle instead of on my Nook because it was free there, too. My taste doesn't run to the steamy romances but if yours does, you'll like this. It's short on plot but long on the heavy petting scenes. As typical of these stories, it's dismissive of promiscuity and ignores the inference that she was a virgin before he treated her so roughly. I'm certain that was inferred, but he doesn't care, nor does she seem to. She seems incongruously tough and progressive, so outspoken for her time; then she faints...hmmm. Believable? Not so much. I don't especially care about the characters. There were several typos, but not too bad, comparatively. I liked the creative descriptions, though: I learned new words, like termagant and virago. It's good for a diversion, and a quick, unchallenging read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great Book !

    I love this Author.She is one of my favorites. I really liked this book,It made me laugh at some parts and cry at other.I buy all her books and have not been disapointed.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Fantastic

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!! SEXY!!!! FUNNY!!! INTENSE!!! THE ONLY BAD PART IS THAT IT HAD TO END!!!!!! AND FOR $1.99, HOW CAN YOU GO WRONG!!!??!! (FRG)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put it down. My only wish is that it could have been a bit longer, it didn't take me very long to finish. I love Ms. Jordan's books and won't hesitate to buy more of them.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    So gooddd!

    I should be sleep but this book was so good i could not go to sleep before i finished it! The hero (Sev) was oh so delicious this one is to be savored

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Sweet Fairy Tale

    Sophie Jordan does not disappoint.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Loved this book!! Couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    sub-genre fans will appreciate this jocular tale

    Next in line to the throne of Maldania, Prince Sevastian Maksimi needs a wealthy well bred aristocrat as his wife to produce the appropriate heir and spare. He travels to England to find the ideal princess.

    At a London gala, Sevastian and his cousin Malcolm discuss the list of potential brides. The arrogant prince tells his blood kin to delete Miss Grier Hadley and her sister Cleo from consideration as they are illegitimate offspring of an unsavory father though raised by a caring mom and kind stepfather. Grier overhears his dismissal and "accidently" dumps her drink on him. As they keep meeting in unacceptable places, an attraction grows even as they argue, fuss and kiss; but she remains unacceptable by the standard he promised his grandfather the king while someone stalks Grier.

    The amusing bantering between the fighting lead pair over serious and inane topics like birthdates makes for a delightful historical romance. The story line is fast-paced from the opening lemon water dousing to the climax. With a nod to Princess Grace, Next in line to the throne of Maldania, Prince Sevastian Maksimi needs a wealthy well bred aristocrat as his wife to produce the appropriate heir and spare. He travels to England to find the ideal princess.

    At a London gala, Sevastian and his cousin Malcolm discuss the list of potential brides. The arrogant prince tells his blood kin to delete Miss Grier Hadley and her sister Cleo from consideration as they are illegitimate offspring of an unsavory father though raised by a caring mom and kind stepfather. Grier overhears his dismissal and "accidently" dumps her drink on him. As they keep meeting in unacceptable places, an attraction grows even as they argue, fuss and kiss; but she remains unacceptable by the standard he promised his grandfather the king while someone stalks Grier.

    The amusing bantering between the fighting lead pair over serious and inane topics like birthdates makes for a delightful historical romance. The story line is fast-paced from the opening lemon water dousing to the climax. With a nod to Princess Grace, sub-genre fans will appreciate this jocular tale as love does not seem enough.

    Harriet Klausner
    .

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Shlock

    Garbage for the illiterate masses.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved this story!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Love it

    Something you shouldn't pass by

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Another Great Read from Sophie Jordan

    Grier Hadley needs a husband. Her father, one of London's most unsavory characters, wants his illegitimate daughter to marry a title and is offering an enormous, ill-gotten dowry to whichever nobleman takes her to the altar. That's why she's hiding behind a potted plant at the ball. Prince Sevastian Maksimi needs a wife-a well-bred young lady of impeccable reputation with a considerable fortune to her name. That's why he tells his cousin to scratch the unacceptably common Miss Hadley from his list of prospective brides. He doesn't know she's directly behind him. She can't help but dump her glass of lemon water over his head. As first meetings go, theirs is definitely NOT love at first sight. But when they get thrown together at a house party in the country sparks fly and passion heats up. Marriage is out of the question, of course, but neither can bear the thought of being with anyone else. Sophie Jordan is one of my very favorite historical authors and she never fails to create characters and stories I fall in love with. Raised by a loving stepfather she adored, Grier's past didn't include her unsavory father. She's is smart and independent and humiliated by her present predicament. Sev has only recently returned from war to find his grandfather, the King, expects him to find a wife and produce an heir immediately. As the heir to the throne, Sev is determined to do his duty even if it breaks his heart and Grier's. Their story is told with humor, wit and skill that had me up late into the night to finish. Ms. Jordan weaves romance and passion, love and duty to create a hero and heroine who have depth and character and richly deserve their Happily Ever After. This one's a keeper. Actually, all of Sophie Jordan's books are keepers!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Wicked in your arms: Forgotten Princesses

    I admit i didn't like this book at first. The attitude and arrogance the those people pissed me off. I almost gave up. But with the sparks and passion flying, I couldn't help myself. The story drew me in. There were a lot of useless words, could have been a lot simplier. Still I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Very good

    I really enjoyed reading this one. Hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Nice, quick read that had romance and not a lot of drama. I would recommend to a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Should have ended differently

    In the first half of the book I enjoyed the way the characters played off of one another. And while the story was fairytale sweet, it was unbelievable to me. A prince would never be allowed to marry so beneath himself. However, I did root for Grier when she refused to be a mistress. I liked them best when they were fighting, oddly enough and felt that this was a relationship that could have blossomed into a wonderful friendship. The chemistry felt somewhat contrived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Funny

    Funny and entertaining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Nice Fun Read Fun relaxing book. Love the female lead. Will r

    Nice Fun Read

    Fun relaxing book. Love the female lead. Will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13