Customer Reviews for

The Wide-Awake Princess

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fun Fairytale Story!

Do you think you know what happened after Princess Gwendolyn (Sleeping Beauty) pricked her finger on the spinning wheel and fell into a magical sleep? According to Baker's new book, Disney got it wrong. It wasn't prince charming who saved Gwendolyn, it was her younger s...
Do you think you know what happened after Princess Gwendolyn (Sleeping Beauty) pricked her finger on the spinning wheel and fell into a magical sleep? According to Baker's new book, Disney got it wrong. It wasn't prince charming who saved Gwendolyn, it was her younger sister, Annie.

Fearing a fate similar to Gwendolyn's, Annie's parents allow only one fairy to bestow a magical gift upon their daughter. This gift means that Annie will be impervious to all forms of magic for the rest of her life. Her gift also drains the magic from others around her. This has made Annie an outcast in her family's castle. Since both her mother and sister were given the gift of beauty, it begins fades in Annie's presence. Despite this, Annie is very kind to those around her. After everyone inside the castle has fallen asleep, she takes time to make sure that everyone is in a comfortable position before she heads off to find a way to break the spell. Annie was also fairly sensible. Instead of relying solely on Gwen's obnoxious boyfriend, Prince Digby, to break the spell, Annie invited numerous other princes back to the castle.

There were a lot of other fairytale references in this book that I really enjoyed (Rapunzel, the Frog Prince). While I think that some younger readers may not recognize all of them, as an older reader I really appreciated these extra twists in the story. I also enjoyed the romance between Annie and Liam. Their feelings for each other seemed to be more genuine, because they weren't based around fairy gifts like beauty, and grace. Don't hesitate simply because it's a middle-grade book. The Wide-Awake Princess was a unique fairytale, with a strong, intelligent heroine.

posted by acornucopiaoflove on June 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

horrible!

HORRIBLE!

posted by 6181733 on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Fairytale Story!

    Do you think you know what happened after Princess Gwendolyn (Sleeping Beauty) pricked her finger on the spinning wheel and fell into a magical sleep? According to Baker's new book, Disney got it wrong. It wasn't prince charming who saved Gwendolyn, it was her younger sister, Annie.

    Fearing a fate similar to Gwendolyn's, Annie's parents allow only one fairy to bestow a magical gift upon their daughter. This gift means that Annie will be impervious to all forms of magic for the rest of her life. Her gift also drains the magic from others around her. This has made Annie an outcast in her family's castle. Since both her mother and sister were given the gift of beauty, it begins fades in Annie's presence. Despite this, Annie is very kind to those around her. After everyone inside the castle has fallen asleep, she takes time to make sure that everyone is in a comfortable position before she heads off to find a way to break the spell. Annie was also fairly sensible. Instead of relying solely on Gwen's obnoxious boyfriend, Prince Digby, to break the spell, Annie invited numerous other princes back to the castle.

    There were a lot of other fairytale references in this book that I really enjoyed (Rapunzel, the Frog Prince). While I think that some younger readers may not recognize all of them, as an older reader I really appreciated these extra twists in the story. I also enjoyed the romance between Annie and Liam. Their feelings for each other seemed to be more genuine, because they weren't based around fairy gifts like beauty, and grace. Don't hesitate simply because it's a middle-grade book. The Wide-Awake Princess was a unique fairytale, with a strong, intelligent heroine.

    40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Great!

    At princess gwendolyn's christening an evil fairy cast a spell on her to prick her finger on a spinning wheel on her 16th birthday. Everyone in the castle exept her younger sister Annie falls asleep when she does.Annie goes out with a royal guard to find gwendolyn's true love and get him to kiss gwendolyn and wake her and her family.This book is a mix of sleeping beauty , rapunzel, hansel and gretel, princess and the pea and the frog princess.I am 10 I loved it.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Marie

    Great book

    I love this book! Its has some fantasy in
    It! Its mixed with a love story but at the b-
    egingging it has a tragity! ( no one dies)
    Great book! A must get for anyone want-
    ing a great book to read !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Love it!

    You should really buy this book. Worth the money

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I luved this book!!

    This book was amazing! I luved the whole fantasy thing and fantasy is my favorite genere of books. I definitely reccomend it 2 everyone who luvs fantasy as much as i do!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    This is books are awesome!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome anyone who likes E.D Baker or fariy tales would love this book. I love this book. I would recomend this book for little kids.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Unidentified

    That was a very good book. All of the princess storoes fit really well with the plot. The best medly of stories ever!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    The wide awake princess

    Thuis book is soooo goooood i want to read it over and over again i am sooooooo happpppppy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    I LOVE E. D. Baker's books- but this is the best of all.

    I loved this book, not just because it is very well written, but because Annie, Gwendolyn's(Sleeping Beauty)little sister, sets out on an action filled adventure, to find her sisters true love, and, along the way, has found her own. As Annie and Liam travel together, they develop felling for each other.

    It is a good read, for you and your children. I read it for my seven year old, and she read it again, by herself. Its an entertaining, romantic/fairytale/comedy. I highly recommend all of E. D. Bakers books. They are very entertaining.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Tmpbug

    Awesome book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    The wid awake princess

    AWSOME BOOK

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Awsome Book!

    Its very creative and enjoyable!!:) its a twist of rapunzul and sleeping beaty!! GREAT BOOK

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Sequel

    Isnt there a sequel to this book? I thoght I added it to my wichlist but its not there so I think there is a sequel but Im not sure.........

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Love it

    I loved The Wide-Awake Princess the first time I read it, but now that Im reading it again its awesome!!! And so is the sequl Unlocking the Spell! Some of the best books I've ever read!! Next to the Inkheart Trilogy, mind you.
    ~InkHeartlover

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great book

    This book is filled with energy and kept me hooked until i was finised

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    It was great!

    I love romances and fairy tales and tgis book was great!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    As far as I,ve heard it's going to be a good book!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Good Book

    This is a must-read. It is a WAY different version of sleeping beauty.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I love it

    Great book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Best princess book ever!!!

    Do you know about sleeping beauty? Well this is a book about her sister and what would happen if a spell was cast over the whole kingdome where everyone was sleeping except her what would she do? In regardless this is an amazing book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8