Customer Reviews for

A Series of Unfortunate Events #3: The Wide Window

Average Rating 4.5
( 388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the books get scarer and scarer! i love sloving the mysteries beffore i find the answer. if you are a great reader like me, you wouldnt care that it is sad; just that it is a GREAT book! must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 4282442 on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ok i guess

It could have been better. I would have liked it to be a little more relistic though. I mean why would their aunt even talk to Olaf? Also leetches? I dont think there are any leetches where they were anyway. I wasnt really a fan of this book.

posted by 18422171 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the books get scarer and scarer! i love sloving the mysteries beffore i find the answer. if you are a great reader like me, you wouldnt care that it is sad; just that it is a GREAT book! must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    AMAZING

    I was amazed how well this book was written. The nice part is when he jumps in and speaks to you the reader. Its not sad just at the end. The book keeps you on the edge your seat and is great for any age readers. ENJOY!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Those poor Baudelaire orphans. After the death of their beloved Uncle Monty, the third installment of Lemony Snicket's tale has Violet, Klaus, and Sunny heading toward the home of yet another new guardian. Left by Mr. Poe at Damocles Dock at the edge of Lake Lachrymose for the taxi that will take them to the home of Josephine Anwhistle, the orphans must once again wonder about what fate holds in store for them. Will the gramatically correct dowager be kind like Uncle Morty, or retched like Count Olaf? <BR/><BR/>It turns out that Aunt Josephine is a mixture of the two. Although she welcomes them into her home, the woman is so terrified by everything--the stove, glass doorknobs, radiators, and even realtors--that the children are hard pressed to enjoy their dinners of cold cucumber soup and their presents of a baby doll, train set, and rattle. Living high above the Lake that is full of the leeches that devoured Josephine's husband, Ike, the three Baudelaire children have a hard time convincing their Aunt to even leave the house. <BR/><BR/>On a trip to the market, however, who should appear once again with yet another despicable plan to steal the Baudelaire fortune but Count Olaf--this time in the disguise of Captain Sham, a man with an eye patch and peg leg who has opened a boating company of his own. Josephine, of course, is at once enamored of the dashing Captain, and Mr. Poe, as always, is not convinced by the children's claim that Captain Sham and Count Olaf are one and the same. What follows is another does of typical Baudelaire fair--diabolical plans, a terrible hurricane named Herman, a bizarre restaurant named the Anxious Clown, a boat ride across a leech-filled lake, a rescue at Curdled Cave, and another meet-up with Count Olaf's nasty associates. <BR/><BR/>THE WIDE WINDOW is another winning story in the tales of the Baudelaire orphans. The story took me about an hour and a half to read, and is suitable for children around ages 9 and up. Again, however, you'll need to base your decision of its suitability based on the maturity of your children, as this book is just as dark as the first two.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    AWESOMENESSS!

    When i read this book, it was like watching a movie! All that was missing was the popcorn and soda!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Yah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Total 5 star book!If you dont like this series you are a loser.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Amazing

    Loved it

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE WIDE WINDOW IS A GREAT BOOK

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS BOOKS!!!! THIS IS A GREAT STORY!!! It has great pictures throughout the book, Lemony Snicket wrote it like it really happened, Violet, Klaus and Sunny get into some of THE WORST situations yet, and the story is great! It is SO absorbing, fast-paced, and thrilling. When Snicket writes, I can see it in my head, like it's a movie. It is great to read just for fun, for reading skills, and sharing with your friends. I like the way Snicket writes, because when he uses unusual words (which he does a lot) he tells you what they mean, and he has a very observant perspective of everything. GREAT BOOK! A BOOK THAT YOU HAVE TO READ!(very unfortunate)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Best books ever published2

    hi i return to do best books ever published2 in this book the wide window the orphans go to live with there aunt josephine but as usual count olaf finds them and then aunt josephine goes to hide in a cave then they find her and then count olaf finds them and aunt josephine is tossed over board off of count olafs ship . See you next time on best books ecer published

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    such a good book

    Iwas up all night trying to finish this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    YOU MUST READ!!!!!!!!

    My favorite book,I coudn't survive withpout it!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Sandra

    Im ten years old and in fourth grade and i have to say THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!!! Lemony Snicket has great taste!!! Nobody can write a book like him. I ultra recomend this book. They say it's sooo horible. It is not!!! My favorite book in the series. BUY IT!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Poopie

    I want it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Lol read this

    Great book you know how snicket calls it 'miserable' cuz i was reading the reptile room (book 2 of 13) and i felt miserable. Read the whole series and make me nomiserable... jk but its a great series im rereading it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Read

    Read this or you can't read

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Ok i guess

    It could have been better. I would have liked it to be a little more relistic though. I mean why would their aunt even talk to Olaf? Also leetches? I dont think there are any leetches where they were anyway. I wasnt really a fan of this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    :(

    Sad

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    incredible

    once u read it u just cant put it down. this series is the most amazing series ive ever read!!! TRY IT FOR YOUR SELF.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    this book is ok... i guess....

    i have read this book about three to four times and when i last read it i realized how pathetic and redundant it really is. I mean about every page it tells us how sad and angry the baudelair children are after their parents left them yadayadayada..... WE GET THE POINT! The same goes to the next three or four books but then after that they get a little bit more exciting.... :) Most of the plot line is very redundant and has been in a lot of books. To tell the truth i have read much better books....

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    This book is amazing and so is the series!

    This book is very dark and intresting. It can also be thrilling at sometimes. If you are depressed, you really wouldn't want to read this book but that's just my opinion,you can if you want to. This is the 3rd of the 13th in the series. Mr.Snicket has other books besides the series but the series is more popular. In the 1st & 2ND book, the orphans (Violet, Kluas, and Sunny Baudelaire) loose their parents in a fire and leave the fortune behind to Violet when she is of age. In the first book, they are put in the custody of Count Olaf, a relative that is only keeping them for their money. He abuses them and tries to get their fortune . In the end of the first book, he fails and the orphans excape. In the 2nd book, The Baudelaire's are put in the custody of one of their uncles. Count Olaf disguesses himself into someone else and kills their uncle and once again tries to get their fortune. The orphanes fight him and the banker that is handling their fortune affairs arives just in time to same them and escape. In this book the Baudelaires are with their aunt and Count Olaf is back in another disguse to try once again to steal their fortune.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Wide Window Review

    This story is a story that created great interest because I was never able to stop reading. I found the story thrilling and engaging. Many times I would betray other responsibilities in order to read more of this book. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a book that is different, sad and brings great appreciation for the little things by giving the reader something filled with heartache with a tiny hint of joy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20