Customer Reviews for

Wideacre (Wideacre Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BRILLIANT & ASTONISHING

This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minu...
This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minute I read the last page.

posted by ReadingGalNJ on June 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not for folks with morals!

I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are a...
I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are awful things that happen, but this book just seems to compile all the terrible things people will do to get ahead into one character. It was a bit much for me.

posted by TinaNDallas on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for folks with morals!

    I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are awful things that happen, but this book just seems to compile all the terrible things people will do to get ahead into one character. It was a bit much for me.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BRILLIANT & ASTONISHING

    This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
    The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minute I read the last page.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Kinda creepy

    I love Philippa Gregory's historical fiction so decided to give this trilogy a try. Beatrice, the main character in Wideacre, is such a bad person that I wasn't sure if I really wanted to finish the book once I got started. She's just BAD. But I really liked the end so went for the next book in the series, The Favored Child. Another creepy story. Ms. Gregory really knows how to develop nasty, mean, yucky characters. I was finally satisfied at the end of the last book in the series, Meridon. Go ahead, give the three a try. Just be ready to be creeped out!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Wideacre is the fifth Phillipa Gregory novel I've read and I'm b

    Wideacre is the fifth Phillipa Gregory novel I've read and I'm beginning to think that she only writes about narcissistic women! It was difficult to finish this book because Beatrice is SO BEASTLY that I found my stomach in knots while reading it. She is a classic narcissist - justifying her evil acts, never thinking of anyone else's wants and needs but her own, and using lies and manipulation to achieve her goals (along with attempted murder, patricide, and incest). While it is an interesting story, it is hard to stomach Beatrice's total lack of empathy. I'd love to know what Phillipa hoped to accomplish when she wrote this story, as there is no redemption. I don't mind sex in a book (in fact, it can enhance a story) but the incest scenes are plentiful and they are creepy. This book is really the profile of a sociopath and the evil is so unrelenting that it's hard to take.

    Interesting read for those who can handle challenging topics. If you want a formulaic historical novel, this is not it! I'm going to read the other two books in the hopes that Phillipa has some elements of resolution and redemption for the reader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo!

    I must say that this book has to be the best book I have ever read. I dont know why everyone is being so narrow minded. This trilogy is amazing! I am bowing down to Philippa Gregory!

    I love this book. And if you are looking for a book that you will just not be able to put down....this is it. And if I were you, I wouldnt listen to these narrow minded reviews. I promise you, you will love it.

    Philippa Gregory is a genius!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    Intriguing, disturbing, couldn't put it down

    If you can tolerate reading about incest with kinky sex, the story is intriguing and a real page turner. I have read and enjoyed all the Boleyn books, and I enjoyed the period background in this one as I have in those. The main character in this novel is dark and intense due to her obsession with the land. I was drawn in to her love and connection to the land. As the story develops, you keep wondering how far she will go in her obsession to get the land. You wonder whether she will achieve her goals in the end. You wonder whether her obsession will destroy her or whether she will find redemption. It is definitely worth reading to follow Beatrice's obsession. She is certainly a memorable character. I can't wait to read the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shockingly unnerving and great.

    Do you ever hate a character so much that you become obsessed by them. This is exactly how Beatrice is for me. She is wickedly deplorable and routhless. Reading her almost made me feel guilty, like I was watching some horrible tragedy, morally unethical and yet I could not bring myself to put the book down. I had to know just how far she would go. She is a delicious character of such unyielding passion and determination with no moral inhibitions that she is detestable... and great. You have to read the whole series to truly appreciate its timelessness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    I am a big fan of Philippa Gregory and have read many of her his

    I am a big fan of Philippa Gregory and have read many of her historical fictions so I couldn't wait to start reading The Wideacre Series. I had a hard time finishing the first book because of the morale of the story and it was depressing to read the terrible things one person can do to hurt others. I know we don't live in a perfect world but as a Christian it was so wrong in many ways. I have the all 3 books but will not read the last two. It was a very disappointing story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read for the Mature Reader

    Wow! One of my favorite books. Great plot twists and truly seductive character flaws. This book is a little depressing, so read the other two books. Clearly some readers cant handle such a descriptive novel; Not A BOOK FOR PRUDES!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stay Away

    This novel is different, though far from good. Philippa Gregory's writing is such that it is easy to picture every scene, every charachter. There are some twists to her plot, though nothing unpredictable.

    Wideacre is a cross between a cheap romance and a truly perverse, sexual fantasy. The book is full of sex scenes, most of which are incestuous. If you enjoy that than I'm sure this book and a good therapist are more than appropriate for you. However, if that level of perversion isn't your thing then stay away. While that is the worst of the book none of it is good, and nothing comes to close to making wading through Philippa Gregory's sick fantasies worthwhile.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    Very Odd!

    Like so many others, I love Phillipa Gregory's work. This trilogy was a bit unsettling and I was embarassed to admit I read it. After talking to my friend, she wanted to read it and I loaned her the series. She agreed with me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    A Big Waste of Time

    I was looking for something by an author I had not read before and found this at my local store. Enjoying historical fiction, I eagerly started Wideacre and enjoyed the beginning. I knew the lead character was independent, but with each new page, she quickly turned evil and had no redeeming qualities to draw me back into the story. Just could not finish the book as I kept wishing I had the time back I'd invested in this bad tome. I'm usually better at selecting books; must have let my guard down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    A Complete Smutfest

    I thought that Philippa Gregory was a genuine historian, who, having done years of research, would recreate and flesh out people in their time. Her book about Bess of Hardwick, Lady Shrewsbury ("The Other Queen") was such a book, which is why I decided to read this book.

    * * *
    This book absolutely disgusted me. I felt like I needed to bathe myself for a week after reading it. It starts as an interesting, engaging story, which is why I bought it after reading the sample. It descends into total filth. This is not a story of an heroic woman who sacrifices all for the land she loves. It is an excuse for pornographic and S&M incest scenes in an 18th century setting. It has a vaguely reminiscent feeling of being a poorly conceived English version/reworking/reinterpretation of "Gone With The Wind", only without civil war and with every possible dirty element that can be worked into the "plot".

    * * *
    Y U C K.

    * * *
    If you like smut, you'll love this. If you enjoy well-researched historical novels, look everywhere else. I won't even recommend "The Other Queen" after reading this. I am completely disgusted by Philippa Gregory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    Don't waste your time

    This was just ridiculous, I couldn't get through a 1/4 of the book. Would not recommend to anyone unless you enjoy silly romance novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    From Disturbing to Disgusting

    When my 3rd grade students become discouraged with a book, after only a few chapters, I urge them to stick with it, saying, "Don't give up! The more you read of a book, the better the story gets." After 3 decades of continuous reading, I have always found that to be true. Then, I read Philippa Gregory's 'Wideacre.'

    The first few chapters made me uncomfortable, but wanting to practice what I preach to my students, I 'didn't give up.' And so, I moved from uncomfortable, to disturbed...grossed out...appalled, and ended up disgusted! (Both with the book, and myself for reading the big, dirty mess.)

    Beatrice Lacey is the only daughter of the priviliged, land-owning Lacey family. Beatrice loves her family's estate, Wideacre, more than anything else in the world. She knows and understands Wideacre, and the peasants who farm there, much better than her foolish older brother. Unfortunately, in the eighteenth century, only sons could inherit land, no matter how unworthy or undeserving they may be. (If a family had no male children, the courts would search for a distant male relative to own the land.) Eighteenth century daughters were married off and sent away to live with their new husbands. Beatrice vows she'll never leave Wideacre and promises herself that one day she'll own the family estate. Scheming and planning to achieve her goals, Beatrice begins committing one heinous act after another.

    At the ripe old age of 14, she arranges her father's murder. She then maims and leaves for dead the poor boy who killed her father for her, by luring him to a large, steel-jawed bear trap. Then, Beatrice's brother becomes the Squire of Wideacre, and suddenly she's weak-kneed with lust at the sight of him. Luckily for Beatrice, he developed a sexual appetite for being beaten while away at school, and she uses this to her advantage. Beating, whipping, and bedding the him until Wideacre is almost hers!

    Next, she marries a very intelligent, honorable doctor, and foists the second child she conceived with her brother off on him. When he's clever enough to discover most of the evil things Beatrice has done, she ruins him by pretending he killed her mother by doctoring her while drunk. Guess who really killed Beatrice's mother?

    And the fun is just getting started!

    Save yourself and do not read this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    While some aspects of this book were appalling, I admire ms. Gre

    While some aspects of this book were appalling, I admire ms. Gregory for having the guts to go there. The synopsis warns you outright that Beatrice is amoral and that she gets what she wants...aside from all that, her books about Henry's queens are so different in style that it feels like Wideacre was written by a different author. I did not love the trilogy as a whole (too many unbelievably crazy folks obsessed with that plot of land, and the story sometimes drug on a bit too long) I was eager to foreshadow Beatrice's punishment for her crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Love!!

    This whole series is just amazing! I could read them over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Good book

    I usually enjoy Ms. Gregory's writings and particularly the era she writes within. This story fits but I felt dragged a bit with repeats of the main characters "thinking". As to the main charater, she certainly is interesting in her progression into madness. Interesting too the main male character personality, the mother and the wife. One is able to have a great deal of sympathy for the people of the estate village with the complicated issues of the time. Made me re-realize that throughout ages there have always been those of the "Haves" and the the "have nots" and there are always going to be those who try to make others lives bearable and those who do the opposite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Just not worth the time

    This book was just terrible. I couldnt even get through the first 150 pages without trying to get past the incest. This doesnt even get a star in my mind. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS ONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Different.....

    So, I have read The Other Boylen Girl by this Author and LOVED it.
    This book is alittle on the wild side.
    I couldnt not get past the main characters justification through out this whole book I could not even finish it. NOT because of the characters but because it has to be the s..l..o..w..es..t book ever! Nothing ever happens all you hear about is the land.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10