Customer Reviews for

Wideacre (Wideacre Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BRILLIANT & ASTONISHING

This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minu...
This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minute I read the last page.

posted by ReadingGalNJ on June 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not for folks with morals!

I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are a...
I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are awful things that happen, but this book just seems to compile all the terrible things people will do to get ahead into one character. It was a bit much for me.

posted by TinaNDallas on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Wow! It's hard to write a review for a book that is well writte

    Wow! It's hard to write a review for a book that is well written but you absolutely hate the main character. Gregory has done a masterful job at creating a main character that disturbs and disgusts the reader but also leaves the reader with the hope that the main character will redeem herself in the end. Beatrice's character is driven to shocking and disturbing acts to stay with the family land and will stop at nothing to stay in control.

    If you can handle the first of this series, then try the second book too! Not for the timid of heart or those who believe in fairytale endings. This book is a brutally honest testament to the life of a sociopath. The curse of Beatrice's continues in the other two books of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    This Dark and twisted tale of a family has ups and down, turns, and sick valley's and peaks to a story written by Philippa Gregory. However I rather enjoy the change in her witting and yet oddly enough it was not so different. But it is not for the faint of heart because there are some family dynamics that many people night find taboo to write about, talk about, let alone ready about. All an all I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Loved it

    She has the best books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Incest and Patricide

    I gave originally gave this book two stars, but then talked myself down to one because, like her other books, her writing style is great. But the strong themes of incest and patricide are very disturbing. Equally disturbing are the descriptions of starving tenants.

    None of the characters seem worthy of gaining our sympathy and support. The main character seems like a complete sociopath. The book reads almost like a diary in its details of the main character's life, and then the ending falls very short, having a vague, dreamlike quality.

    I read it, cover to cover, and wish hadn't bothered at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Read this a while back and enjoyed every minute of it. It is definitely for someone who can appreciate an evil protagonist, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    She really loves Wideacre...

    This book was interesting and really goes to show how a human will do ANYTHING she can to get what she wants. Beatrice does exactly that. If you don't like reading from the view of a total douchebag, dont read this book.

    I, however, found this refreshing, as I feel like I'm constantly reading the poor victimized girl role. Describing every little blade of grass in wideacre was a bit annoying, but it did drive home the value of the land to Beatrice. This book dragged a TAD too long, but was still definitely finishable. The big highlight for me was Beatrice's amazingly evil determination. It was interesting to read.

    Great characters.
    Enjoyed the ending.
    Worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    TRASH

    So glad I only got the first. Gald that she improved in hermlater books. This drags on forever and I found the content disgusting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great read

    I love sagas and historical fiction, was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    Terrible!!

    I have never hated a character as I hated Beatrice. Yes, she's fictional, but I will never get the time I wasted on this trash back! There was no redeeming quality to anyone in the story and the plot itself was boring. I swore off Philippa Gregory's books because of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Decent

    The first part of the book was wonderful; the characters - though terribly flawed - were incredibly interesting and the plot was fascinating as well. However, the last half of the book was too depressing. Beatrice, the main character was almost annoyingly stubborn and self-destructive. I got mad at her as a charcter which isn't something I normally do. Though I love Philippa Gregory - and her writing is superb in this novel too, I'm not sure I would recommend this book unless you like something that is going to make you angry and possibly depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highlighting Gregory's diverse literary talents, this is a must read!

    For those of you who have read Philippa Gregory's other period books, Wideacre is of another breed. While it still holds strong to Gregory's ability to transport her readers back through several centuries, Wideacre highlights a dark, almost demonic writing. The story follows a beautiful, smart, and savvy woman through a man's world, one where she must struggle in order to keep control of the one thing she truly loves - her family's land. Gregory's description of this tale is fascinating and will definitely hook you with its dark charm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Quite disappointing and disgusting!

    Having read some of her other books such as the Red Queen,etc. I found this book quite diappointing. The subject matter was extremely discusting. Had planned on reading the triology, but am now glad that I did not purchase all 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I loved it

    I see most readers could not see past some of the more shocking points in this story but for me that is exactly what I loved about it. I love that the author was not afraid to write the main character the way she did. Like the other readers I was shocked by some of the events in this story too but I found myself captivated by the main characters ruthlessness and her willingness to do whatever it took to get what she wanted. I was able to separate real life from the book and just go with it and it was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gross - I stopped reading at the incest

    This book is nasty...repetitively so. I can only attribute the postitive ratings to the fact that soft porn 'romance' novels sell so well. OK if that's what you like, but REALLY not my idea of a good read. I was dissapointed in Ms. Gregory. I liked some of her other books (the Boleyn titles) but am so turned off I won't read anything else she's written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but Morbidly Disgusting

    I loved the plot turns in this book but the in depth description of the land went over board and I found myself repulsed by the many scenes of incest. I think this book could have been trimmed by at least 150 pages if she didn't describe ever leaf and blade of grass on Wideacre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth the time

    I was very disappointed in this book. The main character was unlikble with no redeeming qualities. George failed by turning what could of been agreat story into a primer on deviant and incestuouis behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Awful. Simply awful.

    I have read and loved Philippa Gregory's other books, but this one was a real letdown. The main character, Beatrice, seems to regret everything she's ever done and yet continues to act the same. If you like to read about crazy, murderous girls, however, don't let me stop you from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    Intriguing

    I have read Ms. Gregory's historical works, so thought I'd read Wildacre as well.It was an intriguing surprise, and a much sexier book than I would have thought! Now I am on book three...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my Favorite's, a definate page turner!

    You really cannot go wrong with Philippa Gregory, she is simply fantastic! Beatrice for me was like a crazed Scarlet O'hara who is willing to go to any means for the Land that she loves so much. It is a book that makes your jaw drop with her scheme's and keep you guess what will happen next! I have recommended this to others and they love it just as much! If you like unpredictable, thrilling, revengeful books then this is for you! I do warn though that it is not a book for anyone too young as there are some rather discriptive love scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    Highly Recommended!

    I couldn't put it down! What a beautiful gothic novel/ time period peice. The story was full of twists and turns that kept me wanting more. This series is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10