Customer Reviews for

Wideacre (Wideacre Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BRILLIANT & ASTONISHING

This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minu...
This book has become one of my all time favorites & I cherish the day I found Book I of the Wideache trilogy.
The velvet curtains fall down & the you experience the scandal, abuse & power of a past era. I never wanted this novel to end & was hungry for book II the minute I read the last page.

posted by ReadingGalNJ on June 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not for folks with morals!

I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are a...
I am no christian and I still found the basic premise of this book depraved. Incest and murder are the basic themes. I do not identify with the main character in the least. I have read every other book by Mrs. Gregory and have come to realise that in history there are awful things that happen, but this book just seems to compile all the terrible things people will do to get ahead into one character. It was a bit much for me.

posted by TinaNDallas on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    From Disturbing to Disgusting

    When my 3rd grade students become discouraged with a book, after only a few chapters, I urge them to stick with it, saying, "Don't give up! The more you read of a book, the better the story gets." After 3 decades of continuous reading, I have always found that to be true. Then, I read Philippa Gregory's 'Wideacre.'

    The first few chapters made me uncomfortable, but wanting to practice what I preach to my students, I 'didn't give up.' And so, I moved from uncomfortable, to disturbed...grossed out...appalled, and ended up disgusted! (Both with the book, and myself for reading the big, dirty mess.)

    Beatrice Lacey is the only daughter of the priviliged, land-owning Lacey family. Beatrice loves her family's estate, Wideacre, more than anything else in the world. She knows and understands Wideacre, and the peasants who farm there, much better than her foolish older brother. Unfortunately, in the eighteenth century, only sons could inherit land, no matter how unworthy or undeserving they may be. (If a family had no male children, the courts would search for a distant male relative to own the land.) Eighteenth century daughters were married off and sent away to live with their new husbands. Beatrice vows she'll never leave Wideacre and promises herself that one day she'll own the family estate. Scheming and planning to achieve her goals, Beatrice begins committing one heinous act after another.

    At the ripe old age of 14, she arranges her father's murder. She then maims and leaves for dead the poor boy who killed her father for her, by luring him to a large, steel-jawed bear trap. Then, Beatrice's brother becomes the Squire of Wideacre, and suddenly she's weak-kneed with lust at the sight of him. Luckily for Beatrice, he developed a sexual appetite for being beaten while away at school, and she uses this to her advantage. Beating, whipping, and bedding the him until Wideacre is almost hers!

    Next, she marries a very intelligent, honorable doctor, and foists the second child she conceived with her brother off on him. When he's clever enough to discover most of the evil things Beatrice has done, she ruins him by pretending he killed her mother by doctoring her while drunk. Guess who really killed Beatrice's mother?

    And the fun is just getting started!

    Save yourself and do not read this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Disgusting

    I'm not much of a fan of Philipa Gregory, but I can appreciate her knowledge of history and the ability to give a somewhat accurate portrayal of the time. However, I did not like any of the characters is this book and found it difficult to finish. THe incest disgusted me in it's vulgarity and in all the whole book reeked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Extremly dissapointed.

    It started off really strongly. Then in the middle it started lagging and really made me uncomfortable reading it. It felt rather forced and really reaching. Everything just started adding up, and by the time I got through the middle, I had already guessed the ending. Normally I love Phillipa Gregory's work, but this is not her strongest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    This is a tough read for me....disturbing...

    I really have found myself struggling with this book. I love other book by Ms. Gregory and will read the rest of the trilogy. Hopefully, they will make up for the first in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Not what I expected

    I read the other boleyn girl and loved it! So I was excited to begin a trilogy by this fantastic author. However, as I got deeper and deeper into this novel, I found I could not bare to read on. There is no way someone could be as hateful as the main character beatrice of this book. It was disturbing. I could not finish the book because I didn't want to know anymore of the horrible things that she would do. I am ,however, looking forward to reading the Queen's fool by Phillipa. I only wish this book would have been something I enjoyed and am thankful that I didn't buy the whole trilogy at once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1