Customer Reviews for

Widow's Web (Elemental Assassin Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Another great installment for the Gin Blanco series - the only p

    Another great installment for the Gin Blanco series - the only problem I
    have... I read it in four hours and it was over much too quickly. Gin
    finds a new nemisis and encounters a new wrinkle or two with her chosen
    family. Old characters are developed a bit more and take on a new
    dimension. Can't wait for the next book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Thrilling Installment! I strongly suggest you read the p

    Another Thrilling Installment!
    I strongly suggest you read the previous books in the series (Spider's Bite, Web of Lies, Venom, Tangled Threads, Spiders Revenge, Thread of Death – Novella and By A Thread) prior to reading this installment.

    When I am looking for edgy entertainment with dark wit to match, this series never lets me down. Gin tries to rescue Owen from drowning in his past and almost goes under with him. This installment was the boldest yet!

    Gin is a wicked retired assassin (although her body count keeps rising) with a sharp mind and even sharper blades. Trouble keeps finding her and she keeps killing it. I never tire of this series, in fact, I look forward to each and every installment with gusto. I sometimes have a hard time breaking in new novels no matter how interesting, but I never have any dread factor with this series. This series is never stagnant and is constantly evolving and delivers consistent high-octane action and magic.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to reading the next book Deadly Sting due out 3/26/2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    I'm a huge fan of anything Jennifer Estep writes. Again she hit

    I'm a huge fan of anything Jennifer Estep writes. Again she hit the
    mark with this book. When I spotted Spider's Bite when it first came
    out, I was drawn to it cover like a moth to a flame and when I flipped
    it over to read the summary I couldn't wait to crack it open and read
    the pages. When the second book came out, I nearly gave my husband
    concrete burn dragging him down the aisle to grab it. This series is so
    different from anything that I have got my hands on and they get better
    with each book. I enjoyed it and gobbled the pages quickly, but ONLY 2
    things that made this book less intriguing was the final battle and that
    I lost my love I had for Owen. I would have screamed from the mountains
    surrounding me if this battle was more.. I don't know.. epic. EXAMPLE:
    Gin freezing her while Owen was screaming in the background and gin
    shattering the pieces. blowing the b*tch away. I see Gin as a
    full-throttle ass kicking heroine. She has no mercy and she doesn't give
    it to people that are trying to harm her family or her lover. I know if
    I was in her place, I would have destroyed her, knowing that regardless
    of what I decided, it was the end of what I had. Anyways, This book is
    a great read and I rate it 5 stars. Way to go, Jen. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Gin Blanco returns in book seven of the Elemental Assassin serie

    Gin Blanco returns in book seven of the Elemental Assassin series, Widow's Web. This time around, Gin is facing off with a crazy lady that has water elemental powers. Gin takes a catering job and the person's body guard is murdered in public, and it sure wasn't Gin that did the killing. This starts the cat and mouse game that every Elemental Assassin book contains. We quickly know who the villain is in the book, which I found a bit strange. It was extremely early in the book that we figured out who the villain was. I'm probably just being picky about it, but I felt like it was announced a bit too early. Drop me subtle hints, don't give me the whole shebang right away.

    There are a ton of bumps in Owen and Gin's relationship in Widow's Web. As the book progresses I could see it getting worse and worse for them. Owen's ex comes into town and he neglected to mention quite a few things about her, like they had been engaged, or she contacted him recently, and that she's crazy. Owen seems to be wearing rose color glasses, because his ex Salina can do no wrong in his eyes. I've enjoyed Owen's character in the previous books, but this one had me frustrated with him, and not in a good way.

    I'm going to keep this review short and sweet, so I don't give a ton of spoilers. The Elemental Assassin series has quickly become my favorite Urban Fantasy series. I love the audiobooks, and suggest them if you're looking to try out audiobooks. The narrator channels the characters well, and I can easily distinguish between the different character's voices. I suggest this series if you're looking for an Urban Fantasy with a strong female character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Mia

    Thanks. (Sorry gtgtb bb sunday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Ari

    (Is on at the our res)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Rey

    Mia?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Another Great Addition

    I love this series. I love that the author has Gin remain true to her character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the author for review Review or

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the author for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I freakin’ love this series. Most people that read my reviews know that I don’t often gush over books. Instead, I tend to be overly critical. And in fact, some of my past reviews of Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series I often whined about the repetitiveness of Gin’s thoughts and even some descriptions (especially when it came to Gin’s knives and their locations on her body!). However, I think with the focus of this series veering away from Gin’s vendetta with Mab Monroe (books 1-5) it’s setting stronger and is breaking away from that mold it had found itself in.

    When Ms Estep sent the book out for review, she said that there was going to be a surprising twist in this book and she hoped that her fans would stick with her as things would resolve in future books as there are 10 planned. So I went into this book wanting to know what the heck she did that she would share this mini spoiler. Obviously, I’m not going to tell you more other than to say that while I wasn’t terribly happy about the turn of events, the whole book really did set it up.

    As I’m sure you’ve read the blurb before moving on to the review, you know that Gin is an assassin and since her showdown with Mab, everyone has been gunning for her. So imagine her surprise when the newest threat is Salina… a water elemental (first one we’ve met in the series) and Owen’s ex-fiancee. So there are all kinds of complications in Gin’s life now.

    Pluses with this book… the use of the water elemental. Wow! Ms Estep found some awesome ways for Salina to use her elemental talent. Each one seemed to be more creative than the last and I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see how Gin would outmaneuver Salina.  And the book caught me from page one as Gin was giving the reader her background while on a “job”. It was an effective intro that hooked me almost immediately and kept me guessing.

    I think the weak point was Owen. My feelings here are hard to express without spoilers. So, you may want to skip over this paragraph if you don’t want anything given away. You’ve been warned… Yes, I know first loves have a special place in many people’s hearts but when it came to Salina, Owen seemed to be completely blind. And even when confronted with her, well let’s call them faults, Owen still didn’t seem to see the light and continued to see the “best” in her. In other books, I think I had a bit of a crush on Owen over the way he loved Gin… but in this one, I just wanted to reach into my e-reader and strangle him. The complete change in Owen’s personality just drove me crazy.

    Possible spoiler over…

    Outside of my issues with Owen, I really did love this book. I think Ms Estep’s writing is getting tighter and just plain better as the series goes on. She’s getting more inventive and descriptive. And I for one can’t wait to see what happens next in Ashland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Strikingpaw's bio

    Post later but will do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Awesome!

    Love, love, love the Elemental Assassin books! My favorite bad a$$ girl who can can pull the heart strings and bring tears too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Excellent book!

    Well worth the money, love the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Another great excerp from the life of Gin Blanco! Can't catch a

    Another great excerp from the life of Gin Blanco! Can't catch a break from people needing to die. sigh...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Deep Sigh

    The sigh is for the ending. The book was another great one in the series. I have enjoyed them all. I liek all the characters and will keep reading - especially to see where she takes this ending. I hate being disappointed at the end of a book and now I am not sure how I will feel about how I want it to go (I know it doesn't make sense, but there it is). I am just upset that I have almost another year to wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Gin is great

    This series is very enthralling. Every book helps you understand her and root for her even though she kills and maims with little thought. This book brought her closer to her sister and her lover. What more can you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Reviewer - Mich M:

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Reviewer - Mich M:

    In Spiders Bite we met Gin Blanco, cook by day and assassin by night. Over the past six books I have got to know Gin, I've cried with her, laughed with her, cheered as she defeated the bad guys, comiserated with her as she got her heart broke and finally fell in love as she did with Owen Grayson. In By a Thread Gin confronted her past in the form of Donovan Caine her ex-boyfriend, now in Widow's Web it's Owen's turn to confront his past.

    Since Owen entered Gin's life it's been apparent that there is more to him than we are yet aware of, with the sudden arrival of Salina we start to unravel his secrets. Unfortunately there seems to be more to Salina and the reasons behind her sudden arrival in Ashland than just her history with Owen. Everyone close to Owen is suspicious but Owen can't see any fault with Salina and is always giving her the benefit of the doubt even when people close to him start getting hurt. Will Gin & Owen's relationship survive or will Salina succeed in driving a wedge between them.

    I believe that Jennifer may upset people with this book but I throughly enjoyed it, it was an emotional journey as always and Gin continues to grow and develop as a character, her story has been filled with everything from violence and pain, to love and acceptance from day one and this part of her journey is no different. My heart trully went out to her in this book. Salina's appearance turns Owen back into a scared confused kid, he's a shell of the man I have came to love. I can't wait for the next installment to discover what is next for Gin.

    The Elemental Assasin series is one of my all time favourite series and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys stories with a strong kick-ass female. I award Widow's Web 5 Skulls and Jennifer Estep remains on my auto-buy author list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - another great installment to the Gin Blanco series

    Well written - as always - with Jennifer Estep allowing us more access to Gin's emotions and needs. I read it in 4 hours and cannot wait for the next installment - - my only complaint is that I read it sooooo fast!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    More great stuff!

    I love this series. Whenever a new book comes out I hunker down and consume the book in a day or two. Great author, consistently great stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    While not my favorite book in this series, it is a solid story a

    While not my favorite book in this series, it is a solid story and engaging. As always, I enjoy Gin's character. I thought Owen was unusually wishy washy in this book. Owen's strength of character is part of his appeal, so that didn't work so well for me. I did like the idea of something from Owen's past upsetting the balance, it is not all about Gin and her past after all, but Owen's responses seemed so out of character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Loved this one. Owen sucks however

    This series kicks butt. Fast paced and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4