BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Widows of Eastwick

Average Rating 2.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    The sequel to THE WITCHES OF EASTWICK is a fascinating tale

    Having fled Eastwick, Rhode Island in the early 1970s when a rival for the affection of you know whom died Alexandra, Jane, and Sukie each remarried and started over in different places. Having survived he who is nameless and their late second husbands, the widows decide to meet up at the place where the bewitching began their home town. ------------- However, two and a half decades have taken a toll on the once sexy flamboyant threesome. Instead middle age and senior citizenship leave them tired and incapable of witchcraft. However, the villagers loath the witches for all the malevolence and harm they did with magic even their children want them to leave. They consider fleeing before they are burned at the stakes, but become involved in a bit of magic that goes astray.------------ The sequel to THE WITCHES OF EASTWICK is a fascinating tale of late middle to old age as the three women have passed the bewitching age magic is a young person¿s sport. The story line starts off slow but steady as the audience accompanies the trio on overseas travel that showcases a dysfunctional world. The tale picks up when the threesome learn you can¿t come home especially when you caused havoc, mayhem and death the last time in town. Readers will enjoy the deep look at the aging process as the widows find their previous evil escapades come home to roost with them.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    Waste of time

    I admire John Updike who possessed great writing skill and insight. However, this book was aimless. Fans are in for a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Updike To The Last

    No one loves a sentence into being like John Updike. The prose in "The Widows of Eastwick" shows all of Updike's devotion to the language. In this sequel to his 1984 novel "The Witches Of Eastwick," we witness Updike's ability to imbue characters with depth that imparts to the reader a sibling-like knowledge. He reuses the lusty thirty-something witches who created mystical mayhem and death in the sleepy seaside village of 1970's Eastwick, Rhode Island. Updike ages them through decent second marriages into widowhood and reunites them, this time bent upon undoing the harms of the past. Their aging bodies nearly depleted of sexual appeal, the septuagenarians' powers are severely diminished. The widows are pitted not only against the memories of others and the vengeful efforts of a warlock orphaned by their previous exploits, but against the town itself.

    Mr. Updike adds flesh to the village creating for us a living, breathing character as familiar as the streets to which we return each evening. The town has become a bedroom community filled with doting parents and over programed children. The women lament the superficial wholesomeness. Sibilant Jane expresses their collective exasperation. "People go around mourning the death of God. It's the death of sssin that bothers me. Without sin, people aren't people any more, they're just ssoul-less sheep."

    Descriptions are classic Updike: as in the "glaring sidewalk, fleshy people in summer shorts casting squat self-important shadows, wilting zinnias in beds next to the concrete post-office steps, the American flag hanging limp on its pole overhead."

    In "The Widows" John Updike conjures for us a cocktail of exacting observation expressed in stunning prose which reveals more about each of us then we would care to let the novelist know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Beyond disappointing.

    No plot. No story. It dragged relentlessly. The travel scenes were the worst, and added nothing to the story line or character development. Like a previous reviewer, I began skimming the final chapters simply to find out how it ended. I adored "The Witches of Eastwick." This was a total waste of my time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    On and On and On and On and On

    Okay.....I absolutely loved The WITCHES Of Eastwick. When I heard that Mr. Updike would be writing a sequel I was thrilled. However, it didn't take me too long to get disappointed with this book. This man writes with some of the longest sentences I've ever read. Some were so long it was confusing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Updike

    Maybe it is me but, Updike tends to ramble on and on and that took alot of concentration to stay with the book. Talk about long winded in print!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely Disappointing

    This was perhaps the most disappointing and boring book I've ever read. I ended up fast reading the last 100 pages simply to get to the end and find out if something interesting happened. I do not recommend this book at all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Not Good

    If you want to read a book that is nine-tenths descriptions and one-tenth story then this is the book for you. Not much to this novel except scenic,verbose descriptions. Not worth reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1