Customer Reviews for

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but

I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn'...
I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn't love.

posted by 2115002 on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Filled with RAGE

For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
I did feel sorry for her toes ...
For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
I did feel sorry for her toes however.
For a Pacific Crest Trail book (far and few between) this was a disappointment, I would NOT give this book to a son, a daughter, or as a gift. I really hope this kind of behavior will NOT lead to more of the same taken out the trail or in future books about the PCT, this rageing and acting-out is not what I want to read, nor was there any indication of this on the cover content. Rage is unhealthy and not the usual choice I'd make to read. This is how I feel.
Some people hold this trail as dear to their hearts, minds and very souls, It is thought of as sacred ground, our treasure. This book however, I thought was quite a shame. I do not understand any of her "redemption" as she finishes up Oregon in her "hop, skip and spin, done" writting. I do hope that "she found it" and did indeed learn to let it be.

posted by J-Farris on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but

    I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn't love.

    58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Throughout history, individuals have withdrawn from society for

    Throughout history, individuals have withdrawn from society for various reasons. Some do so to find a deeper connection with the Transcendent, others seek communion with the universe, some do so because being near people is too overwhelming. Those who are driven to a time of prolonged isolation are often seeking to escape from or to come to grips with the pain they are presently facing. When Cheryl Strayed’s mother died within 43 days of being diagnosed with Lung Cancer, her life seemed to become unmoored. She started a series of “one, two or three night stands” while proclaiming to love the man she married only three years previously, began dallying with heroin and worked managed to find herself in deep financial trouble without a degree (because she had not written a paper for a Sophomore level English class). In the midst of her making these poor decisions, she became aware, and decided to hike a large portion, of the Pacific Crest Trail, a 2600 mile path that goes from the border of Mexico to the border of Canada.
    Most who decide to make this monumental hike spend years planning and months training before attempting such an arduous trek. The time from conception of the idea to her setting foot on the trail was six-months. She had a little day hiking experience and her step-father had taught her some camp-craft, beyond that her preparation was an awareness that this was something she had to do. What she learned on this endeavor took her 17 years to distill and put into a book. After reading this very well done memoir, I am delighted she undertook such a task, was able to write so eloquently about it and allowed me to experience the rigors of hiking the PCT in the comfort of my easy chair.
    When she began her hike, the author was deeply wounded – by the death of her mother, the disintegration of her immediate family, the end of her marriage and the lack of any direction for her life. When she strapped on “Monster” (the name she gave her back pack), she found it weighed nearly half her body weight and that she could not lift it without help. Eventually she both gained strength and learned what she could do without and the load she carried was easier, but it never became as small as what the hikers she met carried. Her boots, which fit perfectly when she tried them on in the outfitting store, proved to be too small causing excruciating foot pain that continued after she obtained boots that actually fit.
    The reality of the over-weight backpack and the ill-fitting shoes proved to be the metaphor of the book. The load with which she began the life-changing journey lightened, but never left her, rather it became an accepted and acceptable part of her world. The pain she suffered, often with every step, was due to her poor choices, yet she did not allow those choices to stop her from what she had to do. Her time on the PCT was spent walking and remembering moments in her life (told in flashbacks) that had brought her to the place of needing to be alone and had created the “path” by which she would find herself. Some of the memories are heartbreaking, some hilarious, a few perilous but all formed the person that walked from Mexico to the border of Oregon and Washington.
    The book had a deeply Spiritual flavor to it, although Ms. Strayed lone reference to God was less than Worshipful. She is painfully transparent about her life no excuse nor asking forgiveness for any of the choices she made, only displaying acceptance of herself in the humble Grace found in those who know they are loved in spite of themselves. Anyone interested in: hiking, self-discovery, “spiritual” journeys or want a very good book to read.
    Ms. Strayed made the 1100-mile hike so interesting that I found myself wondering if I could achieve such a task. Being outdoors (in all weathers), communing with nature (not bathing for weeks), sleeping in a tent in a bag (with little padding), eating el Fresco (dehydrated meals cooked over a small stove), finally arriving at the end of the journey having only four toe-nails left. On further thought, I will read of such deeds from the comfort of my world and be thankful for those who share the trip with me.

    54 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Surpassed my expectations. So good!

    I bought this thinking it would be a fun, breezy read. I was wrong and I'm so glad I was. This is an amazing story of self-discovery. It's deep, it's funny, it's bittersweet and best of all, it's wonderfully written. This is truly the best impulse buy I have ever made.

    45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Loved it. I dont usually read non fiction but enjoy

    Great Book. Loved it. I dont usually read non fiction but enjoyed this one.

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Filled with RAGE

    For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
    I did feel sorry for her toes however.
    For a Pacific Crest Trail book (far and few between) this was a disappointment, I would NOT give this book to a son, a daughter, or as a gift. I really hope this kind of behavior will NOT lead to more of the same taken out the trail or in future books about the PCT, this rageing and acting-out is not what I want to read, nor was there any indication of this on the cover content. Rage is unhealthy and not the usual choice I'd make to read. This is how I feel.
    Some people hold this trail as dear to their hearts, minds and very souls, It is thought of as sacred ground, our treasure. This book however, I thought was quite a shame. I do not understand any of her "redemption" as she finishes up Oregon in her "hop, skip and spin, done" writting. I do hope that "she found it" and did indeed learn to let it be.

    29 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Honest and compelling. Not only explores the true physical angu

    Honest and compelling. Not only explores the true physical anguish of such a journey, but also details the transformation of her inner consciousness.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    If, this is nonfiction Strayed should be ashamed of using her mo

    If, this is nonfiction Strayed should be ashamed of using her mother's death as an excuse for her disgusting and destructive behavior. If, this is factual this woman needed a good shrink, not a long hike. And finally, if, Strayed loved her siblings as she claims it's difficult to believe she could be so selfish and spoiled, oblivious to their pain as she appears in this book. This would be a 3 star novel but barely rates 1 star as nonfiction.

    24 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Not a fan of nonfiction, but the sample had me hooked

    This was a compelling read. I felt as if I was vicariously hiking with Cheryl, but not bogged down with details of nature. I am amazed by those reviewers here who want to rate Strayed's hike with ones they have taken and criticize her descriptions of pain. Go write your own books if you have a story to tell. This work stands on its own. And as for those who criticize Strayed's self-discovery, I thought her 'unfolding' realization was so well paralleled to story of her family, it was one of the best parts of the book. I became so involved that I had to research the places on the trail. A great read.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a true story. It is a story of a young girl, Cheryl Stra

    This is a true story. It is a story of a young girl, Cheryl Strayed who had a very unhappy upbringing. The one anchor in her life was her faithful mother who died very young and left Cheryl to make unhealthy choices for herself. She took off on a lengthy hiking trip into complete unknown wilderness in Washington State in an attempt to get her head on straight and lacking experience she came up against life-threatening situations that she remarkably got through. This is quite a lengthy and enlightening journey that would certainly open many reader’s eyes. Very interesting and intriguing! However, this is not my idea of a way to get my head on straight.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Very frustrated by the writing style

    Too many F-bombs for my taste. If an e-book could be returned, this is one that I would return.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raw and Remarkable. This story's rich palette begins in Minnesot

    Raw and Remarkable.
    This story's rich palette begins in Minnesota as Strayed's mother is dying of cancer at the Mayo Clinic. We see green in the color Cheryl
    is wearing as the doctor bluntly informs them her 45 year old mother has a year to live. Imagine yourself at 22 and hearing this news-what would you do? Strayed is the middle child and an unaware champion of strength only she doesn't really know it yet. It's obvious there is love here; the kind we all want-it just ends way to soon. Cheryl then wonders around for the next 4 years doing what you might expect; the color here is black until she stumbles upon a book about the PCT-The Pacific Crest Trail. She doesn't have a clue what she's getting herself into but her descriptions of her backpack; Monster, her feet and boots, the messages she receives from the people she meets along the way and her constant struggles with hungry and lack of money will have you seeing a wonderful rainbow of colors and cheering at the same time. I had the pleasure to meet Strayed in 2007 as she promoted her first book Torch at Magers & Quinn in Mpls. She contacted me and invited me to come after I had written a review of Torch. I will tell you she was funny, warm and one of the few writers I've encountered who took the time to personally respond; others like Anna Quindlen, Joe McGinniss and Lisa Bloom did not. I've been waiting for what she would do next and this book is worth the wait. BRAVO!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    What a way to find youself by callenging your physical body, and it seems it all has worked out for her thru writing. Good story of overcoming all types of obstacled in our life's path.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    I dont usually read non fiction but something I read about this

    I dont usually read non fiction but something I read about this book made me interested. I just finished this book and it was great. I coundnt put it down. A part of me would have liked to be with her on her jouney. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    easy read and very enjoyable

    I am about to do a long distance hike, so this book grabbed my attention on the shelf. So glad I picked it up! It was a good, easy read... very funny and moving at the same time. I very much related to Cheryl's childhood and saw myself in her. Great narrative. Highly recommend it!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Quit Whining Cheryl

    I too have hiked and in more unfriendly terrain that Cheryl. The constant complaining of the aches and pains is part of hiking. Her's was worse due to stupidity. Had I met her on the trail I would chatted and tried to get away from her. The journey is the reward not the finish and she did not seem to recognize this until near the end.
    I am glad I read it, but hope other's recognize what she went through is not waht one goes through with a little more common sense and planning.
    But she finished and my hats off to her.

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down. I actually felt like I was walkin

    I couldn't put this book down. I actually felt like I was walking in her shoes... er... boots. I almost cried at the end - both for what she went through and because there was no more to read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great storytelling

    All in all a great book. The story keeps the reader interested with tales from the trail and very revealing and very real emotional insight as to why the author took this journey. Very inspiring too. It will make you want to either attempt the same feat of hiking the Pacific Rim Trail or work on one of your own personal challenges.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Jb

    Loved this book, much more than a trek, raw and honest

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely loved this book! I've been reading about it everywher

    Absolutely loved this book! I've been reading about it everywhere and have so many other books I want to read but when Oprah picked this as a book club I had to get it and I am so glad that I did. It is an amazing adventure of her struggles and her strength and determination. I highly recommend this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    This is a very good story.

    This is a very good story.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17