Customer Reviews for

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but

I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn'...
I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn't love.

posted by 2115002 on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Filled with RAGE

For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
I did feel sorry for her toes ...
For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
I did feel sorry for her toes however.
For a Pacific Crest Trail book (far and few between) this was a disappointment, I would NOT give this book to a son, a daughter, or as a gift. I really hope this kind of behavior will NOT lead to more of the same taken out the trail or in future books about the PCT, this rageing and acting-out is not what I want to read, nor was there any indication of this on the cover content. Rage is unhealthy and not the usual choice I'd make to read. This is how I feel.
Some people hold this trail as dear to their hearts, minds and very souls, It is thought of as sacred ground, our treasure. This book however, I thought was quite a shame. I do not understand any of her "redemption" as she finishes up Oregon in her "hop, skip and spin, done" writting. I do hope that "she found it" and did indeed learn to let it be.

posted by J-Farris on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Filled with RAGE

    For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
    I did feel sorry for her toes however.
    For a Pacific Crest Trail book (far and few between) this was a disappointment, I would NOT give this book to a son, a daughter, or as a gift. I really hope this kind of behavior will NOT lead to more of the same taken out the trail or in future books about the PCT, this rageing and acting-out is not what I want to read, nor was there any indication of this on the cover content. Rage is unhealthy and not the usual choice I'd make to read. This is how I feel.
    Some people hold this trail as dear to their hearts, minds and very souls, It is thought of as sacred ground, our treasure. This book however, I thought was quite a shame. I do not understand any of her "redemption" as she finishes up Oregon in her "hop, skip and spin, done" writting. I do hope that "she found it" and did indeed learn to let it be.

    29 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    If, this is nonfiction Strayed should be ashamed of using her mo

    If, this is nonfiction Strayed should be ashamed of using her mother's death as an excuse for her disgusting and destructive behavior. If, this is factual this woman needed a good shrink, not a long hike. And finally, if, Strayed loved her siblings as she claims it's difficult to believe she could be so selfish and spoiled, oblivious to their pain as she appears in this book. This would be a 3 star novel but barely rates 1 star as nonfiction.

    24 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Very frustrated by the writing style

    Too many F-bombs for my taste. If an e-book could be returned, this is one that I would return.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Neither the account of hiking the Pacific Crest Trail nor the em

    Neither the account of hiking the Pacific Crest Trail nor the emotional transformation appears true to me. The description of the actual hiking, and the various struggles she faced, is blatantly contradictory, and I wonder whether there was any fact-checking performed. The writing about her emotional life is extremely melodramatic and at times simply senseless. If you want to read excellent writing about hiking and climbing, try Joe Simpson's books, starting with Touching the Void. For a wonderful, entertaining account of hiking on the Appalachian Trail by an inexperienced backpacker, get A Walk in the Woods. But this book is the kind of nonsense you'd find in a lower-quality Oprah Magazine article.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    My rating disappeared, which is very strange! I said nothing th

    My rating disappeared, which is very strange!
    I said nothing that was out of place. This book was not worth the money, wish I could give it back.
    Author self-centered. Goes from one man to another down the trail. Dependent on others on the trail. Her behavior made it dangerous.
    Horrific scene about cruel death of horse.
    Relies too much on using her Mother as an excuse to do this trip.
    I think the only spiritual part would be seeing the lights of hollywood.
    Hope this one doesn't disappear!! Spent too much time writing one.
    Forgot to mention drug use.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No buy

    Not worth A penny

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    simply put - this book was underwhelming. i rate this as a no bu

    simply put - this book was underwhelming. i rate this as a no buy. sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Snooz

    I was so hopeful with all the positive reviews that this would be a good read. SOOOOO boring. I forced myself to finish the book. The entire thing is her complaining about her mother's death. Yes, death sucks, move on. I kept hoping she'd get attacked by a bear or something, anything, to make this more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Okay read

    Really couldn't get into the book. Didn't hold my interest but I did
    finish reading it. Just wasn't my type of book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    WITHOUT OPRAH'S STAMP OF APPROVEL

    This book would have went nowhere had it not been for the "Oprah"word attached to it nor would Obama most likely be President.I'm intitled to my opinion at least for now anyway until that right is taken away.May you all be blessed today and everyday as far as that goes!!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~``~~~~~~~`Granny B.-----P.S.One star is given only to post this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    In summary a young women who makes poor choice after poor choice

    In summary a young women who makes poor choice after poor choice decides to hike part of the Pacific Coast Train (PCT) to try and find herself.  Wholly unprepared, she sets off and for nearly the entire time, continues to make poor choices.
    I don’t get the love of this book.  It starts off with Cheryl giving us an honest look into her life and past which should be setting the stage for her enlightenment but really just makes you not like her.  Then she sets off on the trail and is totally unprepared for the trail.  Her preparations consist of 1) Buying the guide books (note I did not say anything about her reading them before she started) 2) pre-packaging resupply boxes to herself and arranging them to be mailed to her 3) testing her water filter.  This lady is a Search and Rescue team’s nightmare.  Then once she is on the trail she continues to make bad decisions from the way she spends her money, to putting her gear on the edge of a cliff only to lose it, to taking her pants off when she says she isn’t going to.  If not for some luck and the kindness of strangers this could have ended very differently.
    OK so now you’re saying “Hey she’s not the world’s best backpacker we get it but did you read the title this is about how she finds herself on the PCT.”  Fine that’s a fine premise but it doesn’t really come through in the book.  At some points she rails on her dead mother like a little kid and then seemingly does a 180 but doesn’t really explain that “Ah ha” moment.  At the end she tells us about her new life and it seems like a new person but I don’t know why.  All she really talks about is her hiking adventure but doesn’t really take you along for the ride with vivid descriptions of the trail and experiences you want.   As a result it fails to be neither a good travel memoir nor a good introspective tale of redemption.  There are tons of books that fit one or both of these categorize much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    okay

    okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Everyone I talked to said this was a great book, so I decided I'

    Everyone I talked to said this was a great book, so I decided I'd better read it. It was so disappointing. She whined throughout the book and did such stupid things. She was totally unprepared for her trip. She was such a loser. I had to force myself to finish reading it and am sorry that I paid money for it. I don't recommend it. Life is too short to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Wild is not worth the time it takes to read it

    Poorly written, profanity, shallow. I was looking forward to
    A great discovery book while enjoying the scenery,
    Let down on booth accounts. I wonder if she was still in a stoned state when she wrote the book.
    It was disjointed and inconsistent.
    Complete waste of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Not recommended unless you like knowing *everything* people are thinking

    I was excited to read this book and see the movie coming out with Reese Witherspoon, but I know I'll never see the movie. Too many f-bombs, talk of using heroine, and, frankly, talk of things that I just don't want to know about people--things that are far too private. I kept reading, thinking that redemption would come for this writer, but in the end, although I was glad she survived and found the peace she sought on the trail, it felt like a deadline was due and she hurried through the rest of the journey and then summed up years of her life in a paragraph or two. Just disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    this book was ridiculous. was there not an editor? there were s

    this book was ridiculous. was there not an editor? there were so many spots that were inconsistent. she had hiked 50 miles in 50 hours? then she finally hiked a 20 mile day some time later? it was an ad for Snapple! did Snapple pay for the book. ridiculous not true. didn't buy any of it.
    who shoots heroin and two days later treks? who smokes on a trek? come on sisters don't buy this BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Based on all the positive reviews I thought this book would be g

    Based on all the positive reviews I thought this book would be great. From what I read it sounded intriguing. I thought I would find a book of redemption and learning by the author. Sadly I found that Cheryl never really learned anything along her journey. I kept reading in anticipation of some epiphany, some life lesson, some watershed moment for Cheryl. It never happened. The only thing that happened as I read is my dislike for Strayed as a person increased almost with almost every chapter.

    The book was largely dull with very few, very mildly entertaining parts. The only saving grace for this book is it was short so I didn't have to endure reading it that long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Bad

    Story about a whore surprised she didn't have the kid in order to get money

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Tigerpelt?

    Message for you at res 1. Please find it...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great adventure but personally I cannot recommend it to my book club because of swearing and adultery.

    Since my family loves to backpack, I enjoyed the general story of backpacking the Pacific Coast Trail, but I wish I had bought a paperback book instead of putting it on my Nook so I could cross out the swear words and sex scenes and share it with my grandchildren.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2