Customer Reviews for

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but

I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn'...
I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn't love.

posted by 2115002 on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Filled with RAGE

For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
I did feel sorry for her toes ...
For 20 bucks who needs rage? Horrible mother bashing rage along the trail, page by page, who wants to read this? Rage, yes- as in teenager rage, oh and penis-lust and drugs...! I did not care for this drama, nor would I have paid for it.
I did feel sorry for her toes however.
For a Pacific Crest Trail book (far and few between) this was a disappointment, I would NOT give this book to a son, a daughter, or as a gift. I really hope this kind of behavior will NOT lead to more of the same taken out the trail or in future books about the PCT, this rageing and acting-out is not what I want to read, nor was there any indication of this on the cover content. Rage is unhealthy and not the usual choice I'd make to read. This is how I feel.
Some people hold this trail as dear to their hearts, minds and very souls, It is thought of as sacred ground, our treasure. This book however, I thought was quite a shame. I do not understand any of her "redemption" as she finishes up Oregon in her "hop, skip and spin, done" writting. I do hope that "she found it" and did indeed learn to let it be.

posted by J-Farris on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but

    I've rarely liked memoirs or outdoor-adventure type stories, but this is now one of my all-time favorite books in any genre. If you're on the fence about getting this, just give it a try. You will not be disappointed. There's just nothing about this book that I didn't love.

    64 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Surpassed my expectations. So good!

    I bought this thinking it would be a fun, breezy read. I was wrong and I'm so glad I was. This is an amazing story of self-discovery. It's deep, it's funny, it's bittersweet and best of all, it's wonderfully written. This is truly the best impulse buy I have ever made.

    49 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Loved it. I dont usually read non fiction but enjoy

    Great Book. Loved it. I dont usually read non fiction but enjoyed this one.

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Honest and compelling. Not only explores the true physical angu

    Honest and compelling. Not only explores the true physical anguish of such a journey, but also details the transformation of her inner consciousness.

    33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Not a fan of nonfiction, but the sample had me hooked

    This was a compelling read. I felt as if I was vicariously hiking with Cheryl, but not bogged down with details of nature. I am amazed by those reviewers here who want to rate Strayed's hike with ones they have taken and criticize her descriptions of pain. Go write your own books if you have a story to tell. This work stands on its own. And as for those who criticize Strayed's self-discovery, I thought her 'unfolding' realization was so well paralleled to story of her family, it was one of the best parts of the book. I became so involved that I had to research the places on the trail. A great read.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a true story. It is a story of a young girl, Cheryl Stra

    This is a true story. It is a story of a young girl, Cheryl Strayed who had a very unhappy upbringing. The one anchor in her life was her faithful mother who died very young and left Cheryl to make unhealthy choices for herself. She took off on a lengthy hiking trip into complete unknown wilderness in Washington State in an attempt to get her head on straight and lacking experience she came up against life-threatening situations that she remarkably got through. This is quite a lengthy and enlightening journey that would certainly open many reader’s eyes. Very interesting and intriguing! However, this is not my idea of a way to get my head on straight.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raw and Remarkable. This story's rich palette begins in Minnesot

    Raw and Remarkable.
    This story's rich palette begins in Minnesota as Strayed's mother is dying of cancer at the Mayo Clinic. We see green in the color Cheryl
    is wearing as the doctor bluntly informs them her 45 year old mother has a year to live. Imagine yourself at 22 and hearing this news-what would you do? Strayed is the middle child and an unaware champion of strength only she doesn't really know it yet. It's obvious there is love here; the kind we all want-it just ends way to soon. Cheryl then wonders around for the next 4 years doing what you might expect; the color here is black until she stumbles upon a book about the PCT-The Pacific Crest Trail. She doesn't have a clue what she's getting herself into but her descriptions of her backpack; Monster, her feet and boots, the messages she receives from the people she meets along the way and her constant struggles with hungry and lack of money will have you seeing a wonderful rainbow of colors and cheering at the same time. I had the pleasure to meet Strayed in 2007 as she promoted her first book Torch at Magers & Quinn in Mpls. She contacted me and invited me to come after I had written a review of Torch. I will tell you she was funny, warm and one of the few writers I've encountered who took the time to personally respond; others like Anna Quindlen, Joe McGinniss and Lisa Bloom did not. I've been waiting for what she would do next and this book is worth the wait. BRAVO!

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    What a way to find youself by callenging your physical body, and it seems it all has worked out for her thru writing. Good story of overcoming all types of obstacled in our life's path.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    I dont usually read non fiction but something I read about this

    I dont usually read non fiction but something I read about this book made me interested. I just finished this book and it was great. I coundnt put it down. A part of me would have liked to be with her on her jouney. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down. I actually felt like I was walkin

    I couldn't put this book down. I actually felt like I was walking in her shoes... er... boots. I almost cried at the end - both for what she went through and because there was no more to read!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great storytelling

    All in all a great book. The story keeps the reader interested with tales from the trail and very revealing and very real emotional insight as to why the author took this journey. Very inspiring too. It will make you want to either attempt the same feat of hiking the Pacific Rim Trail or work on one of your own personal challenges.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    This is a very good story.

    This is a very good story.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    The best read of 2012 so far

    I absolutely loved this book. I recommended it to my daughter and several others. I loved her character. I never knew there was a Pacific Crest Trail.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    The authors words are the words of everyone who are part of the


    The authors words are the words of everyone who are part of the journey called life. Through her loss and grieve, she arrived at a most blessed destination of celebration.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    I loved the setting of this story. The mountains of California

    I loved the setting of this story. The mountains of California and the beautiful Pacific Northwest. Having hiked parts of the Pacific Crest Trail I could identify with much of what Cheryl was going through physically. Her emotional transformation along the trail was described so brilliantly honest, that the reader must in some way go through their own emotional transformation while identifying with Cheryl's. Brilliant!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    @ CarolHND I feel incredibly and sadly sorry for you. Destruct

    @ CarolHND
    I feel incredibly and sadly sorry for you. Destructive behavior? Apparently your life is basic, boring and perfect. You haven't had to deal with loss. Everyone deals differently. Shame on you moreso for making such a judgmental comment, you should be ashamed of yourself.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    Makes me want to go for a hike......inspiring read

    I was captivated from the first few lines. She lost her boot while hiking.....what would you do next? But as I read you begin to see what a person can do and what a person can do without.

    I had never read an "Oprah's Book Club Edition" before; didn't know what I was getting myself into. As it turned out I liked and enjoyed that feature.

    Many of Cheryl's feelings were relatable as I have lost my mother in the last few years as well. You are very brave, "Queen of the PCT".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Juby moody gose to collge

    I love this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Wild about this book!

    Loved this book..did not want it to end! Felt like I was on the trail with her every step of the way...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Inspiring and insightful. Couldn't put it down!

    I don't often write book reviews; but I have to say that "Wild" is one of the best books I have read in a long time, and I read A LOT of books. Following Cheryl's journey of discovery of herself struck many resonant chords; her exquisite descriptions of the physical difficulties of the hike showcase her true gift with the written word. I loved reading about the places I recognized all along her route; having been born and raised in California and then relocating to Oregon it brought back lots of great memories hiking and camping in several of the areas listed. Wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11