Customer Reviews for

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Average Rating 4
( 706 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(388)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Very highly recommended

It's hard to pinpoint what, but something about this story just resonated strongly with me. I don't typically like 'healing' type memoirs (too sentimental), but this has such a kick-ass tone to it; its just fantastic. And so real. I even bought this for my 18 year ol...
It's hard to pinpoint what, but something about this story just resonated strongly with me. I don't typically like 'healing' type memoirs (too sentimental), but this has such a kick-ass tone to it; its just fantastic. And so real. I even bought this for my 18 year old daughter to read, and she's hooked. I'm female so I can personally relate to some things in here, but I think men would find this interesting as well.

Of course you don't know me from anyone else here, but believe me when I say it's hard for me to say I love a book - I'm incredibly picky and have difficulty finding a lot of writers whose work I truly respect. This is one of the great ones.

posted by 2115002 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

102 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating but indulgent by Tom David

This is a reasonably well written narrative of a young women's growth towards self awareness. The reader should recognize how incredibly irresponsible and reckless her behavior is throughout the book. She demonstrates a remarkable lack of foresight, a consistent inabili...
This is a reasonably well written narrative of a young women's growth towards self awareness. The reader should recognize how incredibly irresponsible and reckless her behavior is throughout the book. She demonstrates a remarkable lack of foresight, a consistent inability to recognize the dangers both physical and emotional, she places herself in, and an almost total lack of judgment.

She destroys her marriage, expirements with extremely dangerous and destructive drugs, and describes herself as being wildly promiscious to her regret. She begins her journey without the slightest idea of preparation. Nonetheless, thru a series of brutally painful experiences, sheer dumb luck, and the kindness of strangers, she survives.

How easily her story could have turned tragic. Raped and left dead on the trail, death from cold, hunger, thirst, injury and infection, as well easily becoming an addict, all were real possibilities. Personally the risk to reward ratio is simply unacceptable. My fear is that many will believe that they too can follow this model of risky, potentially deadly, and reckless behavior and, like the author, emerge unscathed with a stronger sense of self direction. I have always found this genre of spiritual and personal growth thru suffering and ill considered expirementation boring and indulgent.

However, I believe that in person I wouldfind much to like in the author and it is a much better read thsn one would expect.

posted by 1827552 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 706 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Fascinating but indulgent by Tom David

    This is a reasonably well written narrative of a young women's growth towards self awareness. The reader should recognize how incredibly irresponsible and reckless her behavior is throughout the book. She demonstrates a remarkable lack of foresight, a consistent inability to recognize the dangers both physical and emotional, she places herself in, and an almost total lack of judgment.

    She destroys her marriage, expirements with extremely dangerous and destructive drugs, and describes herself as being wildly promiscious to her regret. She begins her journey without the slightest idea of preparation. Nonetheless, thru a series of brutally painful experiences, sheer dumb luck, and the kindness of strangers, she survives.

    How easily her story could have turned tragic. Raped and left dead on the trail, death from cold, hunger, thirst, injury and infection, as well easily becoming an addict, all were real possibilities. Personally the risk to reward ratio is simply unacceptable. My fear is that many will believe that they too can follow this model of risky, potentially deadly, and reckless behavior and, like the author, emerge unscathed with a stronger sense of self direction. I have always found this genre of spiritual and personal growth thru suffering and ill considered expirementation boring and indulgent.

    However, I believe that in person I wouldfind much to like in the author and it is a much better read thsn one would expect.

    102 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very highly recommended

    It's hard to pinpoint what, but something about this story just resonated strongly with me. I don't typically like 'healing' type memoirs (too sentimental), but this has such a kick-ass tone to it; its just fantastic. And so real. I even bought this for my 18 year old daughter to read, and she's hooked. I'm female so I can personally relate to some things in here, but I think men would find this interesting as well.

    Of course you don't know me from anyone else here, but believe me when I say it's hard for me to say I love a book - I'm incredibly picky and have difficulty finding a lot of writers whose work I truly respect. This is one of the great ones.

    54 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    A must read

    Im not one for personal memoirs. Usually I go for fiction, historical novels, womens insightful fiction a la Jodi Piccoult. However, this descriptive blurb attracted me so I bought the book. Several weeks later I decided to read it.
    I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!!
    I am a mature (over 50) woman who's been through a lifetime of ups and downs. This author's saga is a true example of what we humans can accomplish when we set our hearts and minds to a task, despite being woefully inadequate and poorly prepared. I loved this book. I didn't want it to end. It made me face up to a personal journey I need to start.
    BUY THIS BOOK! READ IT! You will not be disappointed,

    42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Exceptional. Not your average good book. It's full five stars. I

    Exceptional. Not your average good book. It's full five stars. I didn't know what to expect but only hoped not to read a systematic account of a 1100 mile-hike. It's nothing like that, nothing like anything I've read in my life.
    I'd like Isabel Allende's Maya character to meet Cheryl Strayed.
    The author's smoothly-told memoir and story of hiking the Pacific Crest Trail absolutely captured my heart and head for a the few days I was reading it. Only few, because I could not put the book down.
    The unexpected happened in each chapter. Her style is not a predictable writing style where the author gives you literally everything.
    Wild is not a self-help book, but I certainly found healing from not few wounds. It's neither a book on how to become long-distance hiker, but I now want to go to my next state park and hike for hours. Read the book, you will be glad you did.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Totally agree with Anonymous 4/22 posting. This woman puts zero

    Totally agree with Anonymous 4/22 posting. This woman puts zero thought into consequences. And who takes condoms on a hike? Very disappointed.

    26 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book. Highly Recommended.

    Loved this book. Highly Recommended.

    22 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Waste no time reading this book

    I couldn't finish this book. I didn't like her.

    19 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Perspective

    This book will show that anything you come up against in life can be managed. I was amazed at what this author accomplished all alone without prior training and warning. I read it with dread at times and with a desire to be there with her on the trail. I think that if I were 30 years younger, I would take a leave of absence and see if I could attempt even a small sample of what she achieved. I was touched to tears at the end of her journey. You will be too.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Loved it

    Stays on focus while giving flashbacks. Some very gut twisting moments. Good flow.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Fantastic, moving read

    I read this book in 3 days, and find myself feeling sad that it's done. I keep thinking of Cheryl herself, wondering where she's at in her life right now. It was a too-quick experience, but I'm glad I got to be privy to the innermost thoughts and unimaginally amazing experiences Cheryl went through. Her brutal honesty was refreshing, and she blended seemlessly humor with poignant, touching memories.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    We read this book for book club and everyone loved it!

    We read this book for book club and everyone in the book club loved it. The narrative was honest,unpretentious and,at times, emotionally raw. On top of this, she is actually a great writer! I'll have to say, she is not easy on herself- she is very candid about her flaws- and she is not easy on the reader-there are some passages that just leave you emotionally drained- but when she reaches the end of her journey you finish the book feeling great about the strength of the human spirit. Everyone can relate to Cheryl's journey on some level and come away from the book wiser and more human.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Disappointing

    As a previous reviewer mentioned, the litany of poor choices made by the author made it difficult for me to root for her. I was hoping that her journey would bring her to God, but that was not the case. She did accomplish an enormous physical and emotional challenge, but failed to acknowledge God's hand in it. I didn't expect the frequent vulgarities either.





    14 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Awful

    The book was self-serving blather.

    13 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Self indulgent and a bit painful to read Let me say that no matt

    Self indulgent and a bit painful to read
    Let me say that no matter how much I may not like a book, I finish it in hopes that something may change my feelings about it. I felt as if I was stuck on this Pacific Crest Trail with Cheryl and no way out. She was definitely in need of therapy before going on this trip and perhaps this might have helped. Everyone has bad things that happen to them and everyone has their own way of working them out and some never do, unfortunately. There were times I forgot to breathe as I read because it was so self indulgent and boring going on and on for multiple paragraphs that displayed an arrested development and a psychosis. If this is truly her life, I feel sorry for her, but I did not find her believable or honest. The qucik fix of a hike and at the end of it a husband, two children and a perfect life and Oprah behind this book that sent many of us to purchase it even thought previously we did not want to. Oprah's comments at the end was the best part of the read and her kind insights to passages that were highlighted in the ebook. Thank you Oprah. It is archived and I wish I could get rid of it completely from my reader.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Hate it

    It sucks

    12 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Outstanding!

    Who hasn't wanted to run away sometimes? But to choose such a rough road and to traverse it with blistered feet and a fifty pound backpack makes it as much a pilgrimage as a journey of self discovery.

    Very likable main character, flaws and all. Also gives you hope in the basic goodness in MOST of the people you meet along lifes way.

    Highly recommend.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Horrible

    She is so hard to relate to or root for given her poor choices throughout even the first 76 pages. So I stopped and had to look up people's reviews given how badly the reading experience was going. Reminds me of James Frey's "Million Pieces" - how much of this is for the publicity vs something real and meaningful. Glad I didn't spend money on this and was able to get it from my library - I hope I suppress my natural urge to finish all books I start in hopes of finding redemption. Too low probability of the book improving and continued torture to press on...

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Truly Inspiring !!!

    Regardless of how Cheryl Strayed was criticized by what appears to be avid/experienced hikers for her lack of knowledge of her adventure, I think what she did was nothing short of remarkable. I can almost bet that she showed more bravery and true grit than even the best.....when on their first adventure as hers and even more prepaired.
    Her story telling put me on that trail right along with her, but without my feeling the pain, hunger and fear.
    A must read !

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I loved this book!!!

    This book was both entertaining and inspiring. It is an interesting window into the soul of a troubled young woman that found a rather unconventionable method of finding herself by simply taking a hike. It just so happened to be a very long and adventurous hike for which she was totally unprepared. Though she was taking a 'hike of faith' it worked out ok largely due to the kindness of strangers. It inspires me to try some hiking of my own but in a much better prepared manner! I found myself glued to this book and have my wife reading it now. Buy this book!!






    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great

    Wonderful read, - felt like I was on the trail with Cheryl - thought provoking, - inspirational !

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 706 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36