Customer Reviews for

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Average Rating 4
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(401)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Very highly recommended

It's hard to pinpoint what, but something about this story just resonated strongly with me. I don't typically like 'healing' type memoirs (too sentimental), but this has such a kick-ass tone to it; its just fantastic. And so real. I even bought this for my 18 year ol...
It's hard to pinpoint what, but something about this story just resonated strongly with me. I don't typically like 'healing' type memoirs (too sentimental), but this has such a kick-ass tone to it; its just fantastic. And so real. I even bought this for my 18 year old daughter to read, and she's hooked. I'm female so I can personally relate to some things in here, but I think men would find this interesting as well.

Of course you don't know me from anyone else here, but believe me when I say it's hard for me to say I love a book - I'm incredibly picky and have difficulty finding a lot of writers whose work I truly respect. This is one of the great ones.

posted by 2115002 on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

103 out of 185 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating but indulgent by Tom David

This is a reasonably well written narrative of a young women's growth towards self awareness. The reader should recognize how incredibly irresponsible and reckless her behavior is throughout the book. She demonstrates a remarkable lack of foresight, a consistent inabili...
This is a reasonably well written narrative of a young women's growth towards self awareness. The reader should recognize how incredibly irresponsible and reckless her behavior is throughout the book. She demonstrates a remarkable lack of foresight, a consistent inability to recognize the dangers both physical and emotional, she places herself in, and an almost total lack of judgment.

She destroys her marriage, expirements with extremely dangerous and destructive drugs, and describes herself as being wildly promiscious to her regret. She begins her journey without the slightest idea of preparation. Nonetheless, thru a series of brutally painful experiences, sheer dumb luck, and the kindness of strangers, she survives.

How easily her story could have turned tragic. Raped and left dead on the trail, death from cold, hunger, thirst, injury and infection, as well easily becoming an addict, all were real possibilities. Personally the risk to reward ratio is simply unacceptable. My fear is that many will believe that they too can follow this model of risky, potentially deadly, and reckless behavior and, like the author, emerge unscathed with a stronger sense of self direction. I have always found this genre of spiritual and personal growth thru suffering and ill considered expirementation boring and indulgent.

However, I believe that in person I wouldfind much to like in the author and it is a much better read thsn one would expect.

posted by 1827552 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A good read

    For the most part I enjoyed the book and all the characters. Parts of it got long causing me to skim those sections. Not the best book I've ever read but still worth the read

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    This is one LUCKY woman to have 360'd her life as she has!

    I didn’t want to write a review of this book, but it’s been two weeks since I’ve read it and I’m still reeling in both positive and negative directions. Cherly Strayed’s descriptions of her bad decisions are incredulous! When she just gives her water purifier/life-line to the two idiots in the woods near the END of her journey, you wonder if she’s learned anything at all about self-preservation on this hike! Having enjoyed books like Woodswoman by Anne LaBastille and A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson, this is definitely a different description of hiking in the woods – more like a description conjured up 10-15 years after it occurred. Although I’m aware it’s a memoir, it feels like a lot of the true trail and nature details are lost or at best, watered-down. The title of the book could be perceived as misleading considering she hiked less than half of the PCT – even though that is a major achievement – you wonder if it has something to do with selling books. That aside, I loved her description of life being so close, present, belonging to her yet not in her grasp but “wild”. She also fully describes with eloquence and in great detail what is lost when a parent dies so young and how hard it is to ever recover from such a tremendous and eternal void. This was the highlight of the book! Somehow the author decides she is finished making choices that put her life in jeopardy and she becomes happily married with kids. Lucky her! Seriously, I AM glad she found peace with her mother’s death and became a successful writer. I wonder if Cheryl will add women’s crisis centers, homeless shelters, methadone clinics, etc. to her book tour list to share exactly how she turned her life around with those still suffering from the poor choices they made.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Not wild about wild

    I did not find this book lived up to its name. Frankly, i found it less than wild to read. It took me months to finish, which is unusual for me. I found it rather shallow. And oprah,s notes were so shallow, they should have been sunk at the bottom of the page.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Could not put it down, it was great!

    This story was inspirational and was very entertaining. The writer was trying to accomplish something that no woman to date had done. Her reasons for hiking the PWT was based on personal tragedy, but turned out instead to be an adventure which taught her that she could withstand many of life's ups and downs. The people she met on the trail were for the most part good and helpful and many became her friends for life. It's was quite an adventure!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I expected.

    Strayed’s memoir of her life and her on and off hike on the PCT are interesting enough, but not in the same context as TOUCHING THE VOID or STACY’S STORY. I expected this to be a suspenseful read, showcasing the protagonist’s personal holocaust and what she went through to survive it. In the two aforementioned books the protagonists do not contrive to place themselves in jeopardy nor do they seek to place blame or question their misfortune; they are simply too busy trying to remain alive. Their next step does not result in a stubbed toe or broken fingernail, but places them inches closer to exiting through death’s door, a component crucial to a great thriller. In Wild, one gets the impression the protagonist goes out of her way to throw her life over a cliff, repeatedly, (Infidelity, drugs, irreverence, heedless sex) and then laments the impact of the back-draft. In the book, she’s not vulnerable to the loss of life or limb, except through ill-advised self-infliction. Strayed’s antagonist, as she so mindfully reveals in her memoir, is herself, exacerbated by poor choices. If you’re looking for a story on not what to do after you’ve been jostled by life, then this may be it. If you’re looking for a good suspenseful thriller or inspirational story, try elsewhere.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Anonymous

    I enjoyed the book. I found I could totally relate with her need to find herself, reflect & to heal. It wasn't hard to put down or pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    I find this memoir very well written. I didn't want to put this

    I find this memoir very well written. I didn't want to put this book down. But I have some reservations about the messages people may get. It is a believable story  with dashes of carelessness, inexperience and lack of judgement in dealing with people.Young people who happen to read this book may get the wrong idea of what this world is all about.She mingled with different kind of people and got into various situations and always came out of them triunfantly
    Well, I'm 80 years old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    GOOD BOOK

    WILD INTRIGUED ME WHEN I SAW THE TITLE AND READ WHAT IT WAS ABOUT. I WANTED TO READ IT FOR MONTHS, DIDN'T WANT TO PAY THAT MUCH FOR IT THOU. I FINALLY BROKE DOWN, BOUGHT IT AND READ. IT WAS A GOOD READ, VERY INTERESTING HER TRAIL WALK UP THE PACIFIC COAST, I LOVE WALKING BUT WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO PUT MYSELF IN HER SHOES. I ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW WHAT WOULD HAPPEN NEXT, BUT WAS ABLE TO READ FOR AWHILE, PUT DOWN AND PICK UP LATER WHEN I HAD TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Ashatail

    She growled and wrapped her wings around herself. "Its not like they tried to kill you!" She padded off.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Blue

    Still here tigerpelt!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good not great

    Puts me back on the trail but doesnt keep me thre for long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Not bad

    There were several things I liked about this memoir. The characters were alright and the idea of the 3 month hike was certainly intriguing. I liked that this woman was "saved" by nature rather than religion; something I could identify with. However, the amateur writing style and 9th grade vocabulary lacked grace, and all the self dramatization lacked perspective and made her character lose dimension. The author,'s inflated ego about her own writing exceeds the reality and makes the book feel trite. Having said this, it is a memorable read for the feat accomplished within it, if not for the actual delivery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Hawkblaze

    She smiles. "How are your battle moves?"<p>
    [Hawkblaze]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Apalled by all the people passing judgement on her character

    I back packed in montana &kicked my pack many times...entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Good but not great

    This is a very interesting story of personal transformation. Interesting but kinda slow. Nothing super standout but the sum of its parts was worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    This has been on my 'to read' wishlist for awhile, but I was wai

    This has been on my 'to read' wishlist for awhile, but I was waiting for a copy from the library. I'm glad I waited and didn't buy it, I wouldn't read it again. But, on the other hand, it was worth reading. I enjoy the author's writing style a lot, and I admired her courage and determination in taking and making this trip. However. I feel as though she was stuck in such a quagmire of misery and grief that she used it as an excuse to indulge in so many awful behaviors that could have resulted in her death. Which, I guess was kind of the point of the book, but at some point I just didn't feel that sorry for her anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Daisykit

    Could I please be the medicine cat apprentice?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    It was okay.

    I heard very good things about this book. It made me kind of depressed hearing about her previous life. I had a good ending, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    very interesting read

    except for the unnecessary details of her sex life, I enjoyed the book very much. It would have been fine to allude to those activities, but added nothing to the experience by giving so much detail. I found it astounding that anyone would travel such long, treacherous trails alone. I wonder if she ever returned to the areas that she was forced to skip over?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    This book, although interesting, did not strike me as a strong w

    This book, although interesting, did not strike me as a strong woman coming to terms with elements of her past, and healing her spirit in the way she intended to do when setting foot on the PCT. Cheryl was indeed brave, and determined on her solo hike; but I didn't get a feeling of spiritual renewal- just one of physical determination and bouts of strength and perseverance in the moment during her hike and into the future journeys of her trail adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4