Customer Reviews for

Wild Blue Under

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!!!!

    I've always loved mermaids and mermen and this series by Judi Fennell has just added to it. The first book was great in this series but it lacked the essence that this book conveyed. I had only one problem with the first book, but with this book everything was perfect. Rod and Valerie had an adventure of a lifetime. Valerie found something in Rod that she's been searching for her entire life. She just wasn't sure what it was that attracted her to him. This story is perfect for anyone who loves mer romance with talking animals added in for a bit of humor. This book inspires, captivates, and reels you in from the very beginning. I can't wait until the next book in the series comes out and I hope it's even better than this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    in a seashell

    I began this series a bit out of order, I started Wild Blue Under first. It did not confuse me as in the story line but I got a bit annoyed (maybe that is not the right word) with all the under the sea analogies. Every other page something fishy would pop up. For instance, "Oh, Hades!" or "That's it in a conch shell." I was a little tired of it by page 100. Then it began to mellow down. It was as if the longer Rod remained on land the less and less sea analogies he used or even thought about. I wonder if this was done intentionally. It wasn't until I read book one did I realize the imagination and effort it took to write this series.


    Ms. Fennell did a wonderful job creating an underwater world with beauty, elegance, mystery and intrigue. This subject is not one that has been over done and there is so much room to grow and expand with it. She could do far more that the 3 books already on the table (Book 3 is slated for Feburary) and her fans would not get tired in the least. The characters are guided by passion, duty and the gods, with Zeus in charge of the whole shibang. Not only is Judi's underwater world a delight but she has a way with timing her plot that is amazing.

    The flow of the book was just right. There are times when you read a book and you think to yourself "enough with the . . . Already!" In Wild Blue Under the was never a chance for that. Just when you thought the action was getting a bit much the main characters would have a love scene or the bad guy would flip the script. Great twists and turns, and the hired "antagonist" (!!!) You are never going to guess who it is, don't even try!

    Wild Blue Under is a great escape from the world we live in. So, grab the book, a glass of (salt) water and dive in.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    Why?!

    Go make a chatroom, u metal retards!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Why in hell

    Do all of you idiotic role players have convos in book reviews???? Are you so misguided and bored that you cant find a bloody chatroom to go on with your stupidity. I am tired of trying to read book reviews only to wade through your meandering nonsense.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Lightfoot

    *pads up to Sparkleleaf* Hi Im Lightfoot and this is my sister Meadowleap. Camp is in second result. Follow me.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Braveheart

    ((Hello? Vigils? SILENT VIGILS?)) He sits silently, smiling.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Wingstorm

    "Lizardpaw, we can train." I meow, purring at her excitement.
    ~Wingstorm

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Tornadoclaw

    Walks into camp and says hello guys were is everbody

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Shinepaw

    Icetail

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Mistyflower

    She purred happily. "Thank you mother" @Mistyflower

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Infernopaw

    Her green eyes shone brightly with excitement. "Yay! When do we train?" Squeaks enthusiasticly, bouncing up and down with gleem

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Jbvd

    L vhjg

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Littleflower

    She purred loudly and cheered for the new apprentices. She steped foward to Stormpaw and brushed muzzels with her new apprentice.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Lizardstripe

    "Thank you!" She meows excitedly. "I'm a warrior!" The brown shecat thinks, her fiery eyes shining. -Lizardstripe

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    ¿

    ¿

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    V

    V

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique & Fun Romantic Adventure!

    This novel is another fun to read, romantic adventure by Judi Fennell! The characters are believable and the situation they find themselves in is unique. There's lots of zany secondary characters and plenty of twists and turns to keep you turning the pages rapidly. The romance was wonderful and had me sighing at the end. Judi Fennell is an author to watch!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing, funny and clever

    Wild Blue Under, by Judi Fennell, is a fine successor to In Over Her Head and another enjoyable read. I would never have believed that stories of mermaids and mermen could be so intriguing till I started on this series. But Judi's gentle humor and convincing imagination makes it easy for the reader to suspend disbelief and enjoy the curious ride.

    This second novel takes place mostly on land, with the Heir to the throne of Mer undertaking a task to prove his worthiness. But "worth" is more than meets the brain or eye, and I love the way Judi's inclusion of Olympian gods provides glimpses of eternal questions-why do bad things happen to good people? Why do things go wrong even when we've done everything right?

    This being a romance, "worth" also includes true love, and there are some truly hilarious scenes (enormously memorable ones too) as hero and heroine drive cross-country while being dive-bombed by wildfowl, struggling all the time to deny their growing attraction to each other. The advent of large quantities of rain and assorted injuries cause the absence of certain garments and well. you can guess where it's going, but you'd do much better to read. Airports are closed. Seagulls talk (and eat fries). Evil schemers plot and plan to deceive. And it all leads to the learning of fascinating, satisfying lessons, well-taught by those mysterious gods shifting pawns that still exercise free will.

    I may even have liked this novel better than Judi's first book, which bodes well for the third, coming soon-a really fun read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Disappointing

    I bought this one and her other based on the blurb on the back. I was disappointed in them both and didn't even finish. Very boring. I kept hoping I'd care about the characters. I didn't. I got rid of them both right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    he second Tritone brother Mer urban-oceanic romantic fantasy is a fantastic tale

    When his father steps down as High Councilman, Rod Tritone knows his duty is to replace him running the Kingdom of Mer. However, the ruling Council directs Rod that before he assumes the position he will marry the lost daughter of Mer. Although he does not want to marry anyone nor go on land, Rod understands his people's needs come before his desires.--------

    He is given legs so he can walk with the landlubbers as his queen is on the surface in ironically land locked Kansas selling ocean tchotchkes at Therese's Treasure Trove. Valerie Dumere scoffs at Rod's instance that she is a hybrid human-mermaid as she has never had a tail nor can she even swim. However, when someone tries to kill her, Val knows something is not right, but still scorns her rescuer's insistence that he lives under the sea.--------------

    The second Tritone brother Mer urban-oceanic romantic fantasy (see In Over her Head) is a terrific tale of the tail from the moment Rod arrives at the store knowing this can't be Atlantis. Fans will enjoy the amusing banter between the disbeliever and the Mer trying to convince her to dive into the ocean as his mate while a predator wants her dead. This is a fun fantasy with readers wondering whether Val will there's no place like home when you are loved by the one you treasure.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2