BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wild Boy: My Life in Duran Duran

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    eye opening!

    I've always been a huge DD fan but never really knew the gory details on "my guys." I wish I knew then what I know now. This book had me laughing out loud one minute and it was breaking my heart the next. As I read through the book, I was constantly stopping to google things that he'd mention. (I see the Rio video in a totally different light, now!) I have a newfound love and respect for them, especially Andy, who has been able to remain a faithful husband and father for so long.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Wow!

    I hesitated picking up this book cos I thought it'd be a 'tell all and not in a nice way' kind of book. Yay! It wasn't! It starts out with him telling about himself as a young kid, and up to where he gets to Duran Duran. Then he talks about what it was like on the other side of the cage (inside looking out, where and what we couldn't see). Some things were so funny, some just heart-wrenching, making me feel so horrible for him (and them). He winds up with where he was at that moment in time, like coming out of his own 'Perfect Storm'.

    It was as if I could hear him talking what I was reading. I see how things deeply touched him, or angered him, and we get insight to his opinions, thoughts, and musings. He has a wonderful way of writing.

    He makes Duran Duran more human, not just those oh so hot lads almost every female teenager in the 80s had on her walls...and ceiling, and door...and had every LP, knew every song, and just dreamed about. He gave them depth, even in the not so wonderful times, it makes them even more special because of the talent they ALL have, such diverse personalities, all coming together, rocking the world, shattering apart, coming together, although splintered, just to break wide open again.

    I have been a fan since the early 80s, I still listen to them, to their side projects, like Arcadia and Power Station, I like their solo stuff, but in the US almost impossible to find.

    This book gave me insights to the videos, the locations, the recordings, the concerts...It helped me not just to like their music, but helped me respect them more as people with talent up close than just the icons we all saw from afar.

    Read it. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    The Book Every Duranie Should Read

    If you were a teenage girl/boy in the eighties obsessed with Duran Duran this is a great read. It highlights some of the high and low points of the "Fab Five" from Andy Taylor's perspective. One of my favorite parts was reading about the making of the videos in all of those exotic locales. If you read this and have access to the videos I recommend you see the videos after the descriptions of the mishaps that occured. A good read that I couldn't wait to get back to each time I put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    A MUST READ FOR ANY DURAN DURAN FAN

    If you loved Duran Duran in the 80's or even now, this is a must read. I couldn't put this book down! Andy is very honest and its really refreshing to read about all the ups and downs they have gone through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Good read.

    My goodness, this book brought back so many memories!!! Being a HUGE 'Duranie' back in the day, I remember a group of us crazed girls, waiting in front of the Westwood Marquis in Los Angeles, for the departure of the band to their waiting limousine. And scream we did, when they finally emerged!!! Who knew that at the time the band was in such turmoil, with drugs, infighting, and money issues. I have a new respect for Andy Taylor, as both a musician, and a human being, after reading his book. I found it fascinating that he has been married to Tracey for 25 years! Good for him!!! While parts of the book are a bit redundant 'I fault the editor', the story is quite enjoyable, and at times sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Inspiring...

    Andy Taylor offers fans a peek inside his life. As the lead guitarist with Duran Duran he was swept to fame quickly. The stress was high and hard on the group. Fans never knew the pressure and discontent of the members. Taylor is brutally honest in his memoir. My favorite part of Wild Boy was seeing Taylor as a husband and father. It is obvious that he loves his family very much. His devotion to his wife during her illness is inspiring. Wild Boy gives fans the opportunity to see a superstar in a different light. It is an opportunity to see Andy Taylor as a normal human being. Kudos Mr. Taylor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great Read

    I was a huge fan of Duran Duran and reading behind the scene was a BIG eye opener for me. I really liked getting to know Andy Taylor. Well written and if you love the music business side you will love this book. No photographs in book though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Great read for duran fans

    Hard to put down. I was and will always be a fan and can't believe i waited so long to read this. Fun getting to know andy and the journey he went through, though sad to read about the friction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    FABULOUS Book!

    Andy really has a way of writing. His wit / humor are priceless. He doesn't hold back & gloss over anything. You get a complete understanding of his life & view w/the band thru the years. It's a great read! ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Not Bitter - Just setting the record straight

    Anyone who remembers Duran from the early 80's or went to a show during 83-84 phenom, or even before or afterward should read this book. Andy shares a inside details deal about himself, the band, and the drama. When my friends and I first heard Andy had written a book, we thought he's bitter and this is payback. He's not bitter IMO the only real 'dig' was when he referred to another member of the band as a 'Revlon wearing tosser.' Which I thought was quite funny. For the most part he provided a firsthand account for what really happened to the band that is synonymous with the 80's. Andy didn't sugar coat but he wasn't cruel either. Andy also talks a lot about the music: recording, dealing with management and working with other talent - validating his life outside of Duran. He also shares some great photos - most from his personal collection. A few years back, after the first round of the reunion tour I had saw Andy leaving the show and said - 'hey Andy - welcome back.' Well he shot me look that - even through his sunglasses - could kill. After the read I understand why. This is Andy setting the record straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Is there something I should know?

    I have been a Duranie since way back, the number 5 is my lucky number because of the 5 band members. I loved this book! I always enjoy reading about the life of a band that I admire. Mr. Taylor is not only a talented guitarist, he can tell a good story too. Cheers Andy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2