Customer Reviews for

Wild Child (Wild Ones 1.5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    5 stars - Sexy with heart, this one packs an emotional story! S

    5 stars - Sexy with heart, this one packs an emotional story!

    So I spent the first third of this book completely in need of my man and the last third with tears falling down my face. This is a sexy book that packs a emotional story between the kisses. I've read way too many sexy books lately that are only sexy and no story. I'm even a little tired of the sexy, to tell the truth. So when I started this one, I was nervous. Not sure why I needed to be. With M. Leighton writing it, there was sure to be more than kisses happening on these pages. I completely loved Rusty and Jenna's story.

    Rusty is such a great guy. He's really a guy too. The L word just doesn't come out of his mouth easily but he so loves Jenna. Trying to protect his heart, he doesn't realize that his heart is already involved. He's not going to be able to walk away and forget this good time. But the pain that he faces, both mentally and physically, before he gets it, is tough to watch. I wanted to slap him and hug him in equal measures. Total guy.

    Jenna is so happy for her besty who's getting married to the guy of her dreams. She's not even jealous that Cami is getting everything she, herself, wants. She just wants Rusty to figure things out. She might could help him if her fears would step aside. She loves the man and she wants him forever. Watching her go through some pretty intense pain was hard. I could just see it through her eyes - the time slowing down and speeding up, the joy and misery at the same time - it's a vivid picture in my mind. I ached for her. Love it so much when a character makes me feel like they do.

    This story just slips by. I went from the sexy third to that crying third in nothing flat and was totally satisfied. If you've read The Wild Ones, then you NEED this book ASAP. If you haven't had the pleasure, then make sure and pick up The Wild Ones and get it read in time for this one to come out 10/22. Love me some Trick! It's great adult romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Quick Read!

    I do believe that THE WILD ONES was my first book by Leighton to read and I have been loving her books ever since. So I was excited to hear that Leighton was going to write WILD CHILD and make it a series. I have missed Trick and Cami. But now, with Jenna and Rusty's story being told, well, I am that much happier. She did an amazing job at writing it and I couldn't have been happier with the way it all evolved.

    WILD CHILD was an extremely quick read that had me smiling, hurting, and panting. There is no way you can read a book by Leighton and not do a little panting...am I right? Her books are hot, hot, hot!! But there was also a huge scene that was so very hard for me to read. I went through something very similar almost 2 years ago with my dad and then a year ago with my father in law. To say I was hurting right along with Jenna is an understatement. I loved this girl so much and I truly wanted to see her happy and whole.

    Weeping may endure for the night, but joy cometh in the morning. Psalm 30:5

    Leighton used a bit of scripture at the beginning of the book and it couldn't have fit more perfectly with everything that went on. And I just loved how after all is said and done, there was joy and hope and love. What a perfect way to start the book and a heck of an ending after all that happened. And then to see that there will be yet another book? Holy cow! I am so itching to get a piece of that. I am excited that Jake will get his story told.

    Most definitely read this book!! You won't regret losing yourself for a couple hours to the story that Leighton has to tell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    3 1/2 stars We learned a lot about Rusty and Jenna in The Wild O

    3 1/2 stars
    We learned a lot about Rusty and Jenna in The Wild Ones. I missed tham and was thrilled that they were going to get their own story - there just wasn't enough in it for what I was hoping. Don't get me wrong, Michelle has done a fabulous job in maintaining the characters and their growth. The mechanical bull scene is one that will stay with me for a VERY long time. The short-sighted thinking and the abrupt tidy wrap up left me a bit empty and longing for more. I was sure that the wild, charismatic, passionate characters would have had more story to tell. We got to see more of Trick and Cami, but they seemed to have equal time to Rusty and Jenna. All in all it was a great follow up to The Wild Ones and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A nice short, sexy read¿ This is a novella in The Wild Ones ser

    A nice short, sexy read…

    This is a novella in The Wild Ones series which can be read as a stand-alone.

    This is a short sexy read with emotional depth. Jenna Theopolis really is a wild child and to some degree so is Rusty (Jeffrey) Catron yet he is much more tempered than she is. Jenna has plans for her future and they don’t include staying in her hometown. She has always wanted to leave and spread her wings. At least that was the case until she spends an amazing summer with Rusty and finds that she has fallen deeply in love with him. Jenna has graduated from college and wants to start on her career path but she is torn because of her feelings for Rusty.

    Rusty’s father walked out on him and his mother when he was a child and that left him with abandonment issues. He loves Jenna but he believes things are temporary, that her inner spirit will eventually take her from him. He doesn’t trust that she would stay so he doesn’t tell her his feelings and when the ground falls out from under him he tells her to go which hurts her. 

    But when the ground falls out from under Jenna he allows nothing to stop him from running to be with her, seeking to help her through a dark time. When the dust settles he finally voices his feelings and desires. In all relationships communication is vital, without it there are so many misunderstandings that could have been avoided. This is one of the lessons of this novella.

    The H and h are two very likable characters and the antics they get into are not only amusing but steamy. This is a tale of two young adults facing what life throws at them and growing up some in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great novella, well written, passionate, and emotional

    Loved the storyline, loved the characters. Romantic and sexy, made me both laugh and cry. Made me want to check out others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Zack

    Zack and he's a boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Stella

    Gender: Girl Name: Stella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Andrew

    Boy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Bbt

    Sicoma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Rodeo

    Looks for her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Wow! I seriously cannot get enough of M. Leighton's books. I abs

    Wow! I seriously cannot get enough of M. Leighton's books. I absolutely loved Rusty and Jenna's story. It had me in tears more than once... >>Thanks alot!! I was on the bus lol<< Rusty is just too funny... I totally cannot wait to see where this series goes..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Just ok

    ## Just ok for me. Follow up to "The Wild Ones" which I adored. However I found this book lacking. There was no depth to Rusty and Jenna's relationship. We don't get to know them outside the bedroom. Seemed like one big lust fest. The sex scenes are hot but too frequent for only 120 pages. And most of the wedding details (cam & trick) were boring. Ok but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    This book is fenomenal!!!!!

    The first time I read a Michelle Leighton book I fell in love. I fell in love with her talent, her gift to tell a story, her ability to drag the reader into her mind, and take you for the ride of your life. Any genre this author writes is nothing short of extraordinaire, and as it was expected, this was the case with WILD CHILD.

    WILD CHILD is a Novella, which only means that it gets hot and heavy right from the start. Rusty and Jenna can’t seem to get their hands off of each other… and honestly who wants them to. In this book we get a better understanding of how fine Rusty is and how much of an Achilles heel he is to Jenna. But beyond the amazing sex and provocative antics these too characters’ depths and internal turmoil are beautifully portrayed by the author. M Leighton this is another one for the books, but I got to say you are making it difficult on yourself because I can’t really imagine how you going to top off the bull are riding passage.

    Nonetheless I am looking forward to you outdoing yourself in Some Like it Wild and There’s You… may be you can throw in some bungee jumping sex…just a though! Happy reading!



    Wines and Labels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Jenna & Rusty are great!  I loved it even when they weren't

    Jenna & Rusty are great!  I loved it even when they weren't together because you just knew they would figure it out.  I'm not going to put
    a spoiler but OMG I went through a box of tissues!!!!  This is a great follow up for Rusty & Jenna and I'm glad it was shorter since we got
     so much of them getting together in the first book, it felt right to kind of wrap it up in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Michelle never disappoints!!

    Like all the books before this one, it was a page turner! I am addicted to all things M. Leighton! I love that this book is about Rusty and Jenny, yet Trick & Cami's story continues. I can't wait to see what's next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Wow

    This story was great. I cried, i laughed, ireally enjoyed rusty and jennas story. I hope it will continue in the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    M. Leighton delivers big time in this novella  I totally fell in

    M. Leighton delivers big time in this novella
     I totally fell in Love with Trick in The Wild Ones and I could not wait to read Wild Child, which is Rusty and Jenna's story.  Rusty is Trick's best friend and Jenna is Cami's best friend, both of whom we met in The Wild Ones, and who I have totally fallen in love with in Wild Child.  Jenna Theopolis is crazy about Rusty Catron.  She has graduated from college and is ready to move forward, but she isn't quite sure where things stand with Rusty.  She knows how she feels about him, but she doesn't know if he feels the same.  Rusty has a lot of issues from his past regarding his father, which have affected his ability to trust, love, and commit.  He's crazy about Jenna to, but he also knows she has big dreams, dreams that take her away from Greenfield and from him, or so he thinks.  When his "Wild Child" finally confesses her feelings, it throws him for a loop, especially when he finds out something she has kept from him.  Confused and torn, Rusty isn't sure what to do, but before he can sort through it all a tragedy strikes which changes everything. In the aftermath of it all, will these two find their happily ever after, or will the mistakes of the past haunt them forever and ruin any chance they have for a future together?




    I loved this story so hard.  Even though it is a novella, a whole lot takes place in its pages.  I completely and totally fell in love with Rusty.  If you thought he was hot in Wild Ones, wait until you read Wild Child....swoon......smolder.......melt.  Jenna is a hoot and fits her description of "Wild Child," perfectly, but she also loves Rusty fiercely.  The chemistry between these two is combustible and will leaving you feeling like you're about to do just that on more than one occasion.  The story itself is fun, hot, romantic, tragic, and beautiful.  It made me swoon, sigh, fan my face, laugh, cry, and then do it all again.  M. Leighton delivers a powerful punch in a small package with Wild Child.  It is like opening up a dime-sized vacuum-packed sponge, and as you read it, it grows into the size of beach ball leaving you wondering how in the world she managed to do that.  I loved Wild Child and if you are a M. Leighton fan, I know you are going to love it to, so hurry up and grab a copy.  You won't be sorry.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    The Wild Ones was one of my favorite books of last year. Of cour

    The Wild Ones was one of my favorite books of last year. Of course, I loved Cami and Trick, but the girl that stole my heart, was Jenna. I remember telling the author right after I finished the book that Jenna and Rusty needed a book too. And apparently, others agreed with me. This little novella packed some heat and made me fall in love with Jenna and Rusty even more. 




    I've felt a strong connection to Jenna since I first met her. There is so much about her life and her personality that reminds me of my own. In this novella, we get to see Jenna go through some serious stuff.  Jenna has goals and dreams that don't include staying in Greenfield. But, there's a little something that is enticing her to stay. Rusty Catron. She needs Rusty to take a chance on her. She needs him to be her rock. Especially after her family tragedy. 




    Rusty is a hometown boy. He has a life in Greenfield, his mom is there, and his friends are there. When his feelings for Jenna become stronger, Rusty's past comes back to haunt him. To me, Rusty was the fun loving flirt and now I  that I know more about him, there is still truth to that, but there is also a sad side to Rusty too. Rusty made my heart hurt. I wanted him to trust in Jenna and their relationship. In the end, love does prevail, but it's not an easy road getting there. 




    Overall, I loved WILD CHILD. Rusty and Jenna got my temperature up, my heart aching, and there were still moments that made me laugh. The only thing that could have made this one better for me, would have been a longer version of Jenna and Rusty's story. I just love them as a couple. They will be in my heart always. 




    I highly recommend reading this one if you're following The Wild Ones Series. Not only is it a great read, but it provides a great lead into Jenna's brother, Jake's story, Some Like It Wild. Definitely pick this one up!




    Quotes:
    ~"Jenna, I can exist without you," he begins, the words slicing through me like a knife through butter. "But it wouldn't be any kind of existence that I'd want. You are what makes my life worth living. You're the sunshine in it, you're the laughter and the smiles. You're the warm nights and the cool breezes. You're like every good memory and moment and dream I've ever had all wrapped into one. And if you go, you take the only living part of me with you. Without you, I might as well be dead. So, yes, I can exist without you. But that's all I'd be doing."-Loc 1470




    ~"I've loved you from the moment I met you, Jenna. And I'll love you long after I'm gone from this world."
    I reach up and wind my arms around his neck, giving him a mischievous wink. "What took you so long?"
    He grins down at me. "Traffic was hell."-Loc 1490

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    I absolutely loved Wild Child!! I devoured Michelle's latest off

    I absolutely loved Wild Child!! I devoured Michelle's latest offering with relish, couldn't get enough.

    Wild Child may be a small book book but it packs quite a mighty punch! This novella is a sweet little story about Rusty & Jenna, Trick & Cami's best friends (The Wild Ones) and is crammed full of sexy, steamy, heart wrenching goodness...all the things I've come to love and expect from M. Leighton.
    While I loved the banter and camaraderie between the four friends I particularly loved the hot flirting between Rusty & Jenna, even though at times they frustrated the hell out of me the way they skirted round their feelings for each other.
    Michelle is very creative & inventive when it comes to using 'props' in her steamy scenes and Wild Child is no exception - two words...Bucking Bronco. Add a sexy cowboy in chaps and a feisty cowgirl and fasten yourself in for a steamy ride!! My kindle nearly exploded reading that scene, along with my ovaries!
    Although this is Rusty & Jenna's story we still get to see Trick & Cami as they prepare for their wedding, so don't worry all you Trick fans.
    Wild Child is a funny and sexy read but it's not without it's share of tragedy and my heart broke for Jenna. I sobbed when tragedy struck as I could relate to how she felt - NO SPOILERS.
    There are very few authors who I just have to see their name on a book, immediately 1-click buy without reading the synopsis and know I won't be disappointed. M. Leighton is one of those authors, I just KNOW I'm in for an awesome read.
    Buy it today...you won't regret it, trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    If you are a fan of The Wild Ones then hold on to your hat.  Jen

    If you are a fan of The Wild Ones then hold on to your hat.  Jenna and Rusty will be steaming up your kindle in no time.  This was an amazing story about life, loss and love.  As a novella in the The Wild Ones Series it was a quick and enjoyable read  told from both Jenna and Rusty’s point of view with some Trick and Cami to hold you over too.




    The story begins with preparation for Cami and Trick’s upcoming wedding.  We all have heard the saying that absence makes that heart grow fonder….but holy hell…..absence between Jenna and Rusty is pure unadulterated torture!  These two play a high stakes game of cat and mouse which had my kindle on overload!  I now have a new appreciation for costumes and a mechanical bull!




    Jenna has always dreamed of bigger things but all she ever really wanted was to be loved.  Having finished college she is ready to start the next part of her life but is she willing to leave what binds her to Greenfield to have it?




    Rusty is holding back afraid to let his true feelings for Jenna shine through because he is afraid that she will leave him bigger things outside of Greenfield.  Just like his Dad did years ago.  So when hears plans that Jenna has made from another party he knows what he must do.  But will he be able to live without her?




    I am a huge Trick fan and he didn't even need to ask me to pick Trick.  But I saw a side Rusty in this book that had me swooning for him.... hard. I could feel the depth of emotion that ran through Jenna and Rusty.  Even when there were no words their actions screamed a thousand.  I laughed and cried both happy and sad tears in this book.  When loss is compounded by more loss,  sometimes  you have to lose it all to see that what you need has been there all along.




    “I have loved you from the moment I met you , Jenna. And I’ll love you long after I’m gone from this world.”
    I reach up and wind my arms around his neck , giving him a mischievous wink, “What took so long?”
    He grins down at me, “Traffic was hell.”




    I will definitely be looking forward to the next installment, Some Like It Wild coming early 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2