BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wild Child

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book!!!!!!

I loved this book! It was an awesome book. It's one of my favorites! I totally recommend this book! It's totally worth it!!!! I think the age is 8+. Whoever wrote this should make a whole series. ...
I loved this book! It was an awesome book. It's one of my favorites! I totally recommend this book! It's totally worth it!!!! I think the age is 8+. Whoever wrote this should make a whole series. If you could do as many stars as you wanted, I'd give it 15 stars. You will love this book. If you have not read it, PLEASE READ IT!!!!!!! It might even become one of your all time favorites. I <3 this book!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 7921305 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wild Child

A short, fun story is what Mike Wells delivers to his readers in Wild Child. Kyle and Brie are likable characters that find themselves in an extraordinary situation. The ending left me with the question, did Kyle just sign Brie's death sentence or was his decision, form...
A short, fun story is what Mike Wells delivers to his readers in Wild Child. Kyle and Brie are likable characters that find themselves in an extraordinary situation. The ending left me with the question, did Kyle just sign Brie's death sentence or was his decision, formed from his love for her, the best way to make sure she didn't end up as a government lab rat? With the government so close to the area, is Kyle really sure she will never be found?

posted by ScoutNJ on July 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Loved it!

    The begining was a little shaky but right after that the plot really picked up. It was very suspenseful and it keep me on the edge of my seat! I would recomend it to someone who likes adventure and a little romance because the end was really romantic!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Awesome book!!!!!!

    I loved this book! It was an awesome book. It's one of my favorites! I totally recommend this book! It's totally worth it!!!! I think the age is 8+. Whoever wrote this should make a whole series. If you could do as many stars as you wanted, I'd give it 15 stars. You will love this book. If you have not read it, PLEASE READ IT!!!!!!! It might even become one of your all time favorites. I <3 this book!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Riveting!

    Mike Wells has the uncanny ability to pull you into a story and get you emotionally invested into his characters in such a relatively short period of time. What he does in just a few pages takes many authors hundreds. Most people will read Wild Child in one sitting and will be instant fans of his style yearning for more. Wild Child 2 is now available, and there is news that a whole series is forthcoming due to its popular demand. His books are already earning recognition around the world and rightfully so.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wild, Wild Read!

    Wild Briana Fox and level-headed Kyle Dunlap were close friends who love to hang around in Kyle's boat, until one day, an accident occurred that led Briana to discover a mysterious 'power drug' in a cave. With government agents trailing on their heels, Kyle must decide how far he would go to protect his friend.

    And that, dear readers, is Wild Child by Mike Wells.

    This story was very fast-paced and urgent, you would never put the book down once you started it, which is quite easy since this novel does not have that many pages - 73 in fact, from the PDF copy I was given for review. Besides, if this book was any longer, you would not really notice because it demanded your attention so much you just forget about the time.

    Briana had such a strong presence in the book, although the story was mostly focused on Kyle and his race to protect his friend. In my opinion, Briana is the strongest character in this book. She may not have reflective moments in the book that Kyle had, but what was unsaid about her character was what elevated her and made her a lingering figure. Which was probably because this story was mostly told through Kyle's point of view, and reading from the chapters, it is easy enough to understand that Kyle is in love with his best friend. Their characters were very genuine and believable, and although most would say that they were flawed, that was exactly the point, and it was like just reading about a story of two real life people - except of course, that part about the magic drug.

    Mr. Wells' writing style was very easy as he told the story as is, no heavy doses of commentary and dialogue, just pure storytelling which is what most young adult readers prefer. Caution, however, should be taken when this book is read by younger readers as there are some delicate scenes that they may need walking through by an adult. No, I am not talking about graphic sexual or violent episodes, but as this is mainly a book suitable for older teens, there may be some parts that a younger reader might need help understanding, although once he/she gets past those, he/she will find that this book is quite an enjoyable read.

    But although I was quite blown away by the story, the progression of the novel just left me with a lot of questions and although I know that there are some things better left as they are, I seriously think this story just begs for a sequel!

    After all, more adventures equals more fun, right?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great little novella - give it a read!

    A fast-paced novella, "Wild Child" explores when happens with Briana - the wild child of the title - and her best friend Kyle discover a mysterious spring of glowing green water in an underwater cavern. While it heals Bri from wounds received in an accident, and makes her feel wonderful, its effects are also short-term and she must return or her wounds begin to reform and she feels weak and sick. When Kyle asks his father to have the water analyzed, he doesn't realize what a mess he is going to create, because the chemists who tested the water contacted the government - and government representatives show up, saying they only want to help .

    Wells has created a great world; developing characters and making us care for them in a very short time, and telling a complete story within that same margin. His style is clean and spare, with vivid descriptions. This is technically a young adult story, but should also be enjoyable to older readers as well. Give it a try; I think you'll like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Wild Child

    A short, fun story is what Mike Wells delivers to his readers in Wild Child. Kyle and Brie are likable characters that find themselves in an extraordinary situation. The ending left me with the question, did Kyle just sign Brie's death sentence or was his decision, formed from his love for her, the best way to make sure she didn't end up as a government lab rat? With the government so close to the area, is Kyle really sure she will never be found?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    What I adored most about this book is the love and sacrifice in it. The storyline was really good to get into. Both characters, even though uniquely different completed each other. Kyle is set out to be different. He doesn't want to be like his dad, but yet he does try to please him. Kyle is a such a sweet guy. He is just that type that won't over due what he has. He is happy with the way things are and will not do anything different to change that.

    Now, Briana is definitely a wild child. She is crazy and totally out there. After the accident its like she becomes worst, risking her life even more. What I didn't like about her was that she was selfish. She failed to see past her own feelings and hurt Kyle. Kyle made a big decisions in the end. He loved her and did what he thought was best.

    The buildup of the storyline and the way it unfolded little by little was good. I enjoyed learning about power drug and the effects on their body. I like how it all tied in the government and Kyle's father. What I like the most at the end is Kyle's loyalty to now only himself, but Briana as well.Great book and well written. My only gripe was that it was short.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wild Ride

    Mike Wells has written a fast-paced story of Brianna Fox, a "Wild Child" and adventure seeker. When she is out swimming on the lake with her best friend (and almost boyfriend), Kyle, she is involved in a horrible boating accident. The accident should have killed her, but much to Kyle's surprise, she walks away unscathed. In fact, she walks away better than ever. Reason is, Brianna found her way into an underwater cave that holds a lagoon filled with an unexplained substance that has amazing effects on Brianna.

    Soon, Brianna becomes dependent on the water from the cave. Without it, she could die. When the government gets wind of the substance, Kyle & Brianna have to do their best to outrun them, and hide the lake from them. Brianna's survival may depend on it.

    I thoroughly enjoyed "Wild Child". The author's writing style is breezy and easy to follow. I never doubted the characters or their decisions. My only complaint is that the story felt rushed; I wanted more. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, since a good book always leaves you wanting more. The book is very short (I read it in less than two hours), but it is very enjoyable. I do recommend it to anyone wanting a quick, fun adventure with a totally unexpected ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    great read

    crazy little story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Best

    One of the best books i have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Love itt

    12345678910 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Bad

    Bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    This

    This book was one of the best book i read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Zeus is back kill your friends

    Shut up everyone writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Anoymous

    All u have to say is....... ehh...well its ok but nnot one of my favorites. I would recommend this book for ages +8 and older

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    L

    I truly wish the posters who post these long reviews giving away every detail of the book would stop. I would like to read a book and be surprised but thanks to you vain ego maniacs another book is ruined for me. Simply state if you liked the book or not and stop giving the entire book away. Bn should fine you for doing this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    ????????

    Nooooooooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    ?????????

    Is this book for 11 year olds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Dxtxe

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Interesting.........(O.o)

    I only read a few chapters....it's......interesting.i'll just put it that way....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3