BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wild Fire (John Corey Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I so Love John Corey.....

I love him, glad he is back in this book. This story creeped me out a bit but loved how Corey was able to get out of this one. So glad he is coming back in the Lion 2010. He is the best. I loved Night Fall, this one is a creep out and dangling particple as well. ...
I love him, glad he is back in this book. This story creeped me out a bit but loved how Corey was able to get out of this one. So glad he is coming back in the Lion 2010. He is the best. I loved Night Fall, this one is a creep out and dangling particple as well. Once you get passed the overall purpose of the mission John and Kate come on strong to the finish.

posted by Jilangmartyl23 on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't this offend anybody anymore?

I've read every ND book, and this one has to be the worst ever. I won't even mention the plot, or lack of, the paper thin characters, or FBI agents who make up their own rules, but does ND have to keep saying Sandland, and Cameljokeys so often even when the bad ...
I've read every ND book, and this one has to be the worst ever. I won't even mention the plot, or lack of, the paper thin characters, or FBI agents who make up their own rules, but does ND have to keep saying Sandland, and Cameljokeys so often even when the bad guys are not the ones talking? I'm an American of middle eastern heritage, and while I truly abhor violence of any kind in the name of anything holy, I couldn't help but get offended by this lassie fairez writing to nuking 200 million people, or the derogatory terms that are sprinkled throughout this god awful book!

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    Doesn't this offend anybody anymore?

    I've read every ND book, and this one has to be the worst ever. I won't even mention the plot, or lack of, the paper thin characters, or FBI agents who make up their own rules, but does ND have to keep saying Sandland, and Cameljokeys so often even when the bad guys are not the ones talking? I'm an American of middle eastern heritage, and while I truly abhor violence of any kind in the name of anything holy, I couldn't help but get offended by this lassie fairez writing to nuking 200 million people, or the derogatory terms that are sprinkled throughout this god awful book!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I so Love John Corey.....

    I love him, glad he is back in this book. This story creeped me out a bit but loved how Corey was able to get out of this one. So glad he is coming back in the Lion 2010. He is the best. I loved Night Fall, this one is a creep out and dangling particple as well. Once you get passed the overall purpose of the mission John and Kate come on strong to the finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nicely Read

    A real nice reading of a good Nelson Demille novel. Wild Fire is an interesting plot on the heels of Sept 11. Scott Brink is one of the best in audio books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    A disappointment

    This book was further proof that no author can get it right every time. While I am a huge fan of Mr. DeMille's books, this one is just not in the same league as his earlier Gold Coast, Charm School, Up Country, Word of Honor, or even Night Fall. A far-fetched plot, bordering once again on paranoia. Not the meaty, introspective thriller we've come to anticipate and savor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Wishfull Thinking

    Great book and a good read, I only wish Bain Madox's plan had succeeded. I hope that a plan like Wilfire is real. If you don't know what I am talking about, read the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    A great book!

    The story was nonstop action, which was great-no dull moments, plus I loved Corey's wit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    R.I.P. John Corey

    Reminds me of when Willie Mays played one too many games, and in hindsight, should have quit while he was on top. I have enjoyed many of DeMille's titles, but, DeMille should have moth balled Corey after Night Fall very disappointing effort by DeMille.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It is GREAT !!!!!!

    This was the first Nelsom DeMille book that I have read and I highly reccomend it!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    Starts Strong then fades

    I thought the main character was very insightful and witty. I appreciated his humor. The story started out very good but then tended to fade to mediocre towards the end of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have read.

    What a great book. I really enjoyed the writing style of Mr. DeMille. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you like the show "24" you will love "Wild Fire"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Come on guys

    Everyone has been soooo hard on poor John Corey..give it a rest and just enjoy a good read already!! Yes he's a wise-ass and more than a bit obnoxious, but Mr. DeMille has always infused him with plenty of heart to balance that out, and his fight for 'good' is never in questions. Sit down, shut up, quit nit-picking and enjoy a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    Wild Fire by Nelson DeMille, feature's John Corey, an ex-NYPD detective and a member of the Federal Anti-Terrorist Task Force who makes his fourth appearance in a DeMille novel. In Wild Fire, a fellow agent is found dead while on a surveillance mission, John Corey and FBI agent Kate Mayfield (his wife,) travel to New York to investigate the suspicious Custer Hill Gun Club. But shortly after arriving stories become conflicting when they meet the brilliantly insane Bain Madox, a Vietnam veteran and owner of the gun club. Bain Madox has a grandiose solution to put an end to the conflicts tearing the Middle East asunder. Corey and Mayfield must stay alive long enough to prevent this diabolical nuclear scheme -- which will launch the world into utter chaos! Will this stiffed-lip, obnoxious duo thwart this madman's schemes? Or, has John Corey made his final joke in the face of danger? Nelson DeMille is a member of The Authors Guild, the Mystery Writers of America, and American Mensa--and with Wild Fire, Demille proves that after fourteen novels he is still able to write a worthwhile and suspenseful detective thriller in which the heroes dispense justice in an ambiguous world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read all of DeMille books but this one is not to the usual caliber in any way. Dialogue is boring, the character is unpleasant, the plot is minimal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    pretty scary

    This was my first DeMille book and I loved it....however, it really does make you stop and think. I enjoy John Corey's character and will have to read more of DeMille. It was a good suspense and Corey's saracastic sense of humor make a very dark situation not so edgy. I'll definitely read more of DeMille's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    I'm in love

    I'm a big fan of Mr. Demille, I love everything he's written. You must understand, the story line of most of his books are pretty intense. If you are looking for light reading, his books are not the ones for you. I especially love the stories with John Corey....he's just so my kind of guy! Thanks Mr. Demille, for another great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Small scope.

    This was the first DeMille book that I have read, and I was not impressed. Initially, the vision of the book was fantastic with a great set up, but then it failed to progress anywhere. It became extremely disappointing when he destroyed any possibility of a revelation or twist. Instead, but book simply reduced to a couple driving around until they confront the villain. Disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Just doesn't work

    I have read all of Nelson Demille's work and have consider him a great contemporary author. This book is centered on John Corey and his usually humorous and likeable smartass attitude - but in this case the card is overplayed. The dialog becomes unrealistic and the essence of the character does not emerge. The book is not only plot-driven, it is character-defunct.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    One Book Too Far

    This book is not up to snuff. John Corey comes off as immature and tedious rather than astute and wise-cracking. The premise was ludicrous and the book was boring, never really getting to the point. Very disappointing from this, sometimes good, author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Why couldn't they have given me the new Chrichton book?

    I received multiple copies of this book for Christmas, so I felt compelled to read it. The premise of the story intrigued me. However, the hours I spent reading the book were a complete waste. The plot was utterly predictable I really didn't need to read the second half of the book to know the ending. The characters were shallow and uninteresting (and racist). Some of the jokes were funny, but many more were forced attempts at humor. The only 'tech' twist to the book was pretty lame, especialy in comparison to what Tom Clancy and Michael Chrichton produce. My expectations for a Christmas break novel are not high--I just want to be entertained! (after all, I don't need to tax my brain during vacation). However, this book failed to interest me on any level. I can't believe critics and bookstores are pushing so hard for this book. Hype and solid marketing, not quality of writing, will ensure the success of this novel. This is the first DeMille book I have read, and it will be the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FAST PACED ACTION AND HIGH OCTANE DIALOGUE

    Dubbed a Golden Voice by AudioFile Magazine Scott Brick reads both the Abridged and Unabridged editions of Nelson DeMille's latest mesmerizing thriller. The winner of a Science Fiction Audie and a handful of Earphone Awards, Brick is well suited to bring this chilling tale to life. His narrative style is understated, allowing the words to make an impact and that they surely do in DeMille's too-close-to-reality Wild Fire. Popular protagonist John Corey returns to confront a mad man and a heinous scheme that would take the lives of millions. Corey's a former NYPD officer who now works in anti-terrorism. That's terrorism with a capital T as supposedly super patriotic, all-American, millionaire Bain Madox has come up with a scheme that would have the U.S. launching a mega nuclear attack on the world. But, try to prove it. Initially, Anti-Terrorism Task Force (ATTF) agent Harry Muller is sent to investigate what is happening at the Custer Hill Club, an all too private hunting and fishing lodge which is actually a meeting place for a group of very powerful men who harbor some pretty sick thoughts. When Muller is found dead Corey and his wife, FBI agent Kate Mayfield, head for the same territory. As he did with Night Fall (2004) DeMille offers another heart stopping thriller featuring the inimitable Corey. Fast paced dialogue and high octane action - enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10