BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wild Fire (John Corey Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I so Love John Corey.....

I love him, glad he is back in this book. This story creeped me out a bit but loved how Corey was able to get out of this one. So glad he is coming back in the Lion 2010. He is the best. I loved Night Fall, this one is a creep out and dangling particple as well. ...
I love him, glad he is back in this book. This story creeped me out a bit but loved how Corey was able to get out of this one. So glad he is coming back in the Lion 2010. He is the best. I loved Night Fall, this one is a creep out and dangling particple as well. Once you get passed the overall purpose of the mission John and Kate come on strong to the finish.

posted by Jilangmartyl23 on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Doesn't this offend anybody anymore?

I've read every ND book, and this one has to be the worst ever. I won't even mention the plot, or lack of, the paper thin characters, or FBI agents who make up their own rules, but does ND have to keep saying Sandland, and Cameljokeys so often even when the bad ...
I've read every ND book, and this one has to be the worst ever. I won't even mention the plot, or lack of, the paper thin characters, or FBI agents who make up their own rules, but does ND have to keep saying Sandland, and Cameljokeys so often even when the bad guys are not the ones talking? I'm an American of middle eastern heritage, and while I truly abhor violence of any kind in the name of anything holy, I couldn't help but get offended by this lassie fairez writing to nuking 200 million people, or the derogatory terms that are sprinkled throughout this god awful book!

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I so Love John Corey.....

    I love him, glad he is back in this book. This story creeped me out a bit but loved how Corey was able to get out of this one. So glad he is coming back in the Lion 2010. He is the best. I loved Night Fall, this one is a creep out and dangling particple as well. Once you get passed the overall purpose of the mission John and Kate come on strong to the finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Wishfull Thinking

    Great book and a good read, I only wish Bain Madox's plan had succeeded. I hope that a plan like Wilfire is real. If you don't know what I am talking about, read the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    A great book!

    The story was nonstop action, which was great-no dull moments, plus I loved Corey's wit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It is GREAT !!!!!!

    This was the first Nelsom DeMille book that I have read and I highly reccomend it!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have read.

    What a great book. I really enjoyed the writing style of Mr. DeMille. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you like the show "24" you will love "Wild Fire"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Come on guys

    Everyone has been soooo hard on poor John Corey..give it a rest and just enjoy a good read already!! Yes he's a wise-ass and more than a bit obnoxious, but Mr. DeMille has always infused him with plenty of heart to balance that out, and his fight for 'good' is never in questions. Sit down, shut up, quit nit-picking and enjoy a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    I'm in love

    I'm a big fan of Mr. Demille, I love everything he's written. You must understand, the story line of most of his books are pretty intense. If you are looking for light reading, his books are not the ones for you. I especially love the stories with John Corey....he's just so my kind of guy! Thanks Mr. Demille, for another great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FAST PACED ACTION AND HIGH OCTANE DIALOGUE

    Dubbed a Golden Voice by AudioFile Magazine Scott Brick reads both the Abridged and Unabridged editions of Nelson DeMille's latest mesmerizing thriller. The winner of a Science Fiction Audie and a handful of Earphone Awards, Brick is well suited to bring this chilling tale to life. His narrative style is understated, allowing the words to make an impact and that they surely do in DeMille's too-close-to-reality Wild Fire. Popular protagonist John Corey returns to confront a mad man and a heinous scheme that would take the lives of millions. Corey's a former NYPD officer who now works in anti-terrorism. That's terrorism with a capital T as supposedly super patriotic, all-American, millionaire Bain Madox has come up with a scheme that would have the U.S. launching a mega nuclear attack on the world. But, try to prove it. Initially, Anti-Terrorism Task Force (ATTF) agent Harry Muller is sent to investigate what is happening at the Custer Hill Club, an all too private hunting and fishing lodge which is actually a meeting place for a group of very powerful men who harbor some pretty sick thoughts. When Muller is found dead Corey and his wife, FBI agent Kate Mayfield, head for the same territory. As he did with Night Fall (2004) DeMille offers another heart stopping thriller featuring the inimitable Corey. Fast paced dialogue and high octane action - enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Thriller, quick read enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Great Book!

    Just finished reading this book. I couldn't put it down. I have read 3 of the John Corey series and I can't wait to start another one. This character has great sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Loved this one!

    This John Corey novel gives you a lot to contemplate regarding nuclear weapons and capabilities especially now with Iran's accelerating nuclear program and the attacks on the US Embassies in the Middle East. I recently discovered DeMilles' John Corey books and I am slowly making my way through all of them. I love this character! He is irreverent, immature, abrasive and so very funny! I catch myself laughing out loud while reading this series of Corey novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Excellent book, technically accurate, keeps you wanting to read

    Excellent book, technically accurate, keeps you wanting to read more and can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    I read all the John Corey books. I loved them all. This book was excellent. I had a hard time putting this book down. I liked the plot and I like John Corey. I would recomment this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    A very entertaining read.

    I love the wit and humor mix, an easy and engaging book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wild Fire

    What a fantastic book. Once again, another book that I couldn't put down. Neson Demille is such a great Murder/Mystery writer. The story, plot and his sense of humor makes it a pleasure to read this book. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is awesome as all of Demille's books are. It kept me up way past my bedtime. Every time I seen it laying on my dresser in my room or even thought about it I had to pick it up and start reading it. Read it in three days and i have a pretty busy life. Excelent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    A great 'listen'!

    I listened to 'Wild Fire' on CD, which is read by Scott Brick. Nelson DeMille is a captivating writer, sensitive to the needs of his readers, as well as his characters. He has a wonderful talent of mixing drama with a bit of humor even in the most serious of situations. Also, Scott Brick is a talented reader, who appears to really enjoy reading DeMille's work. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Worth the wait!!

    It is always absolutely dire to turn the last page on a Nelson DeMille book, simply because you know that when the last word has been read ... the wait begins for his next one. I highly recommend ALL of Nelson DeMille's books and Wild Fire is no exception. Just reading the author's note at the beginning of Wild Fire, makes your hair stand up and eager to turn the first page. His writing style bursts into a fireball of intelligence, sarcasm, fear, adventure, love, friendship, wit etc ... all of which make for a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Scary Possbility

    I have enjoyed all of Nelson De Mille's books and 'Wildfire' is no exception.The premise of the story may seem farfetched but I read the Author's Note before starting the book and it seems like a scary possibility.John Corey ATTF and Kate Mayfield FBI agent make a terrific team!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    even more than I expected

    A great read for John Corey fans. I simply could not put this book down! Okay, I agree, it's a bit unrealistic, but it's FICTION, right? Yes, Corey is shown as a superman, but why not? Don't we need one sometimes? I just wonder, what's coming up next? I can't wait to find out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4