Customer Reviews for

Wild Invitation: A Psy-Changeling Collection

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. The first two short stories are exactly the same as wr

Loved it. The first two short stories are exactly the same as written before in other books. The last two are new, the story of Grace and Cooper was good. I think the best was the story of Walker and his mate, it told a reader more of his past . Then again I might be a ...
Loved it. The first two short stories are exactly the same as written before in other books. The last two are new, the story of Grace and Cooper was good. I think the best was the story of Walker and his mate, it told a reader more of his past . Then again I might be a Walker fan regardless i like this story best. Left me wanting the next book in series that doesnt come out until june, oh well..

posted by Travin on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish it was complete

I bought this for 7.99 expecting to have several small stories in it. It only had lara and walker in it. Since the others are being plublished later i wouldn't buy it. I hate that i wasted the money.

posted by 7659254 on October 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A win in every way possible, Wild Invitation made me oh so happy as both a fan and a bibliophile with limited shelf space.

    When I heard about this anthology I was thrilled; not only because anything Ms. Singh writes is sure to be fabulous but also because the first two stories put forth in this volume were two I absolutely adored. So not only was I going to get two brand new stories in a series I love, but a more user-friendly (and portable) version of two stories already at home in my heart. Beat of Temptation, which was originally published in the anthology An Enchanted Season, takes a step in to the past of the DarkRiver Pack, picking up just after the tragedy that scared Lucas and gives us a birds-eye view of the evolution of this dynamic group through the eyes of the then young healer Tasmsyn and her stubborn sentinel and future mate Nathan. I won’t lie, this story makes me cry every single time I read it. As much as it is fan service in giving a glimpse into the past of one of our beloved Packs and how it came to become the force it is, this is also a well written and poignantly told tale of love, growth and what it means to be together. Stroke of Enticement, originally published in the anthology The Magic Christmas Cat, is pure fun in story format. This story takes the world of the Psy-Changeling and the DarkRiver Pack and explores the fringes, away from some of the heavier stresses and plot-points of the main story-line. Annie, a physically damaged school teacher who teaches many of the children from the DarkRiver Pack, and Zach a park ranger with a full complement of alpha-changeling traits who has finally met his mate, bring to life a relationship that sparkles while exploring the concepts of how the past can affect the future and in Ms. Singh’s genius also expands and deepens the knowledge and dynamics of this universe. Declaration of Courtship, one of the two new stories written for this anthology, gives us the tale of Cooper and Grace, a sentinel who takes alpha to the extreme and the submissive tech who finds the courage to tangle with the beast. I enjoyed this story for the dynamic it created, boldly painting the fact that sometimes courage and strength come in forms you would not expect. While reading about two strong leads is an enjoyable journey I felt that the trip taken by Cooper and Grace transcended mere personal strength and explored the concept of what it can mean to love and realize that it is both our strengths and our weaknesses that sometimes make us right for another. Texture of Intimacy expanded on Walker and Laura’s story, introduced in Kiss of Snow, and took it farther to better understand both their relationship and the overall history of the Lauren family and its integration into the SnowDancer Pack, both what they had experienced in the past and the difference from the future they fought for and gained among the wolves. I truly enjoyed reading more about Walker and Lauren, not to mention Marlee and Toby, and how they were able to take their happy ending and forge from it a strong family that knows the future may not always be easy, but that they will always be in it together. I am not sure how this story would hold-up without having read the Psy-Changeling series as it gains much of its depth from already knowing and appreciating the characters, however as an additive to the SnowDancer Pack story is did very well. I would also like to note that it is probably best read after Kiss of Snow but before Tangle of Need to gain the smoothest transition in story progression, even if it was published after

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “WILD INVITATION is a must read for followers of the series, full of Ms. Singh’s signature sexual tension.” ~Under the Covers

    I am one of those rare people that, although I’ve read everything that Nalini Singh has written, I didn’t jump on all the short stories that were available. So getting this book for me was a treat because they were ALL new stories. However, if you’ve followed Nalini’s writing to a tee, then you’ll only really get two new stories. That being said, this was a fast read for me, devouring this complete book in a day. It was wonderful to be part of the Psy-Changeling book again and it captivated me as usual. WILD INVITATION is a must read for followers of the series, full of Ms. Singh’s signature sexual tension.

    Beat of Temptation – 5 stars

    This is one of those stories that you just have to love. We all know Tammy and Nate, they’ve been mated since we’ve known them in book one of the series. Tammy is the healer in current day Psy-Changeling time. But it was very sweet to go back and see how they ended up together. Nate is older than Tammy by 10 years and this story takes place when Tammy is 19. They’ve known they were mates for a while but Nate has stayed away thinking that she’s too young and deserves to have freedom to live her life before being tied down by the mating bond. This is rooted into him because of his own parents issues. This story is charged with sexual tension in typical Nalini Singh style.

    Stroke of Enticement – 5 stars

    Zach Quinn is quite simply the perfect man. Well, that is because he’s a leopard too. See I have a thing for leopards, and this one is sexy as hell, with a great sense of humor, a total flirt that can melt your panties away. Deliciously possessive and an understanding alpha male, if there is one. But enough about Zach. His mate is Annie, she’s a human teacher and he meets her when he goes to pick up his nephew from school. He recognizes his mate immediately, but she’s human and he has to charm her and win her over, woe her. And wooing he did. They were a great couple and another sexy feline shifter to read about.

    Declaration of Courtship – 4 stars

    The sweet story, because there has to be one. Grace and Cooper are both wolves in the SnowDancer pack, but Grace is submissive and Cooper is extremely alpha. That makes for a skittish courtship that Grace doesn’t understand and that scares her. Cooper has to take baby steps and slowly win Grace over, so that she understands that they can work together even though there’s such a gap in dominance. Full of chemistry and sexual tension, DECLARATION OF COURTSHIP was a great addition to the series!

    “You don’t mind teeth, do you, Grace?”

    Texture of Intimacy – 4 stars

    Lara and Walker are some of my favorite characters. Lara is the healer of the SnowDancer pack and Walker is psy. Their mate bond happened in KISS OF SNOW but Ms. Singh takes us one step further from that in TEXTURE OF INTIMACY. After a mating, it doesn’t all have to be roses and Lara and Walker are still struggling on how to be happily mated. Walker has a lot of his own issues from his psy conditioning and how he’s dealing with showing emotions. But he’s one dark and brooding, sexy and understated alpha male. I loved getting to know him better in this story.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I remember reading Nalini Singh's first Psy-changeling thinking the genre was off my beaten path and hard to get into. Now, I am a complete fan. I think she creates fantastic worlds, honest characters and stories that are compelling. This is a great anthology of short stories to read while waiting for the June release of her latest book... and a good way to test out and see if the genre is for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Loved it. The first two short stories are exactly the same as wr

    Loved it. The first two short stories are exactly the same as written before in other books. The last two are new, the story of Grace and Cooper was good. I think the best was the story of Walker and his mate, it told a reader more of his past . Then again I might be a Walker fan regardless i like this story best. Left me wanting the next book in series that doesnt come out until june, oh well..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    BUY IT!

    I absolutely love this series. I finally did not have to stay up all night because I couldn't put the book down. I could stop in between the stories, and I still felt as statisfied as if I read a whole book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Recommend

    Even though two of the stories are re-releases it was a pleasure to read them again. The new stories did not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved it, can't wait for more

    Nice catching up with first two stories, which are in another anthology. Loved the last two stories, introducing new characters and seeing the relationship develope between two favorites. Can't wait for the new book in June and to see the changes coming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Awesome!

    If you enjoy Nalini's Psy-changling series you'll love this. 4 great short stories. Can't wait for more of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Not complete

    Only got one story, the one with Cooper abd Grace. Not worth $7.99 for 123 pages. Bummed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Wish it was complete

    I bought this for 7.99 expecting to have several small stories in it. It only had lara and walker in it. Since the others are being plublished later i wouldn't buy it. I hate that i wasted the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Loved each and every one.

    Wild Invitation is a collection of four novella's by one of my vary favorite authors, Nalini Singh.
    In each novella, Ms. Singh has given us the story of one or more of her very special supporting cast in the Psy/Changling world. Each story was as well written as any of her full length novels, and brought the Changling worlds of the SnowDancer and DarkRiver to life. The complex societies are more enjoyable with each and every novel. I can't wait to read book twelve, Heart of Obsidian which Ms. Singh says will be a pivotal story in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Loved it, great story. I will absolutely try more of her books.

    Loved it, great story. I will absolutely try more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Only one story!

    I paid the full 7.99 and only got the one story about Cooper and Grace. This is ridiculous. Please fix it!!!!

    The story its self is really good but the incomplete book is very frustrating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Not a Collection as promised

    Only one story was received and a preview of the next book. This book was not several short stories. I felt cheated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    I bought the book and it did have four stories, but three of the stories disappeared. How can i get those stories back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Four entertaining stories from the world of the psy-changelings

    The four stories are sweet, entertaining, and easy to read. No dramatic conflicts to overcome, just simple stories about glimpses into the world of the psy-changelings. Not something to be missed if you have been following the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Sparrow

    A sparrow sits in a tree, scannng the area.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great book!!

    I wish the stories were a little longer!! Can't wait until her next book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wild Invitation by Nalini Singh contains 4 novellas, all in the

    Wild Invitation by Nalini Singh contains 4 novellas, all in the Psy-Changling series. Two of these novellas were included in previous anthologies, but two of them are new. If you have not checked out the Psy-Changling series, you are missing a fabulous ride. The series is classified Paranormal Romance, but could easily also be labeled Urban Fantasy. 

    The basic premise of the series is that there are 3 distinct classes of human on earth. Changlings, be they wolf, panther, eagle, deer, swan, etc. Changlings can change from human to their animal. They live in a strict hierarchy made up of a leader at the top, Maternals, Elders, Healers, Soldiers and other similar positions. Everyone is important in the pack or group and everyone works together to keep the pack/group safe.

    There are also a group of humans called Psy. They are all linked into a mental network similar a computer internet system. All Psy have different areas in which they have abilities. Some can Telekinesis or Forecast the future, or even Psychometry. Most all Psy have Telepathy in some small form as they need it to connect to the PsyNet. A protocol called "Silence" was instituted to help the Psy deal with emotions. It taught their children that emotions are bad and to rely on pure logic. 

    The third group are plain regular human. Not as strong as Changlings, not as logical as Psy. The humans have played a very small part in the Psy/Changling series so far. 

    The first story, Beat of Temptation, is from the anthology An Enchanted Season, published in 2007. This story is number 0.5 in the series. This is the story of Tamsyn and Nathan and their mating dance.

    The second story, Stroke of Enticement, is from the anthology The Magical Christmas Cat, published in 2008 and is number 3.5 in the series. In this story, we have the story of Zach, a leopard, and Annie, a human. The story was sweet and gives us a nice perspective on humans mating into the Pack.

    The third novella is Declaration of Courtship, and is number 9.5 in the series. This is the story of Grace, a very submissive leopard and Cooper, a lieutenant and very dominant in the pack. He must walk a fine line to not overpower Grace and give her the time to learn to trust in his love. 

    The last novella is Texture of Intimacy and is number 10.5 in the series. This is the story of Lara, the healer and Walker Lauren. Their story was started in Kiss of Snow and this novella takes us into the minds and hearts of Lara and Walker as they merge their lives together.

    I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads. I know that 2 of these stories are reprints, but I have read and reread them multiple times because they are just so awesome. And now I have 2 more wonderful stories to reread. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Nalini Singh, what can I say? There are not enough words in the human vocabulary to describe her. She writes her stories with an original style. I always, I mean always have to read her books over & over & over, lol. I love all her stories & these short novellas are no exception. Great writing & beautiful love stories.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3