Customer Reviews for

Wild Magic (The Immortals Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I loved it

I loved this book. I cannot get enough of it. I think its amazing. I can't find the exact words to describe it. I loved the entire series. I felt as if I was Diane during the book and I could relate to her.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought but I liked it for a quick and easy read.

I liked the idea of the book. I didn't know it was for a younger crowd so that threw me off a little bit. Other than the fact that it was written from a 13 year olds perspective I thought it was fun. It had a nice adventure and some new ideas that I hadn't really read...
I liked the idea of the book. I didn't know it was for a younger crowd so that threw me off a little bit. Other than the fact that it was written from a 13 year olds perspective I thought it was fun. It had a nice adventure and some new ideas that I hadn't really read in any other stories. I wouldn't want to give to much away so I will just leave it at that. It was not a waste of time because I did enjoy it once I came to terms with the fact that I was reading a kids book.

posted by amber26 on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    One of my favorite books - formatting is off, though

    This is one of my favorite books by one of my favorite authors. Tamora Pierce writes strong, intelligent female protagonists, without delving into either "Xena-like warrior princess" or "pretty noble lady" extremes for any of her characters. Her stories are imaginative, well thought out, and VERY well-written.

    I'm glad, though, that I've read this book several times in hard copy before reading it on the Nook; there are numerous formatting problems throughout not only this book, but Pierce's first series, The Song of the Lioness. If this had been my first time reading Pierce's works, I might have been very put off the the lack of formatting, thinking it was a bad author (when, in fact, it appears to be an ebook formatting error).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    GLAD TO SEE THIS SERIES, BUT WHERE IS THE REST OF IT?

    I have loved this series, and the Lioness Rampant quartet, since I was a kid. I was so excited to find it for my nook! I am mildly disappointed with the transcription errors however. Misspellings EVERYWHERE, poor punctuation, etc. In addition to that, only the first and the fourth book in the series are available!!!! This is incredibly frustrating. Good reviews for Pierce, B&N, you need a little work on you nook files.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Animals and magic

    I guess I am a late-comer to Pierce's writing and I started with one of her newer books- Terrier. Then I read the Alannah series before reading the Wild Magic series. I am now a huge fan of this author! She writes powerful female characters and I like the treatment of magic in all of her books. I enjoyed Wild Magic because of the animals, but this series doesn't have the power of the Alannah series. That said, Daine's pony is one of the most charming and memorable characters in any of the books I have read so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Over all pretty good

    You were always geussing what was gooding to happen next
    pretty good but in no way in the ranks if Harry Potter and twilight

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    Great Book, Light reading

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the first of Tamora Pierce's book's I've read but I've been looking at all of them lately and I immediately noticed that all of her books are intertwined. Daine is a loveable girl and you want her succeed. I hope to see more of her through the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Awesome series

    This series comes after the Song Of The Lioness series. I absolutely loved the first series so I knew I had to continue on. So far I find the first series far better but this one is still interesting. Tamora Pierce is a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    TYPOS?

    As an adult, I still greatly enjoy the series, but who ever translated the book from print to digital made innumerable typos. It's distracting, but still worth a read. I would suggest reading the first series before reading this one for the sake of clarity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Fast paced and well written.

    I couldn't wait until I finished the book to see what was going to happen. Now I can hardly wait to read the 'Wolf Speaker' which takes up where this left off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Wild Magic

    Ever since my mom picked up Wild Magic at the used book store, I cannot get enough of this series and others by Tamora Pierce. I highly recommend The Immortals Series #1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    tamora pierce is the best!!!

    i have to say that this is ofically one of the best series ever and i think that tamora pierce is the best writer ever. All her boks should be on your must read list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Not my favorite but read the series.

    I guess the only reason I didn't rate it with five stars was because this was not the first of the series I read. Before I knew it was a quartet I read the emperor mage. When I realized it was a quartet I read this book next. It is my third favorite of the series but still very very good. It really pulls you in for the whole series but stops at a point that I wished it hadn't! I would like to have AT LEAST one more book in the series to explain things better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    100% book worm

    I thought this book was relly great but I liked all of Tamora Pierce other books better especially street magic and tris' book. I think everyone should get a chance to read these great books so tell the world about them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    I know it was good, but...

    I would have liked this book a lot better if Thayet and Jon weren't married and Alanna and George weren't married! Alanna and Jon needed to end up together, that's how it is in the movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    Pierce Does It Again!!!!!!!!!

    Pierce has created another series where the readers hang on her very words. This book leaves you scratching for more as Daine continues to search the reaches of all of her Wild Magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4