Customer Reviews for

Wild Man Creek (Virgin River Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wild about this book!

For the first time since she graduated college, Jillian Matlock was at a loss about her career. Asked to take a leave of absence by her mentor, the CEO of her company, because of dirty corporate tricks, Jillian ended up in Virgin River to regroup, take some time to thi...
For the first time since she graduated college, Jillian Matlock was at a loss about her career. Asked to take a leave of absence by her mentor, the CEO of her company, because of dirty corporate tricks, Jillian ended up in Virgin River to regroup, take some time to think and reassess her career options. She ends up renting Hope McCrea's Victorian home and resumes the gardening that Hope had so diligently maintained.

Colin Riordan, second oldest of the Riordan brothers, is recuperating from his injuries resulting from a helicopter in-flight accident and a stint in rehab because of his addiction to his pain meds. With the Army having retired him and the rehab on his record, his opportunities to continue flying looked bleak. At the urging of his family, he decided to finish his recuperation in Virgin River, renting a cabin deep in the woods but not one of his brother Luke's. Colin spends his time painting, a talent he's had since he was six.

Jillian and Colin are so likable both individually and as a couple. They don't waste time feeling sorry for themselves but are committed to resurrecting their careers, he not ready to be grounded and she still feeling like her time in the corporate arena isn't over. Their romance just sizzles, both reveling in their "uncommitted" relationship that is a wonder to them both but ultimately poses a challenge as their feelings deepen.

Typical with this series, we meet up again with old friends from Virgin River, including Jack Sheridan who has someone from his past show up unexpectedly. Aiden and Erin plan their wedding as well as Clay and Lilly. Life moves on in this town and this is another opportunity to check in and see what's new with the residents. The magic of the series is reflected in this story as yet another of the Riordan clan "bites the dust." This is another gem of an installment in this series.

posted by Ejaygirl on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wild Man Creek

Very enjoyable, love Robyn Carr's Virgin River series, when I finish a book I always say I'm going to miss my friends, but with this series it's a continuation of a very nice town with people I would love to be neighbors with. I give it 5 stars.

posted by Kathy58KB on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wild about this book!

    For the first time since she graduated college, Jillian Matlock was at a loss about her career. Asked to take a leave of absence by her mentor, the CEO of her company, because of dirty corporate tricks, Jillian ended up in Virgin River to regroup, take some time to think and reassess her career options. She ends up renting Hope McCrea's Victorian home and resumes the gardening that Hope had so diligently maintained.

    Colin Riordan, second oldest of the Riordan brothers, is recuperating from his injuries resulting from a helicopter in-flight accident and a stint in rehab because of his addiction to his pain meds. With the Army having retired him and the rehab on his record, his opportunities to continue flying looked bleak. At the urging of his family, he decided to finish his recuperation in Virgin River, renting a cabin deep in the woods but not one of his brother Luke's. Colin spends his time painting, a talent he's had since he was six.

    Jillian and Colin are so likable both individually and as a couple. They don't waste time feeling sorry for themselves but are committed to resurrecting their careers, he not ready to be grounded and she still feeling like her time in the corporate arena isn't over. Their romance just sizzles, both reveling in their "uncommitted" relationship that is a wonder to them both but ultimately poses a challenge as their feelings deepen.

    Typical with this series, we meet up again with old friends from Virgin River, including Jack Sheridan who has someone from his past show up unexpectedly. Aiden and Erin plan their wedding as well as Clay and Lilly. Life moves on in this town and this is another opportunity to check in and see what's new with the residents. The magic of the series is reflected in this story as yet another of the Riordan clan "bites the dust." This is another gem of an installment in this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Check out all of the series...

    I love the Virgin River series. This is a good book but i recomend to start with #1 and read them all, they are a good series....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Robyn Carr continues to get it right.

    I love the whole Virgin River Series.
    Great love story about another Riordan brother fighting to not get caught by love. But he meets his match when he stumbles across Lilly,a women trying to handle a big life change just as he is trying to do the same. A couple of parts really tugged at the heart strings and one actually made me cry, but cant say why or it would ruin the surprise.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Recommended

    Love her stories. Not the sex but the rest is interesting about the new people in town. Love how everyone helps any who needs help. Wish it was like that in real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great

    wild man creek by robyn carr
    She is on leave for several months when her, what she thought boyfriend. files a sexual harassment suit against her. Her boss knows she is not to blame at all and suggests the months off til the company can get rid of him.
    Jillian heads to Virgin River and stays at a local place where the building belongs to the town, it was gifted to the town for all to enjoy. She really enjoys playing in the dirt and brings life back to the garden.

    Denny helps her with the fencing and bulbs and grading of the ground.
    She gets permission to expand and is planning on having greenhouses to start plants during the winter months, and exotic fruit and vegetables that she can then sell to the best restaurants in big cities.
    He now has tracked down his real father and they hook up and make a date to get to know one another and to have a paternity test.

    She meets Colin in the pastures and he patches her up as he had drawn his gun on her, knowing the local bears are roaming around.
    Colin is a painter, mostly rare animals and birds from photos he's taken or by viewing them firsthand.

    The book also brings us uptodate with the other locals and how they mingle with Jillian and Dan's lifes.
    Colin's life in the military is now a thing of the past, he can no longer fly. He tells Jillian all about his rehab and the drug addiction and all the problems.

    I love the down to earthness of this book: someone saved up and gave her egg cartons to use to start her plants in the greenhouses. I use the same thing when I start my garden plants in the house in Feb/March.
    She still refuses to tell him why she no longer has a boyfriend.

    Luke talks him into watching the baby so he and his wife can have a night out.
    Colin brings Jillian with him and Luke doubts what's going on with him. Shelby tries to reassure him.

    She opens up to him and explains what happened in her past. They head out to his brothers wedding and the festivities as the house she's been living in is being shown to prospective buyers. The flowers are starting to bloom and she hopes she can buy the house. She wants him to follow his dreams and travel to get the shots he needs.

    Seems a few men are leaving, heading off into their own directions to find what is missing in their lives.
    Love how this book catches up with everybody in Virgin River, can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but not great

    What I enjoyed: I'm not an emotional reader but I cried several times while reading this book. It really stood out to me that in the previous book the hero is considered to be 'emotional' and it's a very sexual book and this book where the hero is considered to be 'outgoing' the book was very emotional. I loved it. I always love it when the characters don't realize where they need to be and screw up horribly. (I do prefer not to see it in person though.) I really enjoyed reading about Jillian's gardening business and how she just toughs up and moves on instead of whining and lamenting.

    What I didn't enjoy: Honestly, this was a terrific book but there were some things that irked me a bit. I love that we keep up with past character and that there is a set-up for the next book but there were times in this book that I got a bit confused and I know who everyone is. There was a LOT going on. This is a series that I do not think it's a good idea to just pick up a book and start reading. I've not yet read the first four and know that sometimes that hinders me from understanding certain aspects of the books and the characters. So, yes, I'd suggest reading this book but only if you've read at least a few books already or if it just doesn't bother you to be a bit lost at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    very good

    This is yet another great job in the Virgin River Series. This series is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed, I cried

    wonderful story as always. This is jillian and colin's story, of course the whole town of Virgin River is there. I love going back to this town, seeing characters i love and meeting new ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Excellent but not as wonderful as the earlier books

    This was very well written and worth the money spent. However, it isn't as well written as the others. it seems as if the author is running out of steam.

    The characters didn't seem to have that seamless mesh in prior books. However it was an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Jillian Matlock and Colin Riordan, both healing from traumatic, life-changing experiences, agree-we're temporary, we're in transition, we're upfront with each other, we're enjoying each. Thus begins a love story that whets the senses and touches the heart, and makes breathtaking memories.

    If you have not been to Virgin River with Robyn Carr, Wild Man Creek is a great book to start with. If you have been there before in her other books, then you will find this book a super addition. Not only does it sweep the reader into the exquisite love story of Jillian and Colin, it also gives the reader a good visit with characters that seem like acquaintances and friends from times past. It's like a special homecoming with lots of humor, love, and strong sense of community. Jack's Bar is still the place to go to find out what's going on and to feel the pulse of Virgin River.

    As Jillian gardens, reviving skills learned from her great-grandmother, she cries for a career she loved and lost, hating the idea she was setup and used.

    She talks to her sister Kelly, the chef, who has always been her confidant, her "rock" through the years. While Jillian has always been impetuous, Kelly is cautious, and steady. They recognize each other's strengths, and nurture them-even if misgivings creep in at times. Kelly gets a shock when she finds Jillian, who likes to compete, perform, win, and did so in the high tech world of Silicon Valley, is diving into gardening with the same fervor with no guarantee she can succeed. When Kelly comes to check things out, she soon relates to the people in Virgin River and sees that Jillian is healing and reaching out for a new way of life.

    Blackhawk helicopter pilot, Colin Riordan, recovering from a near-fatal crash, has no intention of staying in Virgin River but comes there to give his body more time to heal. He paints creating remarkable pictures while he plans his trip to Africa late in the summer. He's going in hopes of getting his old life back. He longs for the wildness, recklessness, and the adrenaline rush. His relationship with his family creates tense sub-scenes from time to time while his relationship with Jillian sends the heart racing.

    Robyn Carr's writing style, smooth and non-intrusive, teases the senses, thrills the heart, and engages the mind with actions that bring out the fears, doubts, hopes, and dreams of the lifelike characters. Her vibrant characters make Wild Man Creeks throb with life. She pulls the reader into the unique community of Virgin River with humor, home-truths, down-to-earth attitudes, and most of all with the incredible love story that captivates and lets the reader share a special slice of time with the population of Virgin River.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    NOT AS GOOD AS OTHERS

    I have read all the Virgin River books and I loved them but this one I found boring. Maybe because around 300 pages were about gardening. Hope the next one is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Passions that Really Matter!

    Public relations expert, Jillian Matlock, travels to Virgin River in Northern California, forced to leave her job because of a sexual harrassment charge. Nothing could be further from the truth, but Jillian decides this is the time to follow a new dream, one that is slowly evolving and with which she is becoming more and more excited. She's smart, sassy, and unafraid to try anything. At least she is until she meets Colin Riordan.

    Colin is a wounded warrior, a former pilot blown out of the sky in a Black Hawk helicopter who has been through the mill physically, mentally, and emotionally. But all of a sudden, he's initially intrigued first and then slowly attracted toward this go-getter lady who begins to move him beyond his hobby of painting natural wildlife scenes for his own peace. The story doesn't stay in a stereotypical pattern at all and continues to thrill the reader with subplots that are offbeat, original, and engaging on every page.

    Gardening, fine food, new discoveries, traveling abroad, and so much more endear and challenge Jillian, Colin, families and others!!

    Love is complicated yet really simple, when all is said and done.

    Very nicely done novel, Robyn Carr!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Wild Man Creek

    Very enjoyable, love Robyn Carr's Virgin River series, when I finish a book I always say I'm going to miss my friends, but with this series it's a continuation of a very nice town with people I would love to be neighbors with. I give it 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    not bad

    Not a bad read, but not the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I have read all of the VirginRiver booksThe characters continue to touch my heart. Robyn, is my favorite Author and the book just proved to me even more why she is!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    why is ebook release date diffrent?

    great book good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is Love enough, meet this couple and find out in your next MUST READ

    Colin Riordan loved being in the wild blue yonder until one day it all came literally crashing and burning around him over him and through him. It's taken months of intense therapy and a scrape with illegal possession but he's on the right track. Jillian Matlock has had few certainties in her life and one of them had been her career, but add one unscrupulous man and the world as Jill's known it ceases to exist. Together Jill and Colin find what neither ever thought they would, the question is, are they smart enough to hold on to it and keep it.
    Ms. Carr extends our Virgin River family with the addition of Jill and Colin who both have ties to the community some stronger than others. In this episode in her continuing series she doesn't give us natural disaster, or crime to chew on. No she gets right to the heart of the matter, she gives us a couple who experience the once in a lifetime "grand passion" we all read about and then goes about seeing if they're smart enough to recognize and grow it. So it's the epic story of boy meets girl but can he keep her and vice versa. I have to admit that so far these are my favorite hero and heroine in her series, why, because the challenges facing them are something that every one of us could easily face, there's no big time disaster looming making them closer, it's just plain old life that gets in the way. And she does it with such compassion and grace that her readers can't help but fall in love with the characters and feel the pull when they fall and the heat when they love. She let's us catch up on the former goings on in her beloved Virgin River so as not to leave anyone out and she brings us a side story that's been percolating for a few novels between Jack and Denny, but I won't give any of that away. Her romance is sensual, earthy, and heady and her love scenes will put the flame under the coldest of hearts.
    So enjoy the trip back to Virgin River, catch up with old friends and meet new ones. Fall in love with the characters as they fall in love with each other. Experience the small town problems and solutions that our residents come up with. As someone relatively new to Virgin River I think you can read this as a stand a lone, but I for one am going back to the beginning to experience it all from the start and I know then I'll make heads and tails out of what I missed. And I suggest that for you as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Virgin River romance focuses on love as a major healer

    The helicopter crash left Colin Riordan severely injured. While his body heals, he paints wildlife scenes to help his mind mend too. Seeking inspiration he wanders onto property rented by public relations expert Jillian Matlock, who is also healing but her pain is from a broken heart and a probable second order effect of a broken career. To heal, she is working a garden.

    Jillian and Colin are attracted to each other and agree to a tryst while they heal in Virgin River. Once either returns to their previous world, the affair is over. However, as they spend time together each learns the answer to How To Mend a Broken Heart (Bee Gees) is love that could let them live again if they take a chance.

    The latest Virgin River romance focuses on love as a major healer, a theme used in previous series tales like Whispering Rock. The entertaining straight forward story line contains two likable leads needing emotional and mental recovery from recent trauma. The census aside, seemingly the fastest growing area in the country, Wild Man Creek is a fine tale that Robyn Carr's Virgin River readers will enjoy.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    #14 Virgin River series, read all 20 in this series

    #14 Virgin River series, read all 20 in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Hazelfur

    Oh alright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15