Customer Reviews for

Wild Orchid: A Retelling of the Ballad of Mulan (Once Upon a Time Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

Mulan's mother died during labor. Her father, a great General in the army, was heartbroken. He's never been home since he heard the news. Thus, Mulan lost both her parents on the same day.

Mulan is not your typical girl. Instead, she climbs trees and despises needlew...
Mulan's mother died during labor. Her father, a great General in the army, was heartbroken. He's never been home since he heard the news. Thus, Mulan lost both her parents on the same day.

Mulan is not your typical girl. Instead, she climbs trees and despises needlework. She meets the boy next door and the two of them form a friendship. He teaches her archery, how to ride a horse, how to use a sword, and, finally, how to read and write.

When her father comes home, everything changes. First, she must learn how to trust and obey him. Second, she must learn how to love him and her new stepmother. Just when she's finally found herself a new family, the Huns appear on the horizon of China. The men are called back to war.

Mulan, unwilling to let her father go with a bad leg and a new family, disguises herself and takes his place instead. Her first day there, she catches the ears of one of the king's sons. He engages her in an archery contest. From then on, Mulan is famous throughout the camp.

With the Huns quickly approaching, all three princes have different ideas on how to defend China. Mulan mistakenly speaks out during a strategizing session. Prince Jian immediately seizes her idea. But will it be enough to save China?

This new ONCE UPON A TIME addition weaves together the wonders of ancient China, a budding romance, a feisty girl, and the true meaning of both friendship and family in a fantastic fairy tale edition.

posted by TeensReadToo on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wait is it over?

I have mixed feelings about this book. The story is good, I loved Mulan as a kid and I still sometimes watch it as a teenager, but I don't think this book does the story justice. The first half of the book is excellent. Dokey spends a good amount of time creating the...
I have mixed feelings about this book. The story is good, I loved Mulan as a kid and I still sometimes watch it as a teenager, but I don't think this book does the story justice. The first half of the book is excellent. Dokey spends a good amount of time creating the characters and explaining the reasons that motivate the characters. However, for as long as Dokey takes to paint the characters, the climax is inexcusably short. All that happens while Mulan is at war is predictable and boringly cliché. The love story between Mulan and the Prince is grossly underdeveloped and the battle with the Huns (for which the reader has been waiting for about a hundred and fifty pages) takes all of about half a minute to read. And then for some reason the Prince realizes he and Mulan are soul mates, no one complications come of Mulan being discovered or marrying a prince and everybody lives happily ever after the end. Somebody kill me the end was terrible!!! The book was mediocre and had a great deal of wasted potential. If you're looking for a good fairy tale spin read the books I've recommended.

posted by literature_lover45 on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Mulan's mother died during labor. Her father, a great General in the army, was heartbroken. He's never been home since he heard the news. Thus, Mulan lost both her parents on the same day.

    Mulan is not your typical girl. Instead, she climbs trees and despises needlework. She meets the boy next door and the two of them form a friendship. He teaches her archery, how to ride a horse, how to use a sword, and, finally, how to read and write.

    When her father comes home, everything changes. First, she must learn how to trust and obey him. Second, she must learn how to love him and her new stepmother. Just when she's finally found herself a new family, the Huns appear on the horizon of China. The men are called back to war.

    Mulan, unwilling to let her father go with a bad leg and a new family, disguises herself and takes his place instead. Her first day there, she catches the ears of one of the king's sons. He engages her in an archery contest. From then on, Mulan is famous throughout the camp.

    With the Huns quickly approaching, all three princes have different ideas on how to defend China. Mulan mistakenly speaks out during a strategizing session. Prince Jian immediately seizes her idea. But will it be enough to save China?

    This new ONCE UPON A TIME addition weaves together the wonders of ancient China, a budding romance, a feisty girl, and the true meaning of both friendship and family in a fantastic fairy tale edition.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wait is it over?

    I have mixed feelings about this book. The story is good, I loved Mulan as a kid and I still sometimes watch it as a teenager, but I don't think this book does the story justice. The first half of the book is excellent. Dokey spends a good amount of time creating the characters and explaining the reasons that motivate the characters. However, for as long as Dokey takes to paint the characters, the climax is inexcusably short. All that happens while Mulan is at war is predictable and boringly cliché. The love story between Mulan and the Prince is grossly underdeveloped and the battle with the Huns (for which the reader has been waiting for about a hundred and fifty pages) takes all of about half a minute to read. And then for some reason the Prince realizes he and Mulan are soul mates, no one complications come of Mulan being discovered or marrying a prince and everybody lives happily ever after the end. Somebody kill me the end was terrible!!! The book was mediocre and had a great deal of wasted potential. If you're looking for a good fairy tale spin read the books I've recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!

    It was like the movie, and I loved the characters, and the way they talked. It was fast paced, and I couldn't put it down until i finished it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great Read

    I am a huge fan of this series, and this book is by far my favorite. I read it in less than a day, and found it absolutely wonderful! I would recomend it to anyone who has heard about the story of mulan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Fantastic

    This is one of my favorite books. It has wonderful meanings, and I loved it. I recomend this book to anyone who likes fairy tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Anymous

    This book was great i think just b/c im 13 i would say that but really i actually readthe whole series and camerom dokey is really good with her writing so this is a really great book from mulan and the huns to prince jian it was absolutley great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An awesome retelling of Mulan!

    Wild Orchid is a wonderful retelling of Mulan. When I saw this book last year and realized it was a retelling of Mulan I was so excited. Becuase for a long time I always thought that Disney made up the story of Mulan but then I realized that the story of Mulan has been around for thousands of years. I thought the book was very good. The book talks about how Mulan wasn't like ordinary girls she was very tomboyish. The book also talks about how she falls inlove with one of the princes in the army but I won't say anymore. Usually I don't like Cameron Dokey's books but she is getting better. The only thing about the book that could be better is, is that I wish the half the book wouldn't talk about her child hood and just get to the fighting already, other than that this is a good book! For anyone who loves fairy tale retellings should read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Dhdhj

    Dhsjwje

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Merida

    Waved to her. How r u this fime mornin...he brushed anguses nose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    WHITE CASTLE

    A meeting place and home of all princesses and princes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Loved it !!

    A good book for anybody who likes retold fairy tales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    good book

    This was a really good book and i got very attracted to it. It was a lot like the original mulan. They spent a ton of the book on mulans childhood. The only thing i dont like is that the final battle was so short and then it was over. But overall great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Wonderful story! If you like Mulan, you'll love this! The writin

    Wonderful story! If you like Mulan, you'll love this! The writing is simple and almost awkward at first. Before I realized though, it I felt like I was in China listening to Mulan herslef telling me the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is one of the best in the seris. It is eorth every penny. I was so sad when it ended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    great book

    i loved this book it was soo good definitly a book you should read but the only thing is that it was a little slow but definitly worth the wait at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Excellent!

    I loved Wild Orchid it was so awesome! A beautiful retelling I strongly encourage everyone to read it. I also recommend night dance by suzanne weyn violet eyes by debbie viguie scarlet moon by debbie viguie and world above by cameron dokey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Really good!

    I love Mulan and I thougt this was a very good representation of he story. I really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book was o.k. I enjoyed reading it. The begining was excelent I loved reading about Mulan's childhood, but the war and romance was rushed at the end. I was disapointed with the end being rushed. Overall it was an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Loved it

    When i first ordered this book, i wasnt expecting the disney movie because books are always different from the movies
    As i read, i could picture the setting & the characters,
    There were moments were i laughed & cried because believe or not this book taught me different lessons about love, friendship courage & believing whats right for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    one of my favorite Disney Movies and this book tells it anyway b

    one of my favorite Disney Movies and this book tells it anyway but just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5