Customer Reviews for

The Wild Rose

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lives up to the first two!

All I can say is . WOW!! If Tea Rose and Winter Rose were turned up to 11 in terms of drama, emotion, plot twists and unforgettable characters, Wild Rose is turned up to - I don't know - 12? 20?? This absolutely lives up to its predecessors, and then some. It's tied wit...
All I can say is . WOW!! If Tea Rose and Winter Rose were turned up to 11 in terms of drama, emotion, plot twists and unforgettable characters, Wild Rose is turned up to - I don't know - 12? 20?? This absolutely lives up to its predecessors, and then some. It's tied with Winter Rose for my favorite of the three . but everyone has a different favorite for different reasons! I could gush for pages, as this is very fresh on my mind - but I don't want to spoil it. So I'll just cover some of the big, general questions I had while waiting (and waiting . and waiting) for this book. First, everyone is back! Joe and Fiona, Charlie and India, and of course Seamie and Willa (whom the story is centered on). It's like a family reunion! There's a very lovely scene on a happy occasion where Fiona is looking out at (almost all of) her extended family and I must say I had tears in my eyes taking it all in through her perspective. I felt like it was my family, I know them all so well. These characters don't just make an appearance, either - they all have real roles in the plot . which, as you can imagine, is a huge, sprawling story. (I think it's the most complex plot of the three - and that's saying something!) Real history - and real historical figures - are present in a big way. Biggest yet, I think. See if you don't fall in love with Tom Lawrence (THE Tom Lawrence . of Arabia)! The villain is creepy and great. It's hard to top Jack the Ripper for badness, but we get closer to the bad guy in The Wild Rose - and he's a really compelling character. Which makes him even more scary somehow ... There are big plot twists, of course -- as you'd expect (and I won't spoil). Some I saw coming a mile away, some took me completely by surprise. It's an emotional rollercoaster. The love story is very hard won (as usual) - but this one is grittier and maybe a little bittersweet (but no less powerful - their love is deep and intense). There's more emotional weight to their relationship and less of the protagonists just missing each other. They're not perfect; everyone is scarred and flawed. This all occurs amidst the horrors and heartbreak of World War I, and the suffering of that conflict is laid bare. The ending is as lyrical as the others, and knowing I was at the conclusion of such a long and engrossing three-volume story left me feeling like I was saying farewell to a dear old friend. This is the most sequelly of the three - you can read this one first, or even by itself, but I think it's best read after the others in the series. There are so many characters coming back into this one that you'll miss out if you don't know their history. Finally, maybe this is just wishful thinking and I know there are only supposed to be three books in this series. But, see, Joe and Fiona have this beautiful, feisty and ambitious daughter -- and she, it turns out, is a chip off the old block . I have read so many thirds/lasts in a series that were disappointing. I'm very happy to say this isn't one of them. I think Donnelly took the time to do this one right. I guess that's why it took so long! Enjoy this - if you enjoyed the other Rose books, I'm sure you will. And thank you Jennifer Donnelly for this unforgettable, epic tale.

posted by ErinAre on July 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ugh!

I haven't finished reading this last book, and I'm not sure I will as it has become increasingly hard to read. I find Seamie and Willa's character hard to like (nevermind love) and even harder to forgive.

The first two books were definitely better. My recommendation...
I haven't finished reading this last book, and I'm not sure I will as it has become increasingly hard to read. I find Seamie and Willa's character hard to like (nevermind love) and even harder to forgive.

The first two books were definitely better. My recommendation at this point would be to forget about this book altogether, and just read "The Tea Rose" and "The Winter Rose".

posted by iiAMnina on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Lives up to the first two!

    All I can say is . WOW!! If Tea Rose and Winter Rose were turned up to 11 in terms of drama, emotion, plot twists and unforgettable characters, Wild Rose is turned up to - I don't know - 12? 20?? This absolutely lives up to its predecessors, and then some. It's tied with Winter Rose for my favorite of the three . but everyone has a different favorite for different reasons! I could gush for pages, as this is very fresh on my mind - but I don't want to spoil it. So I'll just cover some of the big, general questions I had while waiting (and waiting . and waiting) for this book. First, everyone is back! Joe and Fiona, Charlie and India, and of course Seamie and Willa (whom the story is centered on). It's like a family reunion! There's a very lovely scene on a happy occasion where Fiona is looking out at (almost all of) her extended family and I must say I had tears in my eyes taking it all in through her perspective. I felt like it was my family, I know them all so well. These characters don't just make an appearance, either - they all have real roles in the plot . which, as you can imagine, is a huge, sprawling story. (I think it's the most complex plot of the three - and that's saying something!) Real history - and real historical figures - are present in a big way. Biggest yet, I think. See if you don't fall in love with Tom Lawrence (THE Tom Lawrence . of Arabia)! The villain is creepy and great. It's hard to top Jack the Ripper for badness, but we get closer to the bad guy in The Wild Rose - and he's a really compelling character. Which makes him even more scary somehow ... There are big plot twists, of course -- as you'd expect (and I won't spoil). Some I saw coming a mile away, some took me completely by surprise. It's an emotional rollercoaster. The love story is very hard won (as usual) - but this one is grittier and maybe a little bittersweet (but no less powerful - their love is deep and intense). There's more emotional weight to their relationship and less of the protagonists just missing each other. They're not perfect; everyone is scarred and flawed. This all occurs amidst the horrors and heartbreak of World War I, and the suffering of that conflict is laid bare. The ending is as lyrical as the others, and knowing I was at the conclusion of such a long and engrossing three-volume story left me feeling like I was saying farewell to a dear old friend. This is the most sequelly of the three - you can read this one first, or even by itself, but I think it's best read after the others in the series. There are so many characters coming back into this one that you'll miss out if you don't know their history. Finally, maybe this is just wishful thinking and I know there are only supposed to be three books in this series. But, see, Joe and Fiona have this beautiful, feisty and ambitious daughter -- and she, it turns out, is a chip off the old block . I have read so many thirds/lasts in a series that were disappointing. I'm very happy to say this isn't one of them. I think Donnelly took the time to do this one right. I guess that's why it took so long! Enjoy this - if you enjoyed the other Rose books, I'm sure you will. And thank you Jennifer Donnelly for this unforgettable, epic tale.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Where's the Nook version??

    Love this author! Why isn't a Nook version available for pre-order on this book??

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You Must Read This!

    After reading The Tea Rose and The Winter Rose I had waited patiently for The Wild Rose...it was worth the wait! Jennifer Donnelly has a unique talent for creating characters you either root for or despise...all the while you just can't wait to see what happens next. Reading this book was a true delight and I was so sad when the book ended!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Excellant

    Not quite as good as the first two, but still an excellant read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    ***** Highly Recommended

    Absolutely wonderful end to this trilogy. I stumbled on the Tea Rose in November and immediately read Wild Rose and Winter Rose. There are enough twists and turns throughout to keep you staying up late into the night. At times I was upset with the direction but just when I thought it was going one way she turned the corner and it righted itself... Cannot wait for another book by this author.

    There should be more books like this out there...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great series!!

    I loved this series! Make sure youstart with book one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    A Treasure

    Beautifully written, with well-drawn characters and plot lines. It is definitely not necessary to read the first two novels in the trilogy, but it will make the experience even more enthralling if you do. Donnelly is a gifted writer. Don't miss this wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I could not put this book down, it was so good just like Tea Rose, and Winter Rose. I think Ms. Donnelly is brilliant author. I hope to read more books by her. She is another one of my favourite writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    awesome!

    I loved these 3 books.Ifelt like i was there in London. Vvery well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    please have Nook version available too!

    when will this book be available to read on Nook?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Hello

    Hi anyone bored.. i am

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Mikayla

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Great

    I loved all the Tea Rose Books. This last one wrapped up all the lives of the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Absolutely fantastic. Just finished it and now I'm stuck in the

    Absolutely fantastic. Just finished it and now I'm stuck in the "I don't know what to do with myself" phase after you finish a wonderful book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I'm half way through this book and I just can't put it down!! I will be sad when I finish this. This was a great series that everyone should take the time to read. The details in the books are so livid, it is as if you are there yourself!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Love love love!

    I read all 3 of the Rose books, and after the first one I thought "there is no way the 2nd one will be as good". I thought the same thing about the 3rd after reading the 2nd. They are all wonderful! Even being fairly long books, I read them all within a matter of days, I just couldn't put them down! Highly recommend, and definitely read them in order!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great Trilogy

    The Tea Rose, Winter Rose and Wild Rose are a fantastic trilogy. I highly recommend all three of these books. I didn't want to put them down. They are a long read, but hold your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great!!

    I hope Jennifer Donnelly is working on book #4! Highly recommend
    The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose, and The Wild Rose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I enjoyed this book much more than I thought I would. Sometimes the second book in a series will not compare favorably to the first. Jennifer Donnelly creates wonderful characters for her readers to explore, and book two in this series did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this book down

    I read the 'Tea Rose' first and when I got to the last page.....I was just so hoping that was not the end of Jennifer Donnelly's book and then I found 'Winter Rose' and then 'Wild Rose'. Incredible writing......great story line...wow......read it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3