BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wild Roses

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wild Roses-Hayley

The story, Wild Roses, by Deb Caletti is about a seventeen-year-old girl named Cassie, who struggles with the remarriage of her mother to a cruel and at times insane violinist and composer. He wants almost nothing to do with her until he takes up a violin student about ...
The story, Wild Roses, by Deb Caletti is about a seventeen-year-old girl named Cassie, who struggles with the remarriage of her mother to a cruel and at times insane violinist and composer. He wants almost nothing to do with her until he takes up a violin student about her age named Ian. Her stepfather¿s insanity tries to pull them apart because he thinks their being together could ruin the boy¿s future in getting into a high-class music school. Cassie knows that being with Ian might not be the thing best for her due to her stepfather and Ian¿s chances of leaving in a few months but her love for him is too strong. Deb Caletti made a captivating story filled with love, hate, sadness, and struggle. Showing that even the famous and loved might not be as perfect as they seem. I enjoyed every word in this book and it was hard for me to turn the last page and find that the story had ended. This book will keep you entranced and wanting more.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Too Revolting for Words.

This novel is by far the most excrusiatingly painful thing I've ever set my eyes on. Predictable, shallow, with cliches galore, I should have set this book on fire. I regret ever setting my hands on this book. WILD ROSES is just your average, stereotypical, 'forbidden l...
This novel is by far the most excrusiatingly painful thing I've ever set my eyes on. Predictable, shallow, with cliches galore, I should have set this book on fire. I regret ever setting my hands on this book. WILD ROSES is just your average, stereotypical, 'forbidden love blah blah' crap in the YOUNG ADULT section in book stores. Storyline: ordinary pessimistic girl 'with absolutely nothing special about her, showing no personality but one of a wall throughout the whole book' gets the hot guy, no chemistry at all, makes fun of the cheerleaders and popular kids because she can't be one, 'rebelling' against her parents, mourning her oh-so terrible life, like it was THAT bad - I mean, COME ON. GIVE ME A BREAK. Deb Caletti should be banned from ever letting her terrible novels out into the public. Caletti's corny writing style, absolutely horrid, hatable characters, cheesy storyline, 'already-been-done' plots is killer. WILD ROSES will lead me to my death.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Wild Roses-Hayley

    The story, Wild Roses, by Deb Caletti is about a seventeen-year-old girl named Cassie, who struggles with the remarriage of her mother to a cruel and at times insane violinist and composer. He wants almost nothing to do with her until he takes up a violin student about her age named Ian. Her stepfather¿s insanity tries to pull them apart because he thinks their being together could ruin the boy¿s future in getting into a high-class music school. Cassie knows that being with Ian might not be the thing best for her due to her stepfather and Ian¿s chances of leaving in a few months but her love for him is too strong. Deb Caletti made a captivating story filled with love, hate, sadness, and struggle. Showing that even the famous and loved might not be as perfect as they seem. I enjoyed every word in this book and it was hard for me to turn the last page and find that the story had ended. This book will keep you entranced and wanting more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Not boring!

    This was my fave deb calleti book, i was surprised to see so many negative reviews! I loved the message and it kept me thrilled to the very end. Very interesting, complex characters and unique plot lines! I know that some of calleti,s books get dull or pointless (honey, baby, sweetheart,) but this one didnt have one bad moment for me!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Amazing!!!

    I often exagerate how good books are but when they are this great... I mean it! This was an amazing book, I literally read it, like, 20 times. I mean, who can resist a love story in which the main characters risk pretty much everything to be together? Ok, maybe a lot of people, but not me!!! I seriously loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Very Honest

    The book Wild Roses was great. It shows how powerful insanity is, but how it also can be overcome. I think my favorite part of this book was how throughout, the author gave different real life examples of brilliant people in history who were indeed affected by mental illness. To conclude, Wild Roses was a lovely read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    SPOILER ALERT

    Dino's last name isn't Cavalli, it's Teiro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Amazing!

    This was such a good book! The way it was written was beautiful, and the events, characters, actions, and words all seemed so real and plausiable. The main character was so real, and the author really seemed to know about worries, love, life, and dealing with divorced parents. I loved this book, and there is nothing bad to say about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Screw everyone who...Anyway great book!

    Thinks this book is bad.
    Does not like Deb Calleti.
    Does not like spaghetti.
    Does not read.
    Smells like weed. *wink*that'd be me!(phych-i think)
    Seriously though this book is one of Debs greatest.
    I lov her writting style.
    Ferget about eveyone else who says this book is trash.
    Cuz theyre trash and the y dont know good book
    One that will get ya hoked!!!OOOOOHHHH!
    Im a poet and YOUdisnt know it.
    I already knew it.
    Pay attention!
    Stupid Americans!
    Go frenchies
    Thy make grea panties
    What?
    Who said that!?
    Echo:
    Did somebody die?
    Askin all them questions!
    Laugh if u know the video!
    Im out...
    Dont u talk when im talkin u besta mute it!
    You think im dumb!
    You think im stupid!
    You think i love you i look like Qupid?
    WHAT U PREGNANT? IT AINT MINE!
    GURL I WRAPPED IT UP! DATS HOW I KNOW U LYIN!
    makin satements. Assumin....humph

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Sounds+good.

    I+haven%27t+read+this+book+so+I+guess+my+oppinion+isn%27t+worth+much+but+the+synopsis+reminds+me+a+lot+of+%22If+I+Stay%22+by+Gayle+Forman+which+I+loved%21%21%21+I+am+excited+to+read+this+book+and+think+I+will+enjoy+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    Wow

    This is a beautiful and unforgettable book. The negative reviews are hard to understand, unless the people writing are used to easier reads with less meaning and depth. This isn't for someone wanting cheesy plot, but real emotions and real people. What she says about divorce is so true. The parts about mental illness were so interesting and unusual. (And Ian was hot, ha). I will read this again and again, it's that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Evocative and Well-Written

    Before I bought this book, I read the reviews on this site, so naturally I was nervous (especially given the negative review below mine). However, I thought that this was another one of Deb Caletti's masterpieces. I am not particularly knowledgeable about classical music aside from the cursory information taught in music classes that fulfill the college core, but the way Caletti wrote about it made me want to know more. She wrote about the way the music sounded with such tenderness and evocative imagery that I could almost hear it myself. I loved the characters, and while the romance between Ian and Cassie does develop quickly, it's not cliched-both clearly have flaws and are not 100% honest with each other. They deal with problems in their relationship. Caletti's understanding of what divorce does to families, including the couple, was well written and thought out as well. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I went back and re-read several passages. It's a book that fills you with longing and wonder at parts, pain and sympathy at others. It's a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Wild About Wild Roses

    Excellent book. Made me a fan of Deb Caletti. I already bought two of her other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    Intense and different

    This is not your usual Y/A novel - it was real and unforgettable, and deals with a famous musician stepfather who is losing his mind. Wonderful and well written. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Great Book

    I thought it was a great book. I just kind of randomly picked it out and didnet think it was going to be that good but it was a really good book and books I usally enjoy the most are books like the twilight series. yea I LOVE vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Suspenseful and well-written

    An amazing and descriptive book about a girl whose mother has remarried a musical genius whose losing his mind. Really interesting and unusual - the connection between creativity and madness, mixed with the life of an ordinary girl. One of the best books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    whoa!

    This book really made me think--why do people do what they do? Really, if you are a solid lover of romance and amazingly descriptive text, then I recommend this book. Don't listen to those haters out there, because Deb Caletti brings back the true clandestine in our hearts, no matter how cheesy that sounds. In the beginning, it may be a little dull, but as you go on, it just lures you in more. Just give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of my favorite authors and storys! It is a wonderful book and enjoyable to anyone who wants to curl up on the couch and red for enjoyment!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    omg! this was the most awesome book ever. i play the violin so it was good. i loved the parts when Ian and Cassie got together, it was so real, like you were there. you've inspired me to write my own book. the ending was kinda weird tho, i wish their was more to it. you're so detailed. i wish you would write a sequil to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    5 stars!

    This book is wonderfull and absorbing. To me, the romance of the book was perfect, but it was also more than that. It had depth and hooked me almost instantly. Highly recomened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    Thoughtprovoking

    One of the most unusual young adult novels I've read, and a page turner. I couldn't put it down. From the start, you know something is coming, and the author makes you want to know what. It is so real you can feel what is going on, and she knows about divorce and what it feels like. This is a very different teen book and one that will stay with you forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2