Customer Reviews for

Wild Seed (Patternist Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Haunting and lovely

    Octavia Butler is one of the most amazing authors. This book proved to be amazing as well. Captivating from the first paragraph, Wildseed was full of well developed characters, adventures, history, and wonderful writing. The story sticks in your mind long after it's finished. I'll be reading the sequel, Mind Of My Mind, soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Startling

    The author has an incredible imagination. I do not read horrors, which this isn't yet is, but could not put this down, nor could I put the sequals down. Butler's books are due to be classics if they aren't already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was the most imaginative book I've read in a while. When I

    This was the most imaginative book I've read in a while. When I was explaining some parts to my sister, I really began to realize the depth of Ms. Butler's world. It was our world, but these character existed on a level that most people would never encounter. The main character Anyanwu is so strong and wise and yet a bit naive when it comes to Doro. Butler balances these two characters against each other so well that you can sense the chemistry between them as you read. I was very impressed with the story and the writing. I borrowed it from the library and when I finished, I went and bought myself a copy and recommend it to anyone who reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    This is an amazing book. I had to read it for one of my college english classes.I was skeptical at first, but after the first page I could not put it down.I am so glad it was a requirement. I am going to buy another one of Butler's books!

    About a three-hundred year old African woman named Anyanwu who is found and made to leave her land by a man as powerful as herself. He convinces her by telling her that they are destined to be together and threatening her children. He takes her to a new world very different from her own and she learns his ways. Overtime, she discovers that the only way to survive and save future generations of unborn children is to escape the man who like herself, will never die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fairly quick read....

    A good read, especially in the beginning. Towards the end it seemed a bit less enetertaining and getting through the last few pages wasnt as exciting as I had hoped. The story is somewhat peverse, with its inbreeding and gets even stranger and incestuous as the story unfolds. The book follows history well, and is good at making you think about how some of their societal norms are like/unalike from our own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Origin View

    A very interesting book, written by an Afro-American woman, using all her self to paint an world that hold hope as well as pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    If your not a fan Of Octivia Butler....You will be!

    Octivia Butler never cease to amaze me and I've read mostly all of her books. Wild Seed is the most colorful book of then all and I must admit it me tearfully proud of her. She is the mother of Black Science-fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Absolutely Captivating!!!

    Octavia Butler writes in an amazingly gripping manner. You will be pulled into this book by the end of the second page. It is because of this book that I had to read others by her. Absolutely incredible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    Amazing!!

    Octavia Butlers book,Wild Seed was utterly amazing. The characters and themes captured my interest from the start. I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Mindblowing!

    WOW! She's done it again. Octavia Butler has written another series of incredible pageturners.I loved Anyanwu and Doro.READ THIS BOOK! I guarantee you will not be able to put it down.Palpitations!! Is there such a thing as being addicted to an author?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    If you're not a sci-fi fan, that's okay. . .

    Generally, I do not enjoy science fiction; whether movies or books I usually am not into the genre. However, I thoroughly enjoyed Butler's Wild Seed. The book has something for everyone. . . African American history students, feminists, I-just-need-something-to-read-between-classes-after-school-on-weekends-at-the-beach. . . Highly recommended read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Incredible

    This book was very interesting, symbolic and at the same time funny. i thoroughly enjoyed it and as an African woman, it empowered me because it shows how in tune with nature a person can be. it also shows how powerful we as humans are. everyone should read it at least once in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2