Customer Reviews for

A Wild Sheep Chase

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The worst of Murakami is still better than most.

    The headline pretty much sums it up. I love Murakami so I liked this book. However, in comparison with his other works, I found this one a bit scattered and affected. I wouldn't recommend this book if it's your first Murakami-you might get discouraged; instead, try: Kafka on the Shore, Norwegian Wood, Sputnik Sweetheart (a good starter book), or The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Great ending

    I would recommend this book because it draws you in in the beginning so as you read it gest more and more interesting.I really like the author's style which is very discriptive, that mekes it easy to understand.Overall the sory is not the best but it also teaches you that when you find somethin that gets your attention to hold on to the and which is the best part of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Mystery

    This book was interesting for me, new setting in modern day Japan
    Witty descriptions, thoughtful writing, it held my attention all the way through
    I am hoping to read more from this unusual author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome

    Great read by the master of the surreal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Favorite

    Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great novel

    One of best books I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Excellent!

    Murikam's sense of humor really comes out in this book. I love the dialogue and the visual perspective I get from his books. Makes me wish I could read Japanese so nothing was lost in the translation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    What is all the hype about?

    I was really looking forward to reading this book. As an avid reader I was lured to the promise of suspense and mystery. I could not have been more disappointed. I found the characters boring and lacking depth. Having discussed my thoughts with other readers I was assured it would get better the more I read. I found it actually hard to read due to the fact that I was so bored by the story and lack of dimension to the characters and storyline. Maybe I just don't "get" Murakami's writing style or maybe this book just wasn't what I wanted it to be. Again, I really wanted to like this book but just found it flat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Fantastic

    Love all murakami, this is one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Compelling

    This book is not an easy read. But then which Murakami is? I do believe I have to go back and reread it to understand it better, but it is marvellously written, the story is sad, compelling, the characters, once again, absorbing and the mysticism is not missing either. A great, great read, with a style so magnificent that your heart aches. I love the way Murakami builds up a magical, surreal world, that at the same time seems inexplicably real and tangible. It is so good to read writers who can truly show how their thoughts turn.
    I recommend it to everyone who likes good fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    A Novel Not To Be Forgotten

    The story itself is interesting and unique. The way it's told is beautiful and believe me, you don't want to stop reading once you start it. The thoughts behind everything is profound. Confused between reality and his own imagination, the protagonist either can't or sub-consciously doesn't want to make connection between his own existence and the real world. There is also an obvious lack of his real emotion in his relationships with his wife and girl friend. Why? Murakami did an excellent job making us think what we usually neglect. How do we identify ourselves? Do we need to? What's reality and what's our imagination?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Makes you want more!

    This book really sent me on a wild sheep chase! I havent been more caught up in a book since Angels & Demons. Haruki Murakami really makes me think beyond reality with this book. They way he uses the characters and the sitution and events is jaw dropping. I haven't read norwegian wood yet even though i have the book.So I reading up on the reviews. I recommened this book and Dance Dance Dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    A Wonderous Follow Up

    This book is, unbeknownst to most readers of the English edition, actually the third book in a serious, the first two being 'Listen to the Sound of the Wind' and 'Pinball in 1973.' However, I do not believe these have been translated into English yet. Hopefully they will be soon. As I haven't read this book in English, I cannot comment on the translation, but I know that this is a fabulous book to follow up the first two and surpasses them. The main character has such a deep soul in a shallow world, and so lonely. I cannot wait to read the next in the series, 'Dance, Dance, Dance.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    Outstanding

    Desceptively simple. The novel whispers into the mind's ear. Funny. Fantastical. Marvel at Murakami's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    Untamed facscination

    An intriguing and different story of Japanese magic-realism. Just go with the groove and have a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4