Customer Reviews for

Wild Thing

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wow! Very emotional.

Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving-a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate...
Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving-a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate to be around horses that she mucks the stalls at Spidell's stable where she learns a beautiful new Arabian horse has arrived. It is love at first sight for Winnie, but nobody seems to be able to handle the wild horse. Winnie buys the Arabian at an auction and using everything her mother taught her, Winnie slowly befriends the horse. Then she gets ready to sell the horse she has become so fond of at a sale because her family could really use the money.
Dandi Daley Mackall is obviously a talented writer. I ran through so many emotions as I read. If you know a young girl age 8-12 who loves animals, especially horse, she would love this book. If you know a girl who has ever read Pony Pals (Scholastic), Mackall's writing is very similar and not preachy.
I downloaded this as a free e-book to check it out for my daughter, but I would gladly pay money for any of Mackall's books and plan to get more of what she has written.

posted by Jenny_Rose on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Skystep

Ran in and arched her back hissing. -Skystep

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Wow! Very emotional.

    Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving-a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate to be around horses that she mucks the stalls at Spidell's stable where she learns a beautiful new Arabian horse has arrived. It is love at first sight for Winnie, but nobody seems to be able to handle the wild horse. Winnie buys the Arabian at an auction and using everything her mother taught her, Winnie slowly befriends the horse. Then she gets ready to sell the horse she has become so fond of at a sale because her family could really use the money.
    Dandi Daley Mackall is obviously a talented writer. I ran through so many emotions as I read. If you know a young girl age 8-12 who loves animals, especially horse, she would love this book. If you know a girl who has ever read Pony Pals (Scholastic), Mackall's writing is very similar and not preachy.
    I downloaded this as a free e-book to check it out for my daughter, but I would gladly pay money for any of Mackall's books and plan to get more of what she has written.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book

    This book was really amazing! Its a combination of Christianity, animals, and family relationships. The perfect book for an animal lover!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great Inspirational Horse Fiction for Girls 9+

    I'm always looking for chapter books to read to my 6 and 7 year old daughters. I often read them books outloud that they aren't able to read on their own yet. My girls love horses so I thought I'd see what the Horse Gentler series was about.

    The book was great! I won't be reading it to my young daughters but definitely look forward to giving them the book to read when they're 9 or 10. Some of the things dealt with in this book are pretty big things for younger kids--like guilt, bitterness, and death of a parent.

    The main character, Winnie, is madly in love with horses. She discovers a wild Arabian and, even though she feels far away from God because of the guilt that's tied up with her mom's death 2 years ago, she prays that the horse could be hers.

    In the end, Winnie experiences God's forgiveness and grace. Her conversion back to God is written in a beautiful way that I think most children 9 and up will be able to grasp, especially if they are Christians. This book would be a good evangelistic tool, also, for a little girl who doesn't know Jesus yet. I definitely recommend it for any girl in the recommended age range, especially if she loves horses! If not, she probably will be the time she finishes the last chapter.

    At the end of the book, there's a horse diagram about the "Parts of the Horse" where readers will learn everything from the muzzle to the withers. There's also a 4 page "Horse-o-Pedia" about different types of horses and a 4 page section on "Horse Talk" where readers can learn how horses communicate to people and each other.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Epic - A must read

    Wild Thing is a good start to the Horse Gentler series. This is a book that can be enjoyed by horse lovers and non-horse lover alike.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    this book was great

    i really enjoyed this book, wish i'd read it when i was a kid!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    The series

    I have read the entire series. It is one of the best series i have ever read. I would recomend it to any horse crazy kid.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Start To An Awesome Series I love this series and I have r

    Great Start To An Awesome Series
    I love this series and I have read all of them including countless other books by Dandi Daley Mackall. She is a very talented author and I hope that she continues to write amazing books! The Winnie the Horse Gentler series is awesome. It's about real life situations that could happen to anyone. They are about the unmistakeable bond between a girl and her horse. They're about friendship, love , rough times, and about how if you have God, then you can get through it all and know that everything is going to be okay.

    The books that I recommended are great books for people that are horse lovers and even those who aren't!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Awesome serie!! Awesome book!!

    I oove this book and this series. This about a girl who lost her mom in a car accident. And she acuses herself for it. This is a amazing series about how a girl grows closer to gos.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great for horse-loving gals!

    The first time I read this book, I was a little girl who dreamed of someday riding a horse. Even now as I've been able to live my dream and become familiar with the horse world, this book is special to me. Winnie is a twelve-year old girl who has just lost her mother and is struggling to find herself. She ends up finding a horse infamous for her wild behavior, and she becomes determined to tame it, as her mother, a horse gentler, would have. But taming the Wild Thing might be more than she though it would be! I loved how the author was true to life in this story. A bond with a horse is almost never truly magical, and although a girl trying to tame a horse is rare, it's not unheard of. I loved how she learns to trust God as the horse comes to trust her. Great read, highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Horses

    Ive read the whole series and its the best book series ever! I love this series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I love this!

    This is an awesome book! So are the other ones in the series! I would recommend this series to anyone! It has also been a huge help to me with my walk with God and it has made me want to spend more time with my horses!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Really good

    I really liked this book like A LOT!!! As a 9 year old I recomand this a book for 8-99 age is probably good for all ages at the most... I read it for a book report and picked it randomly because I didn't have any time left at Library... So basicly I read it as a book not on my nook but I'm reviewing it on my nook. I'm also a BIG christian like Winnie, Lizzy, and Dad!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Skystep

    Ran in and arched her back hissing. -Skystep

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Great horse book!

    A great pre-teen book! I wish this book and series was around when I was younger, though I even enjoyed it as an adult. This is a great book for any young girl (boys too though it appeals more for a girl) that loves horses. There were some great themes about healing and redemption through out the book. Another great point was that the book contains some very detailed information about horses; their parts, different breeds, and how they communicate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    The best series ever

    My name is Kayla. I'm 13 years old. I absoltly loved this book!!! I would recomend it to any one who loves horses. It isn't just for little kids. It is one of the best sereies ever. I would also recommend the Thouroghbred seris. Some one said that if you read WINNIE THE HORSE GENTLER SEREIS YOU GOT TO BE IN 4TH GRADE. I got very mad because it is for all ages. So if your looking for a easy,Fun,Exciting books read this sereies

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    To: HOTHORSELOVER12

    Totally agree with you one hundred percent. Posting Warior cats names is the dumbest thing ever.Sure, i like the books, but pretending to be like them,STUPIDEST THING E-V-E-R!!!!
    Wanna be nook friends?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    AMAZING!!!

    I love this book and want to read all of the books. I like how it is very adventurous and exciting. I just love everything about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    I hadn't read this book, but now that I have, I think it's very

    I hadn't read this book, but now that I have, I think it's very heartwarming. I have loved horses all my life, and it makes me closer to one of my friends because she actually has a horse. I don't have a horse but I love them the same. I think this was geared toward younger audiences but all ages will enjoy this book. I think this is an OK book for all ages and I hope to see more about all different animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    I feel like I've been having a lot of true confession time since

    I feel like I've been having a lot of true confession time since reading a few of the kids books Tyndale has published. This book went WAY beyond my expectations for a kids book. Winnie is a normal Fourth grade girl following in her mother's footsteps...if you consider a horse whisperer in the form of a sweet little girl normal. This is a wonderful book on, doing what God has for us, and learning to trust in Him and His love even when it seems impossible, in the form of an adventurous young girl training and calming horses. What could be better for a girl's series? Oh yea, did I mention it has information on taking care of horses for the horse lover? GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    Even though this book is geared for younger readers, I have to a

    Even though this book is geared for younger readers, I have to admit that I learned a lot from it. I loved the way Mackall introduced readers to terms about horses and the equipment used to take care of them. She also included an extensive glossary at the back of the book about different kinds of horses and a comprehensive diagram about the parts of the horse. Readers also learn a lot about horse training and how to act around horses. I grew up reading horse stories, so I was really surprised at how much I learned.

    Mackall has a knack for writing amazing stories that draw readers in, while teaching them about animals, and teaching them life lessons. In this one readers are drawn into Winnie's world as she struggles to cope with the loss of her mother and the perception that her father blames her for her mother's death. This is one of the few stories where I wasn't quite sure of the ending and I could imagine it going a couple of different ways. I wasn't disappointed in the ending, and I don't think anyone else would be either.

    After reading several of Mackall's horse stories, I can safely say that I am a fan. She does a great job with believable adolescent characters and animal characters. Readers are immediately sucked in and begin to care about the characters right from the beginning of the book. I can't wait to read other stories in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7