Customer Reviews for

Wild Thing

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wow! Very emotional.

Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving-a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate...
Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving-a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate to be around horses that she mucks the stalls at Spidell's stable where she learns a beautiful new Arabian horse has arrived. It is love at first sight for Winnie, but nobody seems to be able to handle the wild horse. Winnie buys the Arabian at an auction and using everything her mother taught her, Winnie slowly befriends the horse. Then she gets ready to sell the horse she has become so fond of at a sale because her family could really use the money.
Dandi Daley Mackall is obviously a talented writer. I ran through so many emotions as I read. If you know a young girl age 8-12 who loves animals, especially horse, she would love this book. If you know a girl who has ever read Pony Pals (Scholastic), Mackall's writing is very similar and not preachy.
I downloaded this as a free e-book to check it out for my daughter, but I would gladly pay money for any of Mackall's books and plan to get more of what she has written.

posted by Jenny_Rose on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Skystep

Ran in and arched her back hissing. -Skystep

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    I remember reading this book several years ago, probably shortly

    I remember reading this book several years ago, probably shortly after it was published. I liked it when I read it then, and I also liked it when I reread it today, although I believe it was intended for slightly younger audiences. It is a pretty easy read with realistic and likable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Luv this book

    This book rocks!
    Definitaly would request this book to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    For a children's book I wasn't expecting it to be as emotionally

    For a children's book I wasn't expecting it to be as emotionally deep.   If you have a child into horse's this is a great story.  Just be prepared for some of the issues - Winnie's mom's death, her guilt, her distance toward her dad and to God, her anger and impulsiveness, insecurities,  etc.  It was a great story of friendship, faith and trust.  Winnie is a lot like Wild Thing.  She's hurt but doesn't seem to see that it is controlling her life.  She begins to see herself and those around her differently as the story goes along.  There's a lesson for all of us in this one....  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    Back Cover: Twelve-year-old Winnie Willis has a way with horses.

    Back Cover: Twelve-year-old Winnie Willis has a way with horses. She can gentle the wildest mare, but other parts of her life don't always come as easily. Along with her dad and sister, Lizzy, Winnie is learning how to live without her mom, who was also a natural horse gentler. As Winnie teaches her horses about unconditional love and blind trust, God shows Winnie that he can be trusted too. Readers will be hooked on the series' vivid characters, whose quirky personalities fill Winnie's life with friendship and adventure. In #1 "Wild Thing, " Winnie's fearful heart finally begins to trust God again as she tries to gentle the horse of her dreams, Wild Thing.

                                                                                        ~~~~

    As a horse lover and having a younger sister in love with horses, Winnie the Horse Gentler is a great series for young girls who love horses. I loved reading about Catman and all of Winnie's friends, and the tips they offer through their program at the pet store. 
    The first of 8 books, Wild Thing is about Winnie after another hard move to a town where she doesn't know anybody. With her love of horses she soon helps a horse everyone else deem unbreakable and call her "Wild Thing". 
    This book is definitely a must read for girls who love horses, and love to read. 

    I would rate this book 4 out of 4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    12 year old Winnie Willis lost her mother at a young age (and ha

    12 year old Winnie Willis lost her mother at a young age (and has always believed it is her fault). It's been extra hard as she and her mom had so much in common, primarily their love of horses. She lives with her father and younger sister, Lizzie, who is 11. They've moved many times since her mother's death, and Winnie has finally found a place she wants to stay - especially as her dream horse is in town, and she is desperate to figure out a way she can own it. Winnie is passionate about caring for animals and is willing to defend them no matter the cost.


    This first book in the "Winnie the Horse Gentler" series is a great story about healing and hope. The author also includes lots of extra information about horses, including a diagram of the "parts of a horse", "horse talk" (the translation of horse communications), and even a "horse-o-pedia" (terms). It is a wonderful series for your pre-teens and teens, especially those who love animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    Winnie loves horses. Unfortunately, when her mom died ¿ in an a

    Winnie loves horses. Unfortunately, when her mom died – in an accident that Winnie knows was her fault – her dad sold the horses and moved them away. After several moves they are now in Ohio and Winnie has found the most beautiful horse and she knows she can love and calm the horse, and give her a new name besides the Wild Thing. But will her dad move them again? Will she have a chance with the Wild Thing? Great book for tweens, especially those who love animals, to show God does care about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In Wild Thing (Winnie the Horse Gentler Book 1 of an 8 book seri

    In Wild Thing (Winnie the Horse Gentler Book 1 of an 8 book series), twelve-year-old Winnie Willis has a way with horses. She takes pride in her gift of being a horse gentler like her late mother. If only she could understand and fix the issues in her life as well as she did in the lives of horses.




    Reading this book makes me wish my children were young again so I could read these fabulous books with them and experience the wonder through a child’s eyes. You don’t have to be a horse lover to enjoy this series, but you’ll probably become one as you do.




    Filled with humor, growth, and coming of age circumstances, Dandi Daley Mackall’s books work magic on the soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    "Wild Thing" is the first book in the "Winnie the

    "Wild Thing" is the first book in the "Winnie the Horse Gentler" series. Twelve year old Winnie Willis, her younger sister Lizzy, and their dad have moved several times within the past two years since Winnie’s mother’s death. Lizzy doesn’t want to move again and neither does Winnie after she meets a beautiful Arabian horse called Wild Thing. Winnie wants to buy Wild Thing and gentle her the way her mom used to with her horses, but she doesn’t have enough money to buy the horse. Will she find a way to get the horse of her dreams? Or will Winnie and her sister have to move again?

    I really enjoyed reading "Wild Thing". The only other horse related book that I’ve read by Dandi Daley Mackall is "Horse Dreams" (Backyard Horses Book #1), and while that book was more of a cute, lighthearted horse story, Wild Thing has more of an emotional side to it. Winnie struggles with guilt because she blames herself for her mother’s death. She doesn’t think that her dad has forgiven her or that God could love her anymore. In the book she learns of God’s forgiveness, grace, faithfulness, and unfailing love and she begins to trust God again.

    In the back of the book is a “Parts of the Horse” horse diagram, a “Horse Talk” guide, and a “Horse-O-Pedia” glossary of horse related words and terms, all of which make a nice educational addition to the book.

    While this book is recommended for ages 8-12, I think older girls would enjoy it, too. "Wild Thing" was a great, well written book and I would definitely recommend it for Christian girls, especially girls who love horses. I truly enjoyed it and would now love to read the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    This is a fabulous story of a girl whose mother, a horse lover,

    This is a fabulous story of a girl whose mother, a horse lover, died in an automobile accident. Winnie actually thought she had been the cause of her mother’s death. Her mother trained horses and had taught Winnie that training a horse using fun games and lots of love, never hitting the horse, was the right way to train a horse. After their mother’s death, the father had moved to a new location and they needed money. What happened when Winnie got a job training Wild Thing, a beautiful wild white horse? What made Winnie furious? What happened to Wild Thing? Who helped Winnie? What did Winnie prove?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is an older book for younger readers, but if you have a chi

    This is an older book for younger readers, but if you have a child in love with horses you might want to check it out. Dandi Daley Mackall packs a lot of emotion into this short chapter book. Winnie hasn't forgiven herself for events that changed the lives of her family, and that lack of forgiveness is reflected in pretty much everything she does. She's quick tempered, quick to judge, and rather rude. But once you understand the heart, you can help change the behavior. That's a lesson she learns when she encounters a horse named "Wild Thing". Seems both the horse and the girl need to learn about forgiveness, trust, faith and love. The book includes quite a bit about faith, but isn't heavy handed. Lizzy is an excellent supportive sister for Winnie, even though she's the younger of the two. Dad's a bit distracted trying to keep the family together But Dandi crafts a host of interesting and quirky characters to fill in the gaps and fill in the fun. I bought the e-book version to check it out for my oldest granddaughter, and I think I've found a winner! "Wild Thing" is the first in a series, and is published by Tyndale Publishing. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Lots of fun This was really good teen fiction. I¿ve always like

    Lots of fun

    This was really good teen fiction. I’ve always liked horses, so I was with Winnie the whole way in wanting to rescue Wild Thing. She was a great character, easy to like, and so was the horse! :) The plot was realistic as well and the minor characters quite interesting. I could definitely see myself happily reading more in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    A great start to the series Wild Thing is a great introduction

    A great start to the series

    Wild Thing is a great introduction to horses for children. There is a dictionary of terms for horse talk, kinds of horses, and a diagram of the parts of a horse all included in this book! The story is also interesting - I look forward to reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Wild Thing is such a fun read for my horse loving little girl. T

    Wild Thing is such a fun read for my horse loving little girl. Though, I don't think she is the target age group for this book, she still loves the story and loves Wild Thing. I think it is really good and has a good moral to the story. I would recommend it for girls, probably between 8-12. 
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Good Horse Book for Kids! Wild Thing is the first book in the se

    Good Horse Book for Kids!
    Wild Thing is the first book in the series about Winnie the Horse Gentler and is perfect for kids or even adults who want a short entertaining book.
    Winnie is learning to live in a new town without her mother after a tragic accident claimed her mother's life.  Winnie blames herself and doesn't know how to communicate with her Dad who keeps moving the family every few months to a new town.  Winnie talks to her sister Lizzy but her main distraction is horses.  Desperate to be near them she works mucking stalls at a local horse stable and that is where she discovers Wild Thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Excellent for Kids, a Wonderful Story: This book is sweet, a lit

    Excellent for Kids, a Wonderful Story: This book is sweet, a little sad, and very educational. I enjoyed learning about horses and the children who love them. I liked the horse vocabulary, and the drawing that showed all the parts of a horse. Winnie, the young girl, works through her difficulties bravely, and learns important lessons very well, while showing her love of animals. Winnie's friends are quite interesting. Mackall writes an excellent story; descriptive, colorful, personal, and a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Wild Thing by Dandi Daley Mackall is the first book in the serie

    Wild Thing by Dandi Daley Mackall is the first book in the series for 8-12 year old girl's called Winnie the Horse Gentler. Winnie's mother was an amazing horse gentler and taught her everything she knows. A horse gentler is someone who gentles a horse, earning it's trust, verses breaking a horse. But Winnie still feels guilty for her mother's death and has a broken relationship with her dad because of it. But when she sees the wild Arabian horse Wild Thing she falls in love and will do anything to make it hers. What follows is a story full of horses and eventually healing from the guilt she has been feeling.




    This story took me back to being in junior high and love horses like most little girls do. It's a great Christian story about horses and all things girl. The back even contains a horse-o-pedia, a diagram of the parts of a horse, how to understand the sounds and non verbal communication they make. It truly is a fabulous book and would be a great series for your girl's this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Hot Horselover12

    Why are people posting Warriors cats????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    TAP PLEASE

    I need help with my book Wolf packs. It is the first one and you can post your wolf and wolf color on Whateverafter number six and yiu can write your own part too. From, Cloudjumper the silver wolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Love it!

    This was a good book about Chistianity and horses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Just amazing

    I habe read all the books and they are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7