Customer Reviews for

Wild Things (Chicagoland Vampires Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Every girl should want to be Merit in some way!

    I have to say I am a big fan of Merit and Ethan! And however it turns out that I'm still reading it at the same time. I just don't want to put the book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    another wonderful book

    another wonderful book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Loved it!

    I love this series and I loved this book! These two characters and their relationship are the best that paranormal fiction has to offer. I thought the last book was a bit flat but not this one. Loved the storyline, the connection to the shifters and other supernaturals, and all of the peripneral characters we've come to love. Smoking hot chemistry! And a hint of whats to come. Love this series, cant wait for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    As always another home run for Chloe Neill. This continuation of

    As always another home run for Chloe Neill. This continuation of Merit's story was brilliant. There is always plenty of action, humor and a bit of romance thrown in. Loved the supporting character's as always. It was nice to see an old one return and a new one thrown in the mix. Merit and Ethan make a perfect couple who balance each other allowing them to thrive. Their friends and allies always make things interesting as well. I look forward to many more Chicagoland Vampire books. Absolutely a 5 star read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was absolutely worth the wait.  It grabbed my attention fro

    This was absolutely worth the wait.  It grabbed my attention from the first paragraph and held it throughout the book.  I really like how the relationship between Merit and Ethan is progressing.  And the story line had some twists I didn't see coming, one of my favorite things.  Definitely a binge read - which is exactly what I did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Great book!!

    Awesome!! Some hard times coming for Ethan and Merit! Can wait read about them. Chloe Neill keeps getting better and better. Hope she write faster so we don't have a long wait!!! Highly recommend this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    ANOTHER HOMER!

    I can't believe how much i am in love with this series! Neill is an amazing novelist and the story keeps getting better and better.
    Merit and Ethan have always had their ups and their downs but this time Merit has to make a choice, and it could be the hardest one yet, to be selfish or let go. Mallory and Catcher and the rest of the gang are all here, there are surprising discoveries and revelations and an "ending" you don't want to miss. With action and drama and suspense i'd say its in my top favorite "must keep reading" list.
    T.E.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Great series

    Series is still fresh abd interesting, can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Love thus series

    Cant put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Great additn totheseries

    Continues the story from the lastnovel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~ 4 Wild Stars ~ Chicagoland Vampires are here to stay! I was n

    ~ 4 Wild Stars ~ Chicagoland Vampires are here to stay!

    I was not sure if I’d stick with this series, but once I got passed the first two books I became hooked and now I’m a Chicagoland Vampire fan. I enjoy how easy it is to just pick the book up and go. The writing flows nicely as well as we get some great characters and plot developments. You do need to read the books in order to understand what is going on.

    Wild Thing is book nine in the Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neill. It picks up where Biting Cold left off. I like the direction the novel is going. We get one twist after another, some great action and adventure and their is never a dull moment with our favorite Cadogan Vampires. We get black magic, harpies, revenge on the pack and so much more in Wild Things.

    Merit brings her usual snark and junk food obsessions to this action packed story. I liked the supernatural detective-type storyline that is going on, though it is not an original storyline it is still very appealing, emphasizing the great chemistry between Merit and Ethan. The relationship between Ethan and Merit is growing and I’m curious as to see how it will work after the big reveal at the end. I also love Merits car and the name she calls it. I'm a big James Bond fan and I get a kick and a smile every time she looks and talks about her baby Moneypenny. The characters are fun and entertaining as well as Ms. Neill introduces us to new ones along the way that may or may not play a role in further stories, but are still fun and entreating to read. 

    The things introduced in the novel, bode well for the series. Chicagoland Vampires are here to stay. I’m curious to see where things go and can’t wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    A must read series!

    I have loved this series of books! I can't wait for the next 2 to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good

    This was going to be a 4 but its now for me at least, a 4.5. Usually with these books, its either a 4, 4.5 or a 5 but this, its in between.

    Anyway, found this one while good, was a little well, somewhat bored but not as bored. I did take a little break from it and got right back into the series. Don't get me wrong I love these books. But there's moments where it loses its spark at times but you still want to keep reading hoping it'll get better? And it does the more you keep reading.

    Uh right, onto this installment then. Some twists and turns now and then, characters are back, stuff that was mentioned throughout, is being brought up and finally acknowledged which is a plus. That and can we say character and plot development which I'm fine with and want to say thank you to the author for doing so.

    Also, that cover is really cool. The color lighting and the background. LOVE! So yeah, another pretty good, to good installment in the series, thus far anyway. Who knew 9 books in and the series is still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe it. Book 9 of the Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe

    I can't believe it. Book 9 of the Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neil, and I am officially caught up until August when Blood Games comes out.  So far, it looks like there will be a total of 13 books in the series, and quite frankly with where this book ended and the current goals they have, I don't know if that is going to be enough.

    The book starts up right on the heels of the end of Biting Bad.  Ethan is making plans to leave the city since it looks like Mayor Kowalcyzk isn't going to back down anytime soon. The only recourse is to not be available, and hope that a diplomatic solution can be reached.  It's been decided that they will go to the Breckenridge's estate while cooler heads try to prevail.  The Breckenridge's live outside Chicago and have both the material and political capital to keep the Mayor from trying anything drastic at their estate.  The plan is to hang out with Catcher, Mallory and the Pack during their yearly get together called Lupercalia.

    But things are never simple when it comes to Chicago Supernatural gatherings. Especially when during the opening nights festivities, there is a Harpy attack that causes the deaths of 4 shifters and 1 is missing. In addition to all this fun, the GP sends a representative to censure the House due to the death that occurred in the last book. After the Mayor accuses all 3 Chicago House Leaders of being Domestic Terrorists, and the surprise appearance of a long believed extinct supernatural race, Merit is up to her neck in trouble. 

    Several books ago, it was hinted at that Merit and Ethan were going to have a child together, even though Vamps can't conceive and carry a child to term. I have wondered about this and nearly lost hope when Ethan was staked, but one he returned, I waited, impatiently for it to be brought back up.  It is, in a big way, in this book. I'm not saying she gets pregnant, but we find out much more about the prophecy and what will be needed to be done to get there. This was a very action packed book and I loved every minute of it. I can't wait for the next book. This was a 5 star listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    My Initial Reaction¿ Well that was exciting! I can literally fee

    My Initial Reaction…
    Well that was exciting! I can literally feel Chloe bringing this series towards an exciting conclusion, with all the twists she threw in Wild Things. A great read and I look forward to the next several books! Oh and we’re on book 9, so there’s gonna be series spoilers, sorry folks!




    The Narration…
    Sophie Eastlake has really grown on me – not that she wasn’t good from the start. She was. In fact, as soon as she took over the series, she was a relief. But now, she’s more than that. For me, she’s Merit. She has a kind of sophistication to her voice and pacing that fits the world she’s narrating – Merit is a product of the highest levels of society. The vampires are no slouches either. And really no one in these books is living anything short of a comfortable life, although most are well above that. And there’s something about Sophie’s voice that just exudes that and makes me feel like I’ve been transported to that world. I can’t imagine not listening to this series at this point.




    The Characters…
    If you’ve followed my reviews of the CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRES series, you know that at one point I loved Ethan. And then he screwed up. Again. And Again. And then I said forget it Ethan, Jonah is way better anyway. And when things started to look like they were going to finally work out for Ethan and Merit, I accepted it, but begrudgingly. And I didn’t love them as a couple anymore. So when I say that I’m back on Team Ethan with Wild Things, you know that saying something.




    So what changed? Ethan! Oh don’t get me wrong, he’s still this incredibly gorgeous, irresistible, somewhat infuriating master vampire. But he finally GETS Merit and knows she’s where it’s at. He loves her and knows that that means making her his priority. And trusting her! Finally, Ethan is letting Merit be the kick ass sentinel that he appointed. Sure he’s still protective, but to a normal, “I love you and don’t want you hurt” extent. Not to a “I love you and that means I control you and don’t trust you extent.” So Ethan has changed for the better. What can I say? I guess some guys have to live hundreds of years and die twice before they finally figure out that they’ve got a good thing and how to treat her.




    Merit, on the other hand, hasn’t really changed. And I LOVE that, too. She’s still tough and smart and not afraid to make tough decisions she knows Ethan might not like. See, how that worked? She stayed true to who she was and he came around. :)




    Another favorite relationship of mine that had gone sour was the one between Merit and her best friend Mallory. I loved Mallory and then she went all evil. Well, she’s been working on coming back the last few books and in Wild Things I feel like she’s finally there. The interaction between her and Merit is almost back to the same wittiness I loved and she’s getting to be pretty kick ass herself, in a non-evil way. So that’s a plus. And she’s healing things with Catcher, which continues to be great.




    In these reviews I always seem to spend too much time on the characters, but the thing is, I LOVE the supporting characters in this series. So I’m not going to gush ad nauseum about Jeff and Gabriel, but they were great in Wild Things too. And I’m not going to get overly excited about the brief moments with Malik and her grandfather, that despite being brief rocked. Point is, the whole cast was there and they shined as usual.




    The Story…
    We pick up Wild Things right where Biting Bad left off. Meaning Ethan’s in trouble with Mayor Kowalcyzk for murder (in self-defense), which spells trouble for the House and for Merit. Thankfully Merit and Ethan flee to the protection of the Shifters – specifically the Breckinridges – in hopes that the Mayor will recognize their political and financial power and lay off Ethan.  I got excited about this when I realized that this was going to mean lots of Shifter action (it’s no secret I love the Shifters) and when Gabriel showed up to explain that they would be joining the shifters for Lubricallia (sp? problem with an audio book, you don’t learn how to spell these things) I pretty much yelped. Lubricallia is a magical event and the way Chloe wrote it was pretty awesome. As was the subsequent attack. By…. well you don’t want me to spoil it do you? Point is they get attacked and the gang gets to work – as usual – solving the mystery.




    The mystery was pretty good. I’ve gotten used to the way the mysteries work though, so there weren’t many twists or surprises there. Somehow Chloe has managed to bring even more supernaturals into her story. You thought she’d pretty much covered them all, huh? Nope, but now I think she has. That was a lot of fun. And there’s some MAJOR foreshadowing for events to come in future books, courtesy of Gabriel.




    Concluding Sentiments…
    Wild Things was another fun installment from the CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRES world and I look forward to the next one, due in August.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    I Love the Chicago land books ; I love me some Ethan and Malory. Really GOOD SERIES keep up the good work. AWESOME WRITER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A strange new enemy has emerged, attacking the shifter packs wit

    A strange new enemy has emerged, attacking the shifter packs with Merit and Ethan stuck in the middle. Merit must uncover the attacker before a hidden clan of elves and the shifters declares war. 


    Their is unrest in the vampire's ruling government, for Merit to choose the right course of action for the vampire world might just cost her the man she loves.


    Wild Things is another high velocity read. From the first few pages the story takes off and kept me invested till the end. Old wounds are healing and friendships are rekindled. New chances at trust and happiness arise with equal chances of lose and heart ache. 


    The revelation behind the prophecy about Merit was utterly shocking, I can't wait to see how this will play out.


    I am a Neill fan. Her writing and characters pop off the pages and come alive in my imagination. The story sticks with me well after I'm done reading and I contemplate the what ifs and maybes for what is to come. That, to me, is an awesome book worth 5 huge stars. Brilliant new addition to the Chicagoland Vampires series, Wild Things is another must read from Chloe Neill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Amazing!!!!

    I can't wait until the next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2