Customer Reviews for

The Wild Things

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eggers Does it Again!

    First off I am truly impressed with what Dave Eggers (and Spike Jones) were able to do with Sendak's 10 sentences. This book is a great story, very engaging and truly exciting. I am not sure what in the world the person before was complaining about. Eggers merely writes from his personal experience. I am certain that he has no hatred towards boomers or the such. This book is not worth a 1 star rating in the slighest bit. Sorry that you are so bitter about your life brittneyfan300.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Truly an enjoyable READ.

    This is truly an enjoyable read. As one of the lucky few who has been to a screening of the film I believe this book shows how much love and care Dave and Spike took with a masterpiece of children's literature. The unfortunate side effect of some reviews that get posted here is they are posted by folks who have never even READ the book and see it as an excuse to either flame a writer they don't like or promote one they are obsessed with. Either way it's a shame.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great read for any age

    Eggers is able to get into the heart of what it is to be a nine year old kid. As I read it, I was nine again (30 otherwise). Each time Max gets into trouble I am back in my room remembering what it was like to think something is totally reasonable at the time and be so ridiculed for it. As a parent also, I think this book is a great way to remind me of those times and keep them fresh in my mind for when my buttons get pushed (although my girl is only 2, I know thats coming soon). Great read for kids who want to be understood and adults who need to remember to understand.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    full of adventure

    Remember "Where the Wild Things Are" by Maurice Sendak? A boy runs from home and hangs out with gigantic beasts. Dave Eggers took this children's book and turned it first into a movie of the same title and then into a novel called "The Wild Things". It goes into more detail about Max-- he has a teenage sister and a single mother who's dating a very lame man and he's trying to cope with the ups and downs of boyhood.

    It's such a quick read. Almost 300 pages, but in going along with Max on his adventure, the reader is carried along by his exuberance and over-excitement. The beasts truly are wild and definitely not the brightest bulbs in the box. But each one of them has their own personality, which brings a sort of reality to them, as if they could exist. Maybe they do...

    It's been so long since I've read the picture book by Mr. Sendak that I don't remember the reason why Max ran away in that book, or if he even did (was it a dream?), but it was creative of Mr. Eggers to place him in a stressful, confusing family situation, with a sister with whom he used to be close but is now embarrassed by him and a mother who doesn't have time to pay attention to him because of her job and her new boyfriend. These dynamics give the story a definite foundation and the events logically build to Max sailing away in a small boat.

    This new spin on a classic children's book is vivid, lively, and full of adventure. You don't even need to read Mr. Sendak's version in order to get enthralled with this one. It's a very enjoyable read for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure

    This was a great book. I am not familiar with the children's book, so my review is in no way comparing the two. I thought this book was so much fun and very absorbing. It is very simple and the writing style is easy to follow and enjoy. The characters are all very fun and the lessons are important. This is a fantastic book for both adults and children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Touching.

    Great read full of emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    ...

    when will thiss be free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Where the Wild Dramatic Things Are.

    Before I go on with all the amazing things this wonderful story based off of the MOVIE *which bases off the actual picture book... in some... way* I would like to declare this:
    Picture high school on a woodsy island and all it's dramatic issues collided. That's basically what the movie and THIS wild things book revolves on. It's slightly pointless and it kinda doesn't make sense at some parts. When it's really suppose to be a fun enlighting kids story (with the movie; better off made by Pixar or Dreamworks rather than actual actors.) This book is exactly like the movie - but there's some things added and changed to the whole story. For me, just like the movie, I thought the beginnings and the endings were awesome but for the actual middle of both, I could've seen better.

    Bright Side:

    This book closely relates to thee actual picture book rather than the movie relating to the actual picture book. Its sorta pulled like dough; sometimes it's like the picture book, sometimes Dave Eggers adds his own things. :)

    all-in-all if you really love the movie in general and you want to tote around your entertainment when you don't have access to the movie: this book is perfect for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just as good as the movie

    I loved this book. It stayed interesting the whole time and sometimes I did not even want to put it down. This is a must read for anyone. It really takes you back to what childhood and imagination is really like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Like I am a kid again!!

    I love this book as a kid and now I love Egger's rendition as an adult. It took me right back to being with that scared, but oh so brave boy. Definitely one I will keep in my collection and re-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    Pure Genius

    It is human nature for human beings to change how they feel from time to time. Happiness, exhaustion, relief, depression, the list goes on. The Wild Things were each defined as a different being, and a different emotion. They were all special individuals, and this what I enjoyed from the book. If you like to read books that portray many points of view of others, this is the one to read. You not only hear what the main character is about, but you learn about all the other characters as well. Psychological thinking helps throughout this book. It is a sea of emotions. You can learn many lessons from this book if you pay close enough attention. As you read the book, you get absorbed into it. It's enjoyable, and may make you rethink about things in your life. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Let the Wild Rumpus begin!

    The Wild Things is an interesting, more adult, take on Maurice Sendak's Where The Wild Things Are. Here the story of Max is expanded and fleshed out to give us some insight into Max's behavior and his experience on the island. Max is a confused young boy dealing with divorce, a teenage sister, and anger he doesn't know how to control. He runs away one night after a fight with his mother and sails to the island of the Wild Things.

    Its ultimately a sad, dark story about a lost and confused little boy. Elements of it reminded me of Lord of the Flies with the feeling of loss of control and fear and anger ruling. The Wild Things are well developed and fascinating characters with many of their own problems to deal with. The ending felt a little less complete and more uncertain than I would have liked.
    I listened to the audio version which was very creatively read by Dion Graham. The Wild Thing's voices were well done and it was a pleasant listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic

    Recommended with gusto

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly amazing

    I will admit that I did think this was a bit strange at first. (I'd seen the movie two days before I started to read it, so I was expecting it to be exactly like the film.) But about halfway through, I couldn't put it down, it was that good! All of Max's endeavors at home made me think back to when I was a little kid and when I'd get in trouble, and Connie's boyfriend was absolutely hilarious. And when Max was on the island and feeling alone and upset, I found myself truly feeling sorry for him and wanting to comfort him. Same goes for when he was running through the forest with the Wild Things - the way it was written, it made me want to join them. Dave Eggers writes so beautifully, and he truly did an amazing job with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    The Wild Things: Success!!

    Max, a young boy, is very adventurous. As everyone does, Max makes mistakes. One mistake too many throws his mother off the edge. Max runs away to the island of The Wild Things and declares himself their king. Some of his ideas help them, while others do not. Finally, he needs to make a final decision, stay and be king or return home? A strong theme shown throughout this whole book is togetherness. Max feels he's not loved at home because of the lack of togetherness in the family. He feels out of place with The Wild Things because they don't understand the concept of togetherness. This book promotes togetherness in a community. I really liked the length of the chapters. They were short, so it broke up the length of the book nicely. I didn't like how undeveloped Max's character was compared to The Wild Things. Eggers never gave a physical description of Max as he did with all the monsters. If Max had been described it would have made my whole reading experience better. I think people should read this book because it was a very cute and relatable topic of feeling out of place. Eggers did a wonderful job of capturing a child's mind and putting onto paper. I would recommend also reading Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak, which is the children's book that this novel was based off of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4