Customer Reviews for

The Wild Vine: A Forgotten Grape and the Untold Story of American Wine

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Christmas gift

    Christmas gift for husband. He really enjoyed it. An interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Slypaw

    He hops in"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great book

    I lived in VA for 12 years- where Norton wine was started. I now live in KY and they make some good Nortons here- it's a sfascinating wine and I am one who loves it.. The book was great- a very interesting history to this truly American grape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Great book, exquisitely written, fascinating story

    What more can I say? I thought this was going to be about wine, it's not. It's a rich and engrossing story of identity, of what it means to be an American, and what it means to BE, period. Also, a story of this nation, of the qualities that characterize us.

    At its heart it is the story of an amazing and colorful woman, a transsexual, and her evolution and determination. It is also the story of an obscure grape that has been around since Jefferson's day. Todd Kliman, the author, introduces us to both and make us care about both, and about the ways they intertwine and connect -- hence, The Wild Vine. All set against American history and cultural history of the past two hundred years. I don't want to give away too much more than this and spoil the reading pleasure.

    One of the most unusual and fascinating books I've ever come across. I finished it on Friday and have been thinking about it ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Interesting Read

    Initially, I was not certain where this story was going, but after the first chapter, it kept me intrigued until the end. I am not very knowledgeable about wine, but it kept my interest anyway. It is a good historical overview that is not dry or stilted. The author does a great job weaving pieces of history together to tell the story of the Norton. It makes me want to visit some of the places he mentioned and learn more about the historical figures in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Norton wine - here we come

    I was fortunate in getting an ARC (advanced reading copy) of this title. Oh what a read on such an intriguing subject - not just wine, but America's wine. I would have liked to have said ~ "Who knew a grape could generate so much history, so much commerce, so much entrancing narrative, so much splendid writing . . . . . . ," but Pulitzer Prize winner Robert Butler said this first about Todd Kliman's The Wild Vine. To thoroughly comprehend and enjoy this wonderful read, one must have a bulbous wine glass and a bottle of Virginia's Cooper Vineyard Norton and a Missouri Montelle Vineyard Cynthiana to follow the presented geographical narration. Let each bottle breathe for forty minutes before consuming in slow sips (the first sip will snap at you for the grape's inherited malic acid, but the learning process of consuming Norton wine will easily follow on the second and third sips). Today you have 179 wineries in 22 Southeastern and mid-western states to find that perfect Norton to match your tastes. With the reading of this delightful book, your exploration of specific grape varieties will start you on a lifetime of wonderful wine memories. How many history books have you considered a non-stop read? I bet not many, but you have a surprise in this title which can transform you so quickly from the present-to-the-past and back again in so many literary ways. This unique query into the background of today's available truly American Norton grape wine will become a road well traveled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1