Customer Reviews for

Wilde Nights in Paradise (Entangled Brazen)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wilde Nights in Paradise    Tonya Burrows treats readers to anot

Wilde Nights in Paradise 
 
Tonya Burrows treats readers to another hot and spicy one with Wilde Nights in Paradise, the first book in her new “Wilde Security” series.  Unlike SEAL of Honor, her first book in her “Hornet” series, this one is more about the relationship ...
Wilde Nights in Paradise 
 
Tonya Burrows treats readers to another hot and spicy one with Wilde Nights in Paradise, the first book in her new “Wilde Security” series.  Unlike SEAL of Honor, her first book in her “Hornet” series, this one is more about the relationship than it is the intrigue side of things.  There is a mystery about who is stalking Libby but most of the book focuses on them getting to know each other again and whether they can come to terms with what happened eight years ago.  It is just as engrossing, with addictive characters and a fluid writing style. Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch (dot) wordpress (dot) com

posted by RomanticReadsandSuch on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jude's been tasked with the job of protecting his ex-fiancee. Th

Jude's been tasked with the job of protecting his ex-fiancee. The woman who's heart he broke 8 years ago. But if he's being honest with himself, he's thought about her every moment since. Since his parents passed away when he was a kid, he's felt guilt over their death ...
Jude's been tasked with the job of protecting his ex-fiancee. The woman who's heart he broke 8 years ago. But if he's being honest with himself, he's thought about her every moment since. Since his parents passed away when he was a kid, he's felt guilt over their death and has been unconsciously sabotaging every good thing that's ever happened to him. Especially his relationship with Libby.

"But part of him in the deepest, darkest pit in his soul wondered how long he could keep smiling."

Now he has to put the past behind him and do his job, but that's kind of hard to do when Libby wants one night together to get him out of her system. Once he's had a taste, one night will never be enough.

I liked the idea behind this story. The fact that you have a independent career driven woman who isn't afraid of some stalker. She's not about to let some guy scare her away from doing her job as an attorney. So in steps her ex-fiance, the one who cheated on her and broke her heart. Not only is he her new bodyguard but when the threats escalate and her life is put in danger, she's whisked away to a private estate to live with Jude until the person behind the threats is caught.

Of course there is a lot of sexual tension throughout the entire story. Even after they knock boots, Libby decides to keep her distance from Jude. However, no matter what, they find themselves rediscovering each other regardless of how hard they try to stay away.

There wasn't a lot of suspense since a lot of the time the story revolves around the two of them hiding out. I would have liked to have had more suspense since Libby was supposed to be in danger but once they hide out at Jude's friends house, the danger is all but forgotten. I still thought this was a good read and liked the whole second chance theme to it.

posted by Book_Sniffers_Anonymous on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    I am anxious to watch this author. I enjoyed this story. But I

    I am anxious to watch this author. I enjoyed this story.
    But I am intrigued. She has connected this story and her other book, Seal of Honor.
    It will be fun to follow these stories and see how characters shape up. To watch Jude grow up. And watch Libs learn to enjoy life and family. And see how the series go along

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    I am a total Tonya Burrows fan girl!! Loved Wilde Nights in Para

    I am a total Tonya Burrows fan girl!! Loved Wilde Nights in Paradise and can't wait for more books in the Wilde Security series!

    This was such a well written story, couldn't put it down once I started reading it. The chemistry between Jude and Libby is scorching, they are perfect together! There were times I wanted to punch Jude but he was so charming and sweet despite coming off as a hard ass at times. He was also vulnerable and I laughed out loud and loved how he was afraid of spiders! Libby is a successful woman who never really got over the heartbreak of Jude's betrayal, she moved on but her heart never really let go of the one man she truly loved. I adore "second chance" stories and I'm so glad that despite the ups and downs, the stalking of Libby and the secrets, they got that second chance and their HEA.

    For me, the sign of a good book is when it makes me feel so many different emotions and I totally did with this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I got an ARC of Wilde Nights in Paradise from Entangled Publishi

    I got an ARC of Wilde Nights in Paradise from Entangled Publishing in exchange of a honest review.

    This was the first book I read by Tonya Burrows and I'm very happy I gave the book a chance.

    Wilde Nights in Paradise is a second chance in love story, the heroine Libby Pruitt was engaged to the hero Jude Wilde but it didn't less more than a few days and they broke up.

    Eight years later, Libby is a lawyer and she is prosecuting a high profile criminal and when she starts getting threats and her
    dad hire Jude and his brothers security company to protect her.

    In order to protect Libby Jude takes her to a friend's house in the Key West and they find themselves stuck in the house together for weeks and they have to deal with their past.

    Jude's philosophy in life is "burn bridges and never look back" and as the story progress and we learn more about him this philosophy makes more sense, a life changing event that happened to him when he was 10 year old changed him and ever since that day Jude's family saw him as a failure and irresponsible person.

    I loved Jude's character and I felt so bad for him when his brother treated him like the black sheep in the family.

    Libby is not happy that she has to spend so much time with Jude since he broke her heart 8 years ago but she as much as she wants to hate him she is still attracted to him and they end up in bed together. Libby plan was to have a one night of sex with Jude and get him out of her system but she realize that it's not as easy as she first taught since the chemistry between them is still very strong.

    Jude is trying to prove to Libby that is not the same young man she knew so many years ago but it's not so easy to forgot the past.

    I really enjoyed reading Wilde Nights in Paradise, it was funny, emotional (I found myself in tears towards the end of the book when Jude and his brother have a talk) and super sexy book.
    The only thing I enjoyed less was the suspense plot, I figured the stoker identity early on.
    I can't wait to read more books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Another fabulous book from the Entangled Brazen line. Tonya Burr

    Another fabulous book from the Entangled Brazen line. Tonya Burrows’ Wilde Nights in Paradise are an amazing story that captive you from the beginning where we meet Jude Wilde from Wilde Security, where he is just been hired to protect Assistant District Attorney Elizabeth Pruitt from a stalker. The little twist in story is they were engaged 8 years ago, and it ended in heart break.
    The story come a long nicely and it was easy to fall in love whit the characters, I found myself cheering for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the beautiful and eclectic setting of Key West, Florida, auth

    In the beautiful and eclectic setting of Key West, Florida, author Tonya Burrows weaves a sexy and alluring story of tragic pasts and second chances. 




    Jude Wilde purposely broke the heart of the one woman he loved and he has been regretting it every day for eight years despite his motto of never looking back. When Wilde Security is hired by the father of the woman he scorned to protect her from a stalker, he'll be forced to come face to face with his past and his mistakes. Libby Pruitt  A.D.A. is not the fun loving girl he knew back then, she is more serious and controlled, but if possible even more beautiful. Jude knows that he doesn't deserve Libby. Doesn't deserve the wife, 2.5 kids, and white picket fence that he dreams about with her. But when they are in hiding in a beautiful beach house in the Florida Kays and Libby asks for just one night with him to get their still-burning sexual attraction out of their system, will he be able to maintain his distance? And will one night be enough? As they start losing themselves in their sultry oasis though, danger finds them...




    I really enjoyed Wilde Nights in Paradise! I didn't look much into the book itself before reading, just a quick glance over the blurb and a lingering gaze for the cover. Being part of Entangled's Brazen line I took it as gold and am happy to say that I was not disappointed. I was also pleasantly surprised to find out that this series ties into Tonya's debut HORNET series which I quite enjoyed as well. 




    The book starts with an introduction to all of the Wilde brothers, which I have to say all seem to be drool-worthy alpha men. However, these guys definitely have some issues to work out and are far from a happy family unit. Wilde Nights in Paradise focuses on the youngest brother though. The trouble maker. The "f*ck-up". He puts up an impressive facade of cockiness, lightheartedness and that of a fun-loving single guy but there is more to Jude that meets the eye and his family, the woman he loves and us readers see pieces of this as the story progresses. But the puzzle that is Jude Wilde isn't completed until the end of the story. The author does an incredible job of peeling away these layers while still keeping the story steadfastly moving.  And even though Libby and Jude have a history together with a chemistry that still sizzles, there is still a building of romance with an almost 'new love' feel as they rediscover each other and realize that even though they were together a year, there was a lot that they didn't know about the other. I was kept in a constant state of suspense trying to figure out Jude's secrets and the reasoning behind them and when some elements of his past were finally revealed and he had to confront one in particular, I had tears swimming in my eyes. 




    Libby was a wonderful heroine who was feisty and independent, and I really loved that even though she had her heart broken and she did somewhat wall off parts of life because of it, she still kept herself going, made goals, and a good life for herself. She never had that 'poor me' attitude or developed a bad self image because of it. She was real. The banter between Libby and Jude was fun and entertaining, and the steamy scenes were plentiful and hot. Just how I like 'em!




    The suspense in the story was somewhat lackluster, seeming to be used as only an instrument to force the couple together.  But with the captivating characters, charismatic setting, and well paced plot the lack of suspense didn't affect the overall enjoyability of the story too much. Wilde Nights in Paradise was still a great read! I'm looking forward to more from both the Wildes and the HORNETs, especially since we finally meet up with Seth Harlan who was mentioned in SEAL of Honor. 




    ***An ARC of this title was given courtesy of the publisher in exchange for an honest review. No monies or favors were exchanged. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was first enamored by Tonya Burrows¿ writing style when I read

    I was first enamored by Tonya Burrows’ writing style when I read SEAL of Honor. As with that release, I could not put this down until I finished it. The storyline is riveting with a remarkable pace. The intrigue and suspense begins immediately when we discover that Libby is being stalked. Libby’s father, Colonel Elliot Pruitt, hires Jude and Wilde Security to protect his daughter from the unknown threat. Considering how badly things ended the last time Libby and Jude’s saw each other; neither is thrilled with the idea. With the insane amount of chemistry and the sweltering sexual tension is a highly recommend read! My favorite part was the banter. I am looking forward to reading more adventures featuring the Wilde brothers; a lot of sexy in one family.

    Disclosure: This ebook was provided to me free of charge for the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments, and ratings are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Wilde Nights in Paradise by Tonya Burrows is an interesting and


    Wilde Nights in Paradise by Tonya Burrows is an interesting and entertaining read.

    The story is primarily about two people, ex-marine officer Jude Wilde and assistant district attorney (ADA), Elizabeth (Libby) Pruitt. Eight years ago, Jude and Libby were hopelessly in love and engaged to be married. A few days after Jude's proposal, Libby and her friends find him in a bar with another women. Libby surrenders her engagement ring right then and there and never looks back.

    To his friends and family, Jude is known for being a screw up and this characteristic reaches out into his love life. Blaming himself for his parents' death when he was only ten years old, contributes greatly to the way he runs his life now. Jude lived through many horrors during his time with the military, however a day never went by when he did not think about his break up with Libby. Today, Jude is one fifth of the private investigation team of Wilde Security. He is the youngest of five brothers. Jude is somewhat bored with his job and the constant dealings with his older brothers always puts him in a bad mood.

    Libby is a successful ADA, and is presently prosecuting a gangbanger, K-Bar, for murder. Since the trial is a few months away, K-Bar is eligible and makes bail. Based upon some terrorizing emails, phone calls and unusual happenings, Libby's father believes she is being stalked indirectly by K-Bar. Thus, Libby's father, a marine colonel, hires Wilde Security to protect her. The colonel knows Jude and believes he is best to protect Libby because his sudden presence in her life would be unquestionable. To the world, Libby and Jude are together again, in love.

    Kicking and screaming, they both agree to the protection plan developed by the Wilde brothers. They end up hiding out in Key West, borrowing the home of one of Jude's marine buddies. Their sexual tension is tangible and they both agree to a single night of hot sex, in order to stay sane and get it out of their systems. Needless to say, they never stopped caring for each other all those years ago and one night is not enough. So they mutually agree to have a "sex without emotion relationship" while they are forced to live together.

    Going stir crazy, they leave the safety of their hideaway and go for a drive. Unbeknownst to Libby, Jude has a romantic getaway for two planned. On their drive back to the safe-house, after a wonderful day of hot sex and fun, Jude realizes they are being followed. Voicemail from his brother confirms his suspicions and loosing the tailgater becomes their number one priority. Luckily, after some craziness, they make it home in one piece.

    Libby and Jude's feelings continue to deepen. Their "sex without emotion" agreement is not working. They are in love once again.

    The stalker eventually locates them in Key West and after some bloodshed, Libby and Jude survive. They then decide to spend the remainder of Libby's vacation time together in Key West, getting to know each other again. Unfortunately, things don't work out and Libby returns to her home in DC, upset and distraught.

    Secrets are divulged and family members interfere, which secures the happiness of Libby and and Jude.

    This is a good book. It has a lot of action, suspense and romance. The connection between Jude and his brothers is real and emotional. The story stalls a little in the middle, but the pace picks up and then the remainder keeps you glued to the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Wilde nights in paradise follows the story of former marine Jude

    Wilde nights in paradise follows the story of former marine Jude Wilde as he is assigned to the next case that lands on the desk of the security company that he owns along with his brothers. The problem being the person that he needs to protect is the girl that he dumped 8 years ago by kissing another girl in front of her, talk about awkward! It is her father that has decided that he wants to hire the company and specifically have Jude take care of her, and we notice a bit of bitter blood between Jude and Libby's dad, and we don't find out until much later what it is about, and I was surprised to learn the truth.




    Libby is an extremely hard working lawyer, and she thinks that the threats that she has been getting are not that serious, and her dad and Jude are over reacting and she does not need to be taken anywhere, until a car tries to run over her and Jude as they are standing just outside of her office, then she starts to understand that this person is not playing a game with her, he means business.




    Jude decides that the safest place for them is at a safe house in Key West. They are there alone, and in tight living quarters, so it gets increasingly hard to ignore the attraction between the two of them, it is like no time has passed, and this is not sitting well with Libby as she still wants to be angry with him for what he had done in the past. As the story progresses Libby learns things about Jude that seem to contradict what type of person she thought he was, and we start to see that the facade that he has put on for all these years, is not the true Jude, and maybe he is someone that she can fall in love with all over again. And let me just mention that when we find out what the meaning of his tattoo on his back is, I guarantee you will do the same thing I did and go "awwww" aloud!




    Overall I really enjoyed this book with all the twists and turns, and just when you think you have it pegged for who is the threat to Libby, it is thrown for a loop, and it is someone you may not have suspected at all, that was a great twist! The romance is not straight off the bat, and I liked that, we have to see these two characters find out who the other one is all over again, and figure out if that person is someone that they could be with, it was really nicely written. I am going to give this one a 4/5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't tell you how happy I am that I got a chance to 'meet' th

    I can't tell you how happy I am that I got a chance to 'meet' the Wilde brothers. The five men own a security company in Washington, DC - and boy... they sound mouthwatering. Wilde Nights in Paradise is the story of Jude Wilde and his ex-fiancee Elizabeth "Libby" Pruitt.

    When Libby begins receiving increasingly more unclothed paper dolls representing herself, she's creeped out, but not scared. The fact that the man she's prosecuting is out on bail is probably the reason, and he doesn't want to hurt her - just scare her. When she finds out that her father has hired a bodyguard for her, she's not exactly thrilled. In fact, when she finds out he chose Jude - the man who cheated on her the day after they got engaged - she's positively livid.

    Even though Jude is the 'screw-up' in the Wilde family, he's grown up a lot over the years. He knows that this isn't a job he should take, but his older brother, Greer, insists. He shows up at Libby's office, and first thing off the bat - he kisses her. Their cover as reunited lovers isn't the only reason either.

    Mr. Pruitt has a cabin in Vermont where he wants to stow his daughter and her new shadow, but Jude knows better. Isolated isn't where they want to be. They need to be protected, but near civilization. He once had a dream of a honeymoon in the Florida Keys, and since his buddy Seth still owns a house there, that's where they'll go. Seth spent a year as a POW, and his place sports top-notch security because of it.

    They both ignore the chemistry they've always had until they can't anymore. So 'Libs' proposes they just give in. One night. She offers him one night to take what they've always enjoyed about each other. And man... they're STEAMING hot. To Jude's dismay, she stays true to her word and becomes polite, yet distant the day after.

    He decides that if he could make the change into the decent man he'd become, she could stand to loosen up a little. He wears her down, and they fall back into bed together. Sex only goes so far though. During the long days with nothing to do, they snipe at each other. Seth's house has never been as clean as when Libby has energy to burn. So Jude takes her out for a day of fun and romance. It was the perfect day until he notices they have a tail on the way home.

    He endures the ass-chewing from his brother so he can get the boys back home to check into the guy who's stalking and threatening Libby. He's chilled to the bone when he learns that the man had been brutally murdered before they were followed, so now they have a new person to track down.

    Ultimately, Seth's panic room gets some use - but the true culprit is caught at last. Then came the really hard part. Jude admits that he still loves Libby and has never stopped. He's not going to let her get away this time, but he also can't tell her the truth about what happened to break them up all those years ago. Before he can decide on a course of action, history inadvertently repeats itself, and he figures it's probably for the best. But as we all know, true love always wins, right?

    An incredible story with hot Hot HOT sex scenes. LOVED it. I can't believe this is Tonya Burrows' second novel, but I will definitely be reading anything she puts out from now on. In fact, I'm going back to read SEAL of Honor - where Seth is apparently introduced. Maybe he'll get his own book someday. (hint, hint). I also can't wait to get more acquainted with the remaining Wilde boys - so I've got my eye on you Tonya!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jude Wilde, has always been the family screw up, and he definite

    Jude Wilde, has always been the family screw up, and he definitely screwed up when he left the only woman he loved eight years before. When he’s asked to guard Libby Pruitt, his one and only love, he doesn’t want to. He’s afraid of looking back into his past, since he’s always been a never look back kind of guy.




    I loved Jude from the very beginning, I mean I even want to smack his brothers for not supporting their brother more. Seriously, but I understood, I mean he’s perpetuated the belief he’s a screw up.




    These two together is explosive, and it touches on Tonya Burrow’s other series HORNET, and I liked that little glimpse. There is this tenderness between the two, which made me sigh and wish for my own Jude. 




    With their past, it was understandable for Libby to be wary, since she only sees the façade that Jude shows the world. Watching Libby realize that Jude is so much more than the image he projects adds this delicious dimension to the story. 




    Ms. Burrows is truly a mistress with words, and I definitely will be spending more and more time in every world she gives me. Hopefully I don’t have to wait too long for future Wilde Security stories. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    Everyone should add this steamy read to their summer reading lis

    Everyone should add this steamy read to their summer reading list. I could not put this book down...read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Former Marine Jude has a motto: "never look back". He'

    Former Marine Jude has a motto: "never look back". He's all about moving forward in life and having a good time. His words to live
    by become a little harder to follow when his past is literally shoved at him, in the form of a gorgeous woman, Libby. Libby and Jude
    were together for a year in college and ended on less than favorable terms. But it's in his job description at Wilde Security to protect
    her against a stalker and although they'd rather never see each other again, they are forced to fake a relationship for Libby's safety.
    Cooped up together for safety in paradise, can they resist each other or will they give in to temptation?

    Wilde Nights in Paradise was a fantastic read. It was well-written, had romance, intrigue and laugh out loud moments; along with some 
    first-rate characters, Wilde Nights left me wanting more with its wit and steamy love scenes.

    Jude was a joy to read about. Jude is a classic bad-boy with tattoos and the no-care reputation. At first, you sort of love to hate him.
    But as the story goes on, you learn about different aspects in Jude's life and start to realize why Jude is they way he is and you uncover 
    the side of Jude that no one gets to see.

    Wilde Nights is a well-written, fun read that I would definitely recommend to others. I'm excited to read more about The Wilde brothers
    as well as the HORNET team.

    I received an ARC from the publisher for an honest and unbiased opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    I bought this book yesterday and stayed up until about 3AM to fi

    I bought this book yesterday and stayed up until about 3AM to finish it.....I literally could NOT put it down!! WILDE NIGHTS IN PARADISE is the 2nd novel by new author, Tonya Burrows. It tells the story of Jude Wilde, the perpetual screw-up youngest sibling, who is haunted by a past tragedy, in a family of 5 brothers and Libby Pruitt, a successful DA who he loved and walked away from 8 years ago.
    When Libby’s life is threatened by a stalker, her overbearing Marine father hires Wilde Security, a company run by Jude and his brothers to protect his daughter and find out who the stalker is. Their relationship is turbulent and old wounds run deep as Jude moves Libby to a safe house until her stalker is caught. Their love-hate relationship runs through a gambit even as their passion is renewed.
    Tonya Burrows does an amazing job of showing all sides to this conflicted yet gun shy couple. Jude is a wounded soul who, like Peter Pan, never quiet grew up and Libby is a woman still fighting to heal a heart broken many years before. Burrows shows her readers all sides of Jude and Libby…their sorrow, their passion and their humor……and WILDE NIGHTS IN PARADISE is a perfect blend of all three.
    It’s not often that a book brings me to actual tears, but as Jude fights his demons and Libby looks deep inside herself to find the woman she wants to be, I found myself wiping away tears as I read WILDE NIGHTS IN PARADISE. I thoroughly enjoyed Burrows’ first novel SEAL OF HONOR and am looking forward to reading about the rest of the HORNET Team, but WILDE NIGHTS IN PARADISE totally blew me away. I can’t wait for the rest of the Wilde Security series and the chance to get to know the rest of the Wilde boys!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    I knew I was going to love this book the first few pages into it

    I knew I was going to love this book the first few pages into it. I love Jude's brothers! This book captured and held my attention from page one to the end. Humor, suspense, steamy love scenes, touching moments that bring tears to your eyes...it has it all. And I love that this series ties in with her HORNET series, so you MUST read SEAL OF HONOR, too! Another great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    I think we can all look back and see the one that got away the f

    I think we can all look back and see the one that got away the first love that never worked out, This story was told beautifully and kept me hooked all the way through i cant wait to see what Tonya burrows does with the other brothers! a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Never look back... That's Jude Wilde's motto in life, but when

    Never look back...

    That's Jude Wilde's motto in life, but when Wilde Security is contacted to protect Elizabeth, his ex-fiance, his words to live by become a little harder to follow...

    The one that got away...

    Libby has been receiving death threats and her father hired Wilde Security to protect her..
    and the only one who can provide this job is Jude.. her ex-fiance-slashed-"cheating bastard"

    First of all, I'm a big fan of Tonya Burrows! So when I heard she's releasing a new book I was actually hoping it's going to be the HORNET series.. but when I found out that the characters in this story have connections to those in SOH, i got all giddy and excited! I saw the book cover and read the description of this book and I had the urged feeling that I gotta read it NOW!

    Both main characters are flawed and likeable.. but i gotta say Jude is my favorite here. He's a one hunky alpha sexy man. He lives life with a devil may care attitude. He's a troublemaker and everyone in his family thinks he's a failure but throughout the book we get to see he has so much more. He's very protective and witty!

    Jude and Libby's chemistry is there and it was entertaining to read how they dealt with their past issues.

    For a reader who loves sexy alpha males, this story is filled with them! I felt like I was in a candy shop and couldn't decide which one to eat first! hehe! It was also fun to read the interaction between the Wilde brothers.

    Overall, love this book!! Wilde Nights in Paradise is not just about second chance love story but also about relationship with the family with a hot sex scenes and suspense throw in it! A fantastic fast paced story and you'll have a hard time putting it down!

    I'm definitely a big fan and I'm excited to read more about the rest of THE WILDE BROTHERS and HORNET team~!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Of all the Books from Entangled that I've read recently (which i

    Of all the Books from Entangled that I've read recently (which is a lot!!) this is probably my favorite. I expected it to be your typical 2nd chance love story with a bitter woman. Well she was bitter but the story was so much more than that.

    First you have Jude. He's the youngest of the Wilde brothers. He's the last to join up at Wilde security. He has a guilty conscience and because of it has assumed his self appointed role as family f$&* up. He feels so strongly that his brothers think of him that way, that he doesn't even try to prove them wrong.

    Then there's Libby. She was a carefree college student who thought she had found the man she would marry... Until it ended. Her response to her heartbreak was to throw herself into work and to not look back. She's worked hard as a prosecutor.

    Libby's been receiving threatening letting. The letters coincide with the release of a dangerous murder defendants release on bail. Libby's father is afraid so he hires Wilde Security. That in and of itself would be a lot to handle. Add to it the fact that Libby and Jude used to be engaged and it becomes almost too much for them both.

    As I said I had expected this to be a second chance love story but there were so many different aspects to this story. Libby and Jude both make discoveries about who they were and who they are. They deal with moe than just their relationship. Libby deals with her relationship with her dad, and Jude deals with his relationships with his brothers and his parents. I also liked the tie in with Seal of Honor: Hornet. That's next on my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    My Thoughts: I love stories filled with hunky men. And, fortunat

    My Thoughts: I love stories filled with hunky men. And, fortunately, it seems as if Jude’s story is only the beginning of a Wilde fantasy! I found myself very invested in the back story of our hero, Jude Wilde, and heroine, Libby Pruitt. And, even though I pegged the bad guy from the very beginning, it didn’t detract at all from my enjoyment. The personal growth of the two main characters, as well as that of a couple of the minor characters, unfolded at just the right time to make their changes believable. Tonya Burrows’ Wilde Nights in Paradise from Entangled’s Brazen line gets a crisp military salute!

    This is one book that will defiinitely not gather cyber dust bunnies on your e-reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Right from the opening chapter this was fabulous and totally liv

    Right from the opening chapter this was fabulous and totally lived up to its title.
    Well-written, it has wonderful characters, a captivating story with surprises, suspense and action along with moments that make you laugh, those that pull on your heartstrings and passionate steamy moments that will leave you wishing you were the leading lady.

    Jude Wilde is simply delectable. An ex-marine with an air of the bad boy about him, he's tattooed, pierced and drips sexy...panty-busting, knee-quivering, heart-fluttering sexiness. As 1/5 of the Wilde Brothers security firm, he may see see himself as the family failure, but underneath the tough exterior is much more; he's protective, cheeky, witty and good at what he does. Libby Pruitt, prosecuting attorney, is being stalked. With a murder trial upcoming and the defendant out on bail she's in danger. A strong, independent, feisty, stubborn women, she doesn't see the need for protection. But Daddy does and entrusts her into Jude's care. Only snag? They were engaged 8 years previously and it didn't end well....

    Both were such each characters to love and I knew within the first couple of chapters that I was going to become totally invested in them and their journey. With stubborn determined natures and their history, there was bickering, banter, fun, sexual tension, passion and sizzling sexcapades. And it all was perfectly balanced with lovely touching moments and those where my heart went out to them. Jude stole my heart, but there are 4 Wilde brothers to go, each seemingly complex and with their own stories to tell, so whether I remain faithful to him, only time will tell ;)

    Definitely a book I'd recommend. The first book from Tonya Burrows I've read, it won't be the last.

    I received this book as an ARC from the publisher for an honest and unbiased opinion(however I shall most definitely be purchasing it).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The story begins with a glimpse into the dynamics of the Wilde b

    The story begins with a glimpse into the dynamics of the Wilde brothers. Jude is the youngest, and he’s dubbed himself “the family f*ckup”. According to his older brothers, he can’t do anything right. When we get a glimpse of his past with Libby from her POV, we assume that Jude really is a jerk who deserves to wallow in his misery and grovel until the cows come home. He may be in his thirties, but he still lives life with a devil may care attitude. As the story progresses, it becomes clear that there is more to Jude than meets the eye, and why would he feel the need to put on such a convincing façade?

    After the devastating event of losing her fiancé and love all in the same night, Libby has thrown herself into her work. The Libby of the present seems so at odds with the Libby from Jude’s past. She no longer lets loose and has become rather stiff and proper. Jude intends to change all that, if Libby will let him get close enough to try. She doesn’t want to be nice to him, she doesn’t want to feel the desire burning hot for him, but she has needs.

    This pairing had chemistry, as far as opposites attract or slap-slap-kiss tropes will allow, but I didn’t feel a connection to them, nor did I find myself feeling invested in their happiness (well, Jude to a point more than Libby). Libby was one of those characters who loved at a very young age, and because of one bad experience she either couldn’t or didn’t want to fall in love again. She let it define her. These two bickered throughout the story, a lot. Some of it was really funny, and other times I just cringed. Jude never denied that his past was littered with nameless, faceless women. He didn’t seem to have a filter when he’d blurt some of that out just to rile Libby up, or pay her back for an equally unthoughtful comment. For someone who once loved her, and kind of still does, I found that a bit odd. I like snark, but in some areas, I felt like it was a bit much. Their arguing made them sound really juvenile that I completely forgot she was a lawyer and he was a former Marine. Their hot and cold behavior was a recurring theme throughout the story that began to get a bit old past the half way mark. They seemed unwilling or incapable of actually communicating. The truth behind their breakup isn’t revealed until the end. While it was a tad bit over the top, I understood why Jude let her assume the worst about him.

    There were two surprises that I got a little excited about, namely that Vaughn has a connection to Gabe Bristow and Travis Quinn, and we meet Seth Harlan who was considered for the sniper position in SEAL of Honor (HORNET, #1). Overall, it was enjoyable. The story never slowed down, it kept moving forward from one thing to the next. The sex was hot and uninhibited. I liked the full reveal of Jake’s “baggage” and the closure he found at the end. The suspense served no real purpose other than to force the hero and heroine to confront their past and see where the future would lead them. Jude and Libby may not have been my cup of tea, but I find myself more intrigued about the other brothers, especially Reece. I would definitely read more from this author because I find things I both like and dislike in equal measure. It has its ups and downs, but when the author hits the right amount of snark, I enjoy it immensely.

    Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3