Customer Reviews for

The Wilde Women

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguingly rugged and sensual

    I loved this book because Wall manages to bring every character's history to the forefront. While the Wilde Women are the talk of the town, everyone is a main character because noone's voice is insignificant. It's kind of like watching a soap opera. You get to intimately know everyone's backgrounds and motivations. Wall is big picture-minded. Like a soap opera, she successfully switches scenes while demonstrating how each one is interconnected to tell the bigger story. I also love this book because it portrays the strength of women despite their vulnerabilities and dependence on men. Wall confidently explains their ulterior motives in a "do whatcha gotta do to survive" kind of way while simultaneously paying homage to the secret arsenal every woman possesses. The Wilde women are unapologetic and daring; sustaining readers' interest. Their history and life events threads through everyone else's story; linking them like a strand of pearls. Wall's voice is mysteriously tough, rugged, sensual, and mystical. This is definitely a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    wildly humorous

    a racy plot with unexpected twists and some good belly laughs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    A good read

    Not as good as Rock Orchard, but still a good read, I really appreciate the writer's style and clever turn of phrase. Would like to see a sequel to this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly Good

    At first I really didn't think that I was going to care at all about what happened to the characters but, by the end of the book, I found myself touched. There was a depth to the characters and their actions and emotions that I wasn't expecting based on the writing style and the tone of the beginning. There were still a few things that I thought could definitely have been better and a few sketchy areas in the plotline but overall it was a really great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    Not at all worth the BARGAIN price.

    I don't typically write reviews, but I'm slightly confused by the positive reviews for this book and felt like there should be some perspective shed onto the situation. The book I read was not at all wonderful or hilarious. In fact, it was a CHALLENGE to finish. Paula Wall is a talented writer, but this story and the multitude of characters and changing perspectives is dizzying and just plain annoying. There is very little chance to get to know any of the individual characters and I have yet to figure out why this tale of an entire town is titled, The Wilde Women when they barely make longer than cameo appearances in the text. This book definitely is all talk and very little follow through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Another good one from Paula Wall

    This is a really good book and a fast read. Not only do you meet Pearl and Kat, but you meet lots of interesting characters from the town! I hope Paula Wall writes a second book telling us what happens to the characters in the town!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fascinating historical romance

    In 1929 in Five Points, Tennessee, Pearl Wilde finds her fiancé Bourne Cavanagh, oldest son of the owner of Cavanagh Whiskey Distillery, having sex with her sister Kat, who to add insult to injury is wearing her shoes. Pearl takes her shoes back and leaves for Chicago. As she travels overseas and across America, Pearl sends home post cards to Kat telling her to go to hell. However, late in 1932 she returns home to open up a whore house..................... Pearl enters the dilapidated hardware store owned by Bud Marshall. The men who hang out there are awed by her except the handsomest nineteen year old Eddie McCowan. She hires him to work for her and tells his mom Maysie that she is pleased with her son¿s work. Bud cleans up his store and Maysie persuades the men to accept work at Pearl¿s place. The Mayor informs the town council they will do nothing to prevent Pearl opening up her business, the first new one in town in a decade........................ Kat works at the Randolph and Hughes Shirt Factory where she sews sleeves onto the shirts. Mason Hughes, the son of the owner, sees her and wants her. She rejects his advances. Still Mason visits Kat who tells him to leave, but unbeknownst to both of them Pearl watches and realizes her sister wants this man because she pushes away those she desires she now has her tool of revenge......................... The ensemble cast contains unique characters that bring to life Depression Era Tennessee while the story line has an underlying whimsical feel as the Wilde sisters wink at American history yet brings a sense of time and place to the delightful story line. The final wild twist will surprise readers as Paula Wall provides the audience with a fascinating historical romance starring two Wilde women, their men, and the fully developed townsfolk who observe the sibling war......................... Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1