Customer Reviews for

Wilderness

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

this book was beautifully written.  I am from the Pacific Northw

this book was beautifully written.  I am from the Pacific Northwest and could see the moss on the nurse log and fee the moist air.  The sceens from the civil war gave me another, I feel, more realistic view of what it must have been like during that time of poor fire ar...
this book was beautifully written.  I am from the Pacific Northwest and could see the moss on the nurse log and fee the moist air.  The sceens from the civil war gave me another, I feel, more realistic view of what it must have been like during that time of poor fire arms and even poorer health care.  

posted by 4046996 on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wilderness is an exciting story about Abel Truman, a brave Civil

Wilderness is an exciting story about Abel Truman, a brave Civil War veteran, and his dog. Abel lives in Washington and wishes to make a final journey across the Olympic Mountains. The book is very difficult to get into because the detail is so great; it is difficult to...
Wilderness is an exciting story about Abel Truman, a brave Civil War veteran, and his dog. Abel lives in Washington and wishes to make a final journey across the Olympic Mountains. The book is very difficult to get into because the detail is so great; it is difficult to get past each scene. Lance Weller will write a page in great detail about a tree he found in the woods. It is almost annoying at some points because you just want to get to the story.
Overall, the story line is great because of the inspiration. Abel is an extremely inspiring man throughout the entire story. The sentences are extremely long and challenging. Along with a plot that slowly develops, it can be tough to read. When reading this book you need to keep reading and push through the beginning part. Also, the book goes back and forth between background of Abel and the actual story, so it does get confusing.  

posted by jake3322 on November 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Wilderness is an exciting story about Abel Truman, a brave Civil

    Wilderness is an exciting story about Abel Truman, a brave Civil War veteran, and his dog. Abel lives in Washington and wishes to make a final journey across the Olympic Mountains. The book is very difficult to get into because the detail is so great; it is difficult to get past each scene. Lance Weller will write a page in great detail about a tree he found in the woods. It is almost annoying at some points because you just want to get to the story.
    Overall, the story line is great because of the inspiration. Abel is an extremely inspiring man throughout the entire story. The sentences are extremely long and challenging. Along with a plot that slowly develops, it can be tough to read. When reading this book you need to keep reading and push through the beginning part. Also, the book goes back and forth between background of Abel and the actual story, so it does get confusing.  

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    It¿s difficult, but for the person that pushes through it, amazi

    It’s difficult, but for the person that pushes through it, amazing!




    “If you like sentences that, due to a multitude of adjectives and adverbs, go on for five or six lines, this is the book for you.” This book is difficult to read because of the strong vocab and description. The book can go on and be very boring, but as long as you follow the story so many incredible lessons and stories come out of Abel. The read is very slow but, if you are good at understanding difficult texts this book is amazing. I can’t stress enough that this book is amazing yet it is very difficult. This book has a lot of power struggles and through the Marxist lens you can understand these power changes. The dog always obeys Abel, Abel often fought with other men during the war over power. Abel fought to establish right from wrong and changed power many times throughout the book. 
    If I had to recommend this book for someone I would definitely recommend it to advanced male readers that are interested in slavery, history, and war. The book is difficult to read and its Lexile level we estimated to be 950-1100 because of the vocab and sentence structure. The book has a lot of war and slavery in the plot so if that interests you, read it and don’t give up on it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    this book was beautifully written.  I am from the Pacific Northw

    this book was beautifully written.  I am from the Pacific Northwest and could see the moss on the nurse log and fee the moist air.  The sceens from the civil war gave me another, I feel, more realistic view of what it must have been like during that time of poor fire arms and even poorer health care.  

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I have always appreciated authors who can vividly describe a wil

    I have always appreciated authors who can vividly describe a wilderness setting in a way that makes me appreciate the beauty of the area even more than fine photo.  This book is about pain, regret and redemption.  Really quite inspiring.  Well worth your time.  If you like Charles Frazier or if you enjoy the way Cormac McCarthy describes a landscape, you will really like this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Moving

    Loved this book . Well defined good verses evil.
    I loved Abel and his difficult life broke my heart. He never gives up hope and his love for his dog is sweet.






    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Amazingly detailed, loved this book. This is the next great Ame

    Amazingly detailed, loved this book. This is the next great American novel. An instant classic. Well worth the time to read with intensity.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Not sure about this book yet

    Even though I have just started this book, I am finding it very difficult to read. The author seems to take great pains to make his writing lyrical, using unfamiliar words - his writing almost seems forced to me. So far I have had a difficult time even following who is who. So at 75 pages out of 250+ pages, I am not sure if I can continue to read it. I read to relax and enjoy a book, and this book does not do either for me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Amazing book

    Amazing book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    The Wilderness

    You were a pretty wild kit. All you did was suckle and sleep. But when you were four moons... you ran out the nursery wanting to play and saw some kits plaaying mossball. But then a leaf flutters past you. <p> &starf If you choose to follow the leaf, go to next res. <p> &starf If you choose to play with the kits, go to play with me res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    I just could not get into this

    Might pick it up again sometime later, but not now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Very Good

    I had a hard time getting into it because of the switching from past to present. It was, however, worth the struggle.

    Very good, if you like history. Descriptions were amazing. Plot took a bit to materialize but it was just plain GOOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Good read

    I liked it! Very well written. Actually bought it for my hubby, but ended up reading it myself. It was just intriguing , keep me interested and wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    By pass this explotation of war misery and if you really care

    Volunteer at your VA hospital protest the wars all and any if you ckaim to be christuan remember The not kill clause only one not reversible might look up a Friends Meeting or Mennonite Meeting donate the moneyto lical foid oabtry instead

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1