Customer Reviews for

Wildfire: A Paranormal Mystery with Cowboys & Dragons

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book i have from this author.I received this b

    This is the first book i have from this author.I received this book at a release party,wasn't too sure about a dragon shifter but very glad i read it. Well written, interesting,romance and mystery thrown together .I love paranormal books and toss in cowboys and texas i will look for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I love

    I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

    I love the dragon shapeshifter angle. The author does a great job with the storyline and the characters are well developed. I fell in love with Lynn and other characters and at the end of the book was wanting more. This is one of those books that can be classified under numerous genres and will appeal to a lot of readers. This is a definite read and I can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was pulled into this story immediately by the concept: a small

    I was pulled into this story immediately by the concept: a small asian girl who shapeshifted into being a big, scary, oh-yes-I-can-kick- butt dragon. The story started right off with the action, and I was sure it was going to be right up my alley. And then...not so much. Apparently, dragons are horny practically all the time (not the person, the dragon, so it's natural to be eyeing up everybody as a potential sexual partner, even if you do suspect them of arson). The book was really well written, it really was, but I think I would have enjoyed it more without quite so much dragon lust! However, it was a very different kind of paranormal romance, so big points there. I do recommend it if you like the idea of a dragon-shifter, a little mystery and a little lustiness. I got this book free in exchange for an unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As a bit time lover of old school fantasy stories, I always love

    As a bit time lover of old school fantasy stories, I always love when I see dragons and magic brought into more contemporary story lines.  Mina Khan does the wonderfully with her dragon-shifter, Lynn Alexander.  She's not some little petite dragon - she's the real deal and could probably eat you whole if she got angry enough.  After experience a series of somewhat prophetic dreams she flies off to check on her friend Jen and finds her house about to go up in flames.  When she senses the presence of a powerful male dragon in the area she wonders if he might be the cause of the blaze, which is just one in a string of what looks like arson.




    I loved Lynn.  She was just the right mixture of tough and timid, confidant and unsure, all at the same time.  Just when she thinks she has everything finally figured out, a series of events changes everything putting her friends, both new and old, in great danger.  She will need to learn to trust and balance the dragon in her in order to save everyone.




    Through all this mystery and detective work, she meets a few eligible bachelors - all of which could be the bad guy.  When her heart settles on the one that looks the most guilty, she resolves herself to finding proof and living with her broken heart.  I think the only small part I didn't like about this was at times her best friend, Jen, got a little on my nerves.  This is a great story for lovers of crime drama, romance, or fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Even while Lynn struggles with guilt over her grandmothers death

    Even while Lynn struggles with guilt over her grandmothers death she jumps to help her friend when fire is threatening her. She is a shapeshifting dragon and while that helps her she still struggle to figure out who is behind the fires. She is having some troubles because she is tempted by a hot fireman and a smooth city developer. She has to keep her dragon hormones under control if she is going to help her friend. There is a mystery to solve and Lynn needs to take the time to get over her grief as well.




    I really enjoyed this book as it's not the typical shifter book. For one the shifter is a dragon and there isn't a ton of that out there. Another thing is this book doesn't rely heavily on the romance. While it is there the mystery is more to this story to me anyways. Lynn is a wonderful character that will stay with you till the end. You really get to know her and what drives her. Her friend Jen is someone else I loved. She seems like a real person and as Lynn is helping her she is also helping Lynn cope with things. They make good friends as they seem to settle each other in ways. Jack and Henry both have great qualities but you are never sure whether they are the good guys or the bad ones until the end. The author does a great job with all of the characters. The mystery is one you get the more you read. I will say at one time I thought I know who did it only to be wrong. I kept turning pages to see if I was right. This is the first book I have read by this author but it won't be the last as she does a phenomenal job with this book. Recommend for anyone who loves a book with dragons, mystery or just want a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    This is the first book that I've read of Mina Khan's and I must

    This is the first book that I've read of Mina Khan's and I must say that it did intrigue me. I am looking forward to reading any of her other books. I have liked reading books about shape shifters for years now but you don't read about dragons often. And that made this book different from the rest. I liked that there was back story and some flashbacks to help explain what has already happened so the new reader won't feel left out at all. Though I could see where Lynn was coming, from past pain and traumatic events involving someone she was close either, I felt that she fought so hard to be separate from others that it made her feel almost awkward to try to integrate into her friend Jen's town. The craziness of the plot kept me turning the page and trying to guess who the fire starter was. Can't wait to read her other books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I love books that shift and twist genres, and Mina Khan excels a

    I love books that shift and twist genres, and Mina Khan excels at this. I'll post a longer review later, but for now I have to say that this novel is paranormal in a way that no other paranormal I've read, it's romance with some serious sexual tension, and in case that's not enough, the backbone of the story isn't the romance or the mystery arsonist, but family, tradition, and acceptance of who you are and where you came from. So yeah, there's also a lot of great character development here. It's a quick read because you can't put it down till you're done - be prepared to stay up all night if you start it after work. I was lucky. I had a long, long, long plane ride to devote to this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Really great shape-shifter story. I liked the whole concept and

    Really great shape-shifter story. I liked the whole concept and the characters involved all except for the villain of course. The story kept me guessing on who the villain was for the first part of the book and it's nice to not have it so obvious at the beginning. It doesn't hit me so much as a romance because of the suspicion keeping the heroine and hero separated even though there is an attraction and sexual tension between both. It comes off as more of a fantasy with sparks of romance, but the story was still very good and kept my attention which is hard to do when Supernatural is on ;3.
    My only complaints about the book is that there are some areas where mindspeaking is involved but the words are not italicized or made any different from the normal text so it caught me off guard, there are some punctuation errors towards the end of the book, and finally I wish it was longer! I didn't want the story to end and I wanted to see more of a development between Lynn and Jack's relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1