Customer Reviews for

Wildflowers of Terezin

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wildflowers of Terezin - I recommend it

    I have to admit that I was hesitant to open the newest entry from multi-published Robert Elmer. Not because of the author, who has several adult novels and a non-fiction under his belt, and has already proven his ability to write.

    My concern was the time and place Wildflowers of Terezin. The suffering of WWII can be too graphic. But I was intrigued by the setting, Denmark. My ignorance never ceases to amaze me and here I found another aspect of it. I found knew nothing of the Danish people during WWII and Danish Jews.

    The story of Steffen and other characters revealed an epoch in the broad canvas of that terrible war.

    Word of caution, the beginning was a little dull, mostly Steffen. He couldn't seem to comprehend the evil loose in the world. I wanted to slap him. "Wake up. Don't you understand the danger?" Many people didn't understand until it was upon them. I found the character believable. But once he did see the terror approaching he acted, putting himself in danger. It was fascinating to confirm the historical facts of the bravery of the Danes in helping to save thousands of their citizens.

    A good read, I recommend it.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Unusual and a good read.

    WWII books, concentration-camp books, and love stories are all rather predictable by now, but this one was unusual. Because it didn't follow the "usual" formulas, I enjoyed reading it, even though I generally dislike love stories and Christian books. This one was obviously "Christian" but wasn't preachy or off-putting, as most are (in my experience). The love-story aspect wasn't off-putting, either; so many are, because they seem to emphasize the self-centeredness of the characters. This one, in contrast, showed that people in love can become less self-centered and more open to their world than they were before. The "world" of the characters kept expanding, often in unexpected directions. I wish more books were like this.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Can Love Bloom in the Darkness

    Robert Elmer did it again. When I began reading this book I found myself in a story world so real I had to continually remind myself it was fiction. Some would say that is because the story is based on true historical events. And, while there is truth in the statement, only Robert Elmer could make the line between history and fiction eschew this way.

    Hanne Abrahamsen is a nurse in Denmark during the fall of 1943. When the Gestapo begins deporting Jews to concentration camps, her chance meeting with Lutheran pastor Steffen Petersen opens a doorway to freedom. Steffen is drawn into the resistance and as he risks his own life to help Hanne and her family, his faith is challenged and strengthened. Can love bloom in the darkness as wildflowers grow in concentration camps?

    Readers will be drawn into the story, the history, and wish with all their hearts they could change the way things happened. I highly recommend this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting to read about the Jewish Danes,learned alot. You never know what is going to move you to do things for others. A little predictable, but enjoyed reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    A story of the German occupation of Denmark, and the round-up of

    A story of the German occupation of Denmark, and the round-up of the Danish Jews, who were shipped to the prison camp at Terezin, Czechoslavakia. A book that tears your heart out, but one of faith and love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    An oh so sad but true lesson that mankind has never seemed to learn throughout the ages.

    We as a part of the human race have no right to enslave or torture any other part of the human race because of their color,creed or religion. This was an excellently written book and it hefd my interest from beginning to end.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Excellent!

    I found this book to be a excellent work of historical fiction. I learned many things about WWII in Denmark that I never knew. I was please to discover that there were many Danes who attempted to help Jews escape the Nazi's attempt to round them up from Denmark. The characters are well developed and the book is realistic without being offensive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    A must read!  A story of unselfishness, a forbidden love, and th

    A must read!  A story of unselfishness, a forbidden love, and the tradegy of war.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommended.

    A very good war time love story between two people caught in the throws of WWII. People of different faiths working together for the same cause while discovering they are in love.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Serious subject matter but well written

    Good reading. The serious subject matter, while true, made for some difficult concentration. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Pathetic

    Lacks emotional depth and realism. I'd like to see some real- life human beings. I'd like to see people with souls.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Meh. I read this all the way through and I really wanted to lik

    Meh.

    I read this all the way through and I really wanted to like it. At points, I even kinda did like it. But mostly, the author's writing style just plodded along without any real purpose or energy. So really, the pastor guy only had to meet Hanne a handful of times to fall madly in love with her and decide to actively resist the Nazis? Please. I wanted this to be so much more than it was. In short, I'm glad it was Nook freebie when I got it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    wonderful

    Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Great

    Good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Extremely good

    I loved this book. It is interesting and intriguing along with some 'heart wrenching' moments. If you enjoy reading about the II world war, this is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommened

    I am a big fan of anything WW2. This was by far the best read on the market!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend!

    I really enjoyed this fictionalized account of the Nazi occupation of Denmark. Robert Elmer held tru to the historical context and built a great story of a pastor and a jewish nurse helping Jews escape Denmark before they are shipped to the camps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Makes an impact

    This was a good read and a little hold your breath as you read. I am a novice when it comes to this time period so i cannot verify accuracy but the book does give opportunity for the reader to think & ponder what would we have done if we were any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful presentation of a heartbreaking era..

    Robert Elmer has earned my respect as a writer. I have read many fiction and non-fiction books on the hell faced by Jews, Poles, and an abundance of unprovoked martyrs while the evil raked Europe. This book opened up another territory of this to me; all the while providing the subsequent affection I am sure occurred more than we can imagine. A little bit of a Romeo/Juliet twist brought about warmth in the face of terror. Thank you Robert Elmer, look forward to reading more of you as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4