Customer Reviews for

Wildthorn

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing. No other words!

This book is an instant fav. All the twists and turns in this book you will be talking outloud to the charcters in this book! And oh god the ending blew my mind!!! I loved this book! Please read!

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was okay...

I think it did start out slow and dragged on for longer than was really necessary. You do spend most of the book waiting for something to happen. However, I also was thinking this book was going to turn out differently. I wish someone had told me that the main chara...
I think it did start out slow and dragged on for longer than was really necessary. You do spend most of the book waiting for something to happen. However, I also was thinking this book was going to turn out differently. I wish someone had told me that the main character is a lesbian. That makes the love interest parts of the novel totally different.

posted by AnonymousTX on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Amazing. No other words!

    This book is an instant fav. All the twists and turns in this book you will be talking outloud to the charcters in this book! And oh god the ending blew my mind!!! I loved this book! Please read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wildthorn was an Excellent novel

    Wildthorn was definitely a different kind of novel. Jane is an excellent author who weaves the scene into reality with her words, and she creates a very believable atmosphere.

    Louisa was a brave young woman. Not only did she defy society's ideals with her choice of occupation, but also with her choice of lover. I will not lie...that part threw me for a bit, but I chose to overlook it and enjoy the novel for what it was. Eliza was a very kind and courageous character. She helped Louisa knowing that she could be caught and dismissed from her post...or worse. I really liked her, and I became fond of her quickly. Louisa's brother (and some of her other relatives) were a little messed up. I just wanted to strangle them for all the pain they caused her.

    Jane creates a very believable environment in the asylum. Some of the acts committed there were enough to make me cry at the injustice of it. She is a very good author, and I hope to read more from her in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written historical fiction

    I could not help but feel so angry for Louisa. She dealt with such a great injustice against her, I could hardly believe the outcome of the story. She's definitely a very strong character especially with the odds not in her favor. I liked how she's portrayed as not a typical Victorian English woman. She was more of a tomboy and wanted to follow in her father's footsteps. Unfortunately she just happened to be born in the wrong century. I liked how she didn't think she acted any different, and in fact thought the 'girly' girls were just odd because they did not share the same interests as she did.

    Of all characters I loathed Tom. I really did. He was spiteful, horrible, cruel, and he deserved a whole lot of pain than he got. I'd have to say he's one of the most hated characters I have ever encountered so far in a book. Phyllis was also another character I did not care for, and although her ending was a little more satisfying than Tom's, I thought she didn't really receive her proper come uppins.

    Overall, the plot was good and very well written. I thought the writing did a good job in capturing how it felt to be in an asylum during the Victorian Age. It's bleak, and depressing, and situations could potentially get worse should you become 'uncooperative'. It's an eye opener, and horrible to read because the reader is aware of Louisa's mental health, but also reading on how she got there in the first place is shocking and horrifying.

    As for the romance in this book, it may not be for everyone, I sort of figured who Louisa would be with and it's predictable. Some argue why is this even necessary. True, but also realize that without the love, Louisa might not have been strong enough to endure what she had to go through and it was what kept her going.

    This was an eye opening read, and although dark and bleak throughout most of the book, there is a good satisfying ending. It shows how they used to think back then, and what was the norm and what was not. It's hard to read without feeling some sort of anger but it's also a satisfying read because Louisa is one of the strongest characters I have ever read so far. To have gone through what she had, would have taken a lot of strength both mentally and physically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo

    Louisa Cosgrove is on her way to be a companion to the sister of her brother's acquaintance. Her mother insisted she require a chaperone on the long carriage ride. Louisa can't believe she requires one, but she quietly goes along with the unhappy woman. But Louisa is surprised when they wind up at the wrong place. As she is ushered from the carriage, the house staff start calling her Lucy Childs. Immediately, Louisa believes there is a mistake. What seems to be a misunderstanding soon turns to a nightmare. For Louisa has been brought to a mental hospital and is being treated as a patient. No one will allow her to see the person in charge, and no one will refer to her by her real name, Louisa. It isn't until Louisa is befriended by an aide at the hospital, Eliza, that she gains an ally. But Louisa finds herself in trouble and is soon transferred to a horrible wing of the facility. While she is on this ward, Eliza tells her the most terrifying news of all. Eliza has found a way to gain access to Louisa's chart, and she tells Louisa the name on the chart of who committed her. Louisa's life turns to pure hell as she comes to grips with who committed her and why they possibly would do such a thing. Louisa is determined to escape and confront the person who has put her in this situation. She can't fathom why her dreams of being a doctor would cause anyone problems. Though it is the olden days, her desire to be a physician isn't totally against the norm. WILDTHORN was such an amazing read. I totally didn't see how the story was going to play out, nor did I anticipate the surprises along the way. Louisa is a strong character and true to herself the entire time, even faced with the direst of situations. The chapters alternate between the past and the present, slowly allowing the reader to grasp the truth behind Louisa's situation. WILDTHORN was originally published in Great Britain in 2009. I'm pleased that it made its way to the United States. This is the first book that I've read by Jane Eagland, but it won't be the last. I devoured the story quickly and had to see how Louisa would get even with those against her. Also, how could you not want to pick this novel up? The cover is absolutely gorgeous in its simplicity!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing, simple as that.

    There aren't enough words to describe why this book was amazing. At it's core, it follows a girl who strives to be an individual in the society before it became okay for women to have aspirations in England. Further, there is the mystery element and even deeper there are twists and turns, and deeper there is love. I never thought I'd find a novel that features a sense of realism and something that pulls together a relateable element. SPOILERSPOILER: the fact that there is an LGBT element that is successfully worked into the novels storyline gives me hope for other authors to do things similar so that LGBT teens can have more novels for them to relate to and read. The fact that this aspect is treated as normally as possible and not as the main point of the novel (though at times it is) is wonderful. This just proves that this book is well balanced in every possible way.

    I recommend this novel to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    http://readingangel002.blogspot.com

    I don't really read a lot of historical novels, but this one looked so interesting I just had to give it a try. I'm so glad that I did! Wildthorn was an extremely engaging read. I devoured it all in one day. I was really surprised how much I enjoyed it!

    Can you imagine being put in a loony bin and being treated like complete crap just because you enjoyed reading and learning new things. Considered morally insane, all because you wanted to be a doctor? Well, that's what happens to poor Louisa. Not only is she locked up, but she is mistreated. I felt for her from the very beginning. She was such an easy character to relate too, since I too have an obvious love of reading :)

    I've heard other bloggers say that the romance was a surprise, but I went into this one knowing that there is a LGBT theme. The romance is so sweet though, and completely believable. I absolutely loved it. I realized who the love interest was going to be early on in the story, and it was a great match up in my opinion!

    Overall this was a touching story about how life really was back then, and the sad things that some women had to endure. I really enjoyed this one and recommend it to all of you YA fans!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Compelling Read

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** Louisa Cosgrove or Lucy Childs - what is her real name?

    Louisa has always been an unusual child. She longs to follow in her father's footsteps and become a doctor, but this occupation is frowned on for women of her class.

    Her family arrange for Louisa to work as a companion to a young girl, but instead of arriving at a large country house, she is locked in a mental asylum and told her name is Lucy Childs. Despite the cruel and unpleasant regime she is forced to lead in the asylum, Louisa clings to her identity and plans to escape. But how can she do this and where will she go? Her only friend is Eliza, one of the assistants.

    Wildthorn is an unusual book but definitely had me hooked from page one. I got a good understanding of the workings of the mental institutions of the Victorian era and how young ladies were not free to run their own lives, but were expected to obey their male relatives.

    Louisa's belief in herself makes the book so engrossing. Only once does she falter in her determination to escape the asylum. Out of place in her own era she would have fitted perfectly into today's world. Betrayed by those who were supposed to protect her, she perseveres in her fight to regain her freedom.

    Romance is not the main focus of this book. It doesn't need to be, the story moves at a strong pace keeping the reader engrossed and eager to find out what is going to happen next. The romance is necessary, although it appears to be superfluous until the end of the book when all is revealed.

    I would like to thank the author for writing such a well thought out and entertaining book. It is suitable for the older teenager rather than the juvenile reader, but would also be enjoyed by an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a unique and thrilling read!

    Truly something new and different, perfect for any reader tired of the old boy-meets-girl/vampire-meets-werewolf scene. Fast pace and fascinating, I can't wait to read this one again. Don't miss this splendid new teen read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Great Book

    "Excessive study, especially in one of the fair sex, often leads to insanity..."

    The Dangers of Excessive Learning: (girls who studied too much would become) "dogmatic and presumptuous, self-willed and arrogant, eccentric in dress and disagreeable in manner."

    Can you imagine living in times when this was the norm? When you could be deemed insane because you didn't want to be a housewife and mommy? Sounds crazy to us and we are lucky to live in the age that we do.

    This book was one hell of a ride! From page one I was grabbed by the throat and carried along. The writing was so alive that I felt like I was in Louise's body feeling the fear, the anger, the confusion that she was. I was in that asylum with her and it was as horrible to read as it had to be to live it. The fact that this book is based on true stories turns my stomach even more.

    I accused everyone in her family but was floored by the events that came out as the book went along. (Can't go into detail, read the book!!!) I loved the relationship between Louisa and Grace but at the same time I wanted to shake some sense into Grace!

    Eliza was a godsend. From the moment she entered the story to the end, she was an angel in disguise. I am not sure that I liked the ending but I did understand why it ended as it did.

    That's all you are getting from me. Find this book and read it. It says Young Adult but I wouldn't have called it that.

    Recommended to anyone, females especially and yes, young adults so they can appreciate what they have and what people had to endure do they could have it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1