Customer Reviews for

The Wildwater Walking Club

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Claire Cook captures everyday life and spins it into a story. She's witty, and just plain good. The Wildwater Walking Club is a scream. If you want a fun read, grab any one of Claire's books.

posted by KimCT on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

eh, it's ok.

They walk, and walk, and walk. Did not really keep me interested. It's pretty slow.

posted by khalv92 on October 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Great Read

    Claire Cook captures everyday life and spins it into a story. She's witty, and just plain good. The Wildwater Walking Club is a scream. If you want a fun read, grab any one of Claire's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    eh, it's ok.

    They walk, and walk, and walk. Did not really keep me interested. It's pretty slow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Get your Lavender Candle lit and sit back with this book

    I admit i saw this book at BNN Signed by the author and picked it up for that reason , read the outline and bought it. I have to admit i didnt know i was going to like it as much as i did. Along with little ideas for Lavender use thrown in here and there. Very cute book, but one question to Ms. Cook, if you make this in to a movie like you have before with past books can i be in it, any role will do, LOL. Anyhow i could relate as i became unemployeed, live in MA, Love Lavender and on a health kick and who doesnt love a romance, i know i sure do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I enjoyed this book!

    I had just finished reading another book by this author and decided I would read this one. I like stories about women and their relationships with each other. I enjoyed how the women meet and begin walking together, especially that early on they set a goal for themselves for walking a certain distance. It is probaBly a good book to read on vacation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    A Great Story

    I really enjoyed this book about the importance of friendships that are an integral part of our lives. The subject of the job layoff of the main character was timely in this economy. Many people are trying to reframe their priorities and their identities with the loss of their jobs. This book showed that people can come out of this situation in a positive manner, but they must be willing to "step outside of the box!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wild About THE WILDWATER WALKING CLUB REVIEW by Karen Haney

    Watch out Ya-Ya Sisters, Wives' Clubbers, and Sweet Potato Queens because the WALKERS have arrived! Claire Cook's new book THE WILDWATER WALKING CLUB and the walkers are taking over!

    In THE WILDWATER WALKING CLUB, Claire Cook gives us three wonderful women who are neighbors on Wildwater Way and at first don't even know each other. It all starts when Noreen Kelly's "boyfriend" convinces her to take a buyout from her corporate position in a shoe company, and she thinks she has made the best choice. However, she soon realizes that her love wasn't just working for the other company but was working her, and Noreen is dumped by the boyfriend and the company. In a fit of frustration and shock, she uses her actually void company ID and buys up every shoe in her size at the corporate shop for 50% off. With that, Noreen takes her shoes and heads home to Wildwater Way to try and figure out what is left of her life.

    Sure that her life is over, Noreen sees nothing around her but what she is missing. Not until she makes friends with Tess, her next door neighbor, does Noreen start to realize that maybe her life isn't over after all. Tess, the school teacher who is off for the summer, dealing with a college-bound daughter who isn't speaking to her mom, and Noreen start walking together and they start to talk to each other about life. A third member living on Wildwater Way comes to the group as they meet Rosie. Rosie knows she was doing the right thing moving into her parents' home after her mom died, bringing her family with her, and taking over the lavender farm on her parents' property, but it isn't what she had hoped for. In her friendship with Noreen and Rosie, she literally is able to walk into a different life.

    The three women begin to walk their way into a friendship that will turn out to be more than they ever expected. They walk and talk and even start to keep track of their steps using pedometers that Noreen also picked up at the "last shoe buy" she made. Sharing some of the shoes she bought with Tess and Rosie, is not the only thing that Noreen begins to share with these women. Their steps go from being more than just exercise as they take to new directions walking and in life. Noreen attends a career coaching group for unemployed people in her company and sees things through others eyes. She begins to build a better relationship with her own mother thanks to her friendship with Tess and watching Tess's relationship with her daughter. Hanging a clothesline becomes a political issue only found in real life in real writing like Claire Cook's. The walkers take a road trip to Seattle for a festival about lavender and along with all this there are the twists and turns, romances and families, characters and settings that make for a great read that only someone like Claire Cook can come up with. This might be called a 'good beach read' but believe me, you will not want to be sitting in a chair after reading this!

    The story is a fast and fun read, but also a learning experience. From this book have grown, and will continue to grow, groups of walkers who will see the value in what these women did and how it changed their lives. How Claire Cook could have known that this book would hit home with so many of us in these economically changing times is anyone's guess. I think that people who read this book will all take away something from it.Submitted by Karen Haney, AKA Kanellio

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    hreat read

    Fun read. Loved the various interests in this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Sammy

    I love cookies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Reality screams.

    Most moving for me was how I could relate to all three characters. Claire nailed it as far as bringing the main characters to the reader. So much so that I felt that I was one of them. Looking forward to reading another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2015

    If I could i would be part of this walking group.The conversatio

    If I could i would be part of this walking group.The conversations and the wit of these 3 women are very much the kind I have with my friends. I would love to know more about Tess and Rosie and their back stories. This is a fun read and will make you want to go out and reinvent yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2015

    GREAT!!

    Although I loved the movie, Must Love Dogs, I am hooked on Wildwater Walking Club. I laughed (and cried) all the way through it. I look forward to the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, Humor, Reinvent!

    I just love Claire Cook as between reading my serious novels, I like to catch up with some of the books I have missed by Claire. This was an enjoyable read, and as usual it is about reinventing yourself with lots of laughs along the way.

    Nora works for an athletic shoe company and it has been bought out. She makes a deal with money and perks to quit which is difficult considering she was a workaholic. She of course, meets the neighbors Rosie and Tess who work from home, and they form the Wildwater Walking Club. They are a support team for one another and band together to solve the problems of the neighborhood community, while building special friendships. During this time Noreen reflects on her life to begin over and start a new path.

    Makes you want to get up and start walking --get rejuvenated! As always, with Claire’s books – lots of fun banter, wit, humor, and sass along the way. (Nice front cover)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    To much about walking lost interest very quickly.

    To much about walking lost interest very quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved

    A great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I guess I connected because I have a walking club of sorts. Not

    I guess I connected because I have a walking club of sorts. Not super deep but a nice summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    great read!

    Loved the different personalities, and the story was enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Gal Pal or Book Club Read!

    Having read several Claire Cook novels, this is one of my favorites. Maybe I'm a little biased because I love long walks on the beach and growing lavender. I love the characters and how they develop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Love this book!

    I read this book and handed it down to friends (before I got my nook), and we all loved this book. It's an easy read and makes you sooo happy inside. You will hate for it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Not a disppointing read for those who like Claire Cook's books.

    An entertaining read with the typical Cook ending. Very enjoyable and great for summer/beach reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3