Customer Reviews for

Wildwood (The Wildwood Chronicles Series #I)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Colin Meloy is a genius and his wife is amazing.

Wildwood was one of my favorite books to read, especially since it gave me something to do on the 8-hour drive to and from Disneyland while I was squished between my sister and brother, who were eating way to many sunflower seeds than their sodium intake could handle. I...
Wildwood was one of my favorite books to read, especially since it gave me something to do on the 8-hour drive to and from Disneyland while I was squished between my sister and brother, who were eating way to many sunflower seeds than their sodium intake could handle. I wasn't kidnapped by a murder of crows and almost eaten alive by carnivorous ivy, though, so it wasn't that bad. Wildwood had a strong main character who had a lot of help along the way saving her brother, and more importantly, all of Portland. (And potentially Oregon and possibly the whole world. Wouldn't it be strange to see an entire planet covered in ivy?) This book defines what family is: sometimes you hate each other, but in the end love wins out and therefore you save your little brother from getting devoured by a plant. Get my point? Anyway, The Decemberists are awesome, Carson Ellis is related to Vincent van Gogh, and if you don't understand a word Colin Meloy is writing, maybe you're just stupid.

posted by Anonymous on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

READ IT QUICK, FORGET IT THE SAME.

AS A FAN I WAS ECSTATIC. LEARNING THAT MR. MELOY GREW UP A FAN OF MR. BRADBURY INCREASED MY EXCITEMENT. I LOVE RAY BRADBURY.

I JUST FINISHED THIS HIGHLY ANTICIPATED THING.

IT WAS OK.

THE PLOT WAS EXTREMELY PREDICTABLE. CHARACTERS WERE LIKABLE AT BEST.

IT...
AS A FAN I WAS ECSTATIC. LEARNING THAT MR. MELOY GREW UP A FAN OF MR. BRADBURY INCREASED MY EXCITEMENT. I LOVE RAY BRADBURY.

I JUST FINISHED THIS HIGHLY ANTICIPATED THING.

IT WAS OK.

THE PLOT WAS EXTREMELY PREDICTABLE. CHARACTERS WERE LIKABLE AT BEST.

IT IS VERY WELL WRITTEN. UNFORTUNATELY IT'S DIRECTED TOWARDS KIDS AGES 8-12. WITHIN THE CONTEXT OF THE STORY THE VOCABULARY MAKES SENSE. NEVERTHELESS I FOUND FAR TOO MANY WORDS THAT NO ONE USES.

EVER.

THE OVERALL STORY I FOUND ENJOYABLE. ESPECIALLY TOWARDS THE END. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEMS WERE WITH THE DETAILS. I WAS LEFT INSPECTING THE HOLES LIKE FRESH BULLET WOUNDS FROM AN UNSEEN AND UNHEARD SHOOTER. WHY? HOW? BUT...

AS FAR AS FANTASIES GO THIS DEBUT NOVEL FAILS TO ESCAPE THE SHADOW OF EACH AND EVERY ONE OF ITS PREDECESSORS. LIKE JAKOB DYLAN DECIDING TO WRITE SONGS. THE SHOES SEEM TO BE JUST A COUPLE SIZES TOO BIG.

I RECOMMEND THIS TO DECEMBERISTS FANS WITH THE DISCLAIMER, "IF YOU MUST."

ALSO TO THE AVID READER, READ IT QUICK, FORGET IT THE SAME.

posted by SEANCHASINGTHEWIND on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Colin Meloy is a genius and his wife is amazing.

    Wildwood was one of my favorite books to read, especially since it gave me something to do on the 8-hour drive to and from Disneyland while I was squished between my sister and brother, who were eating way to many sunflower seeds than their sodium intake could handle. I wasn't kidnapped by a murder of crows and almost eaten alive by carnivorous ivy, though, so it wasn't that bad. Wildwood had a strong main character who had a lot of help along the way saving her brother, and more importantly, all of Portland. (And potentially Oregon and possibly the whole world. Wouldn't it be strange to see an entire planet covered in ivy?) This book defines what family is: sometimes you hate each other, but in the end love wins out and therefore you save your little brother from getting devoured by a plant. Get my point? Anyway, The Decemberists are awesome, Carson Ellis is related to Vincent van Gogh, and if you don't understand a word Colin Meloy is writing, maybe you're just stupid.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    What a lovely book! The story is enchanting and it seems to appeal to older children as well as those who still enjoy an adult reading aloud. It would also make an appreciated gift for the hard to please adolescent. This adult enjoyed the fantasy as much as the children! The story will appeal to those interested in fantasy, those who love nature, as well as the animal lover!

    Colin Meloy weaves a memorable tale with vocabulary expanding descriptions that inspire the imagination!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Ananymous

    VERY GOOD!!! TOTALLY RECOMEND!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Loving it!!!!!!!!!!PLEASE TAP

    Love it already and not even half through!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    READ IT QUICK, FORGET IT THE SAME.

    AS A FAN I WAS ECSTATIC. LEARNING THAT MR. MELOY GREW UP A FAN OF MR. BRADBURY INCREASED MY EXCITEMENT. I LOVE RAY BRADBURY.

    I JUST FINISHED THIS HIGHLY ANTICIPATED THING.

    IT WAS OK.

    THE PLOT WAS EXTREMELY PREDICTABLE. CHARACTERS WERE LIKABLE AT BEST.

    IT IS VERY WELL WRITTEN. UNFORTUNATELY IT'S DIRECTED TOWARDS KIDS AGES 8-12. WITHIN THE CONTEXT OF THE STORY THE VOCABULARY MAKES SENSE. NEVERTHELESS I FOUND FAR TOO MANY WORDS THAT NO ONE USES.

    EVER.

    THE OVERALL STORY I FOUND ENJOYABLE. ESPECIALLY TOWARDS THE END. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEMS WERE WITH THE DETAILS. I WAS LEFT INSPECTING THE HOLES LIKE FRESH BULLET WOUNDS FROM AN UNSEEN AND UNHEARD SHOOTER. WHY? HOW? BUT...

    AS FAR AS FANTASIES GO THIS DEBUT NOVEL FAILS TO ESCAPE THE SHADOW OF EACH AND EVERY ONE OF ITS PREDECESSORS. LIKE JAKOB DYLAN DECIDING TO WRITE SONGS. THE SHOES SEEM TO BE JUST A COUPLE SIZES TOO BIG.

    I RECOMMEND THIS TO DECEMBERISTS FANS WITH THE DISCLAIMER, "IF YOU MUST."

    ALSO TO THE AVID READER, READ IT QUICK, FORGET IT THE SAME.

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    A good read

    I enjoyed this book even though im 19 and the book is aimed towards children. The vocabulary was very rich and the story was unique in its own way even though it may be inspired by the chronicles of narnia. The story wasnt completely predictable, and the ending was great. I cant wait till more of the chronicle comes out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Anonymous on 1/17/2013

    Im only partway thru but its soooooooooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved that book! Great for people who like adventure and mysrerious places. Long, but very detailed. Loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    So good

    I love the part when prues baby brother gets stolen from birds

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Great

    I recomend it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Awesomr

    Gdsggrhfsyhtfg great

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    JjjjjfjdhdhbbfferbjnfjdjdkjnjdddcjkjjjjjujjfdcdfdfjcffkfffjjddkdhkwwdxdddfdfjjdhehwqsfcccfdkpjjffdffkfjffkkjfodmmcnbdfdfkfffdfffjkdfffjfffddfjjjfdfjjfabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyzABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZQWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNNqwertyuiopasdfghjklzxx

    QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNMqwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnmMNBVCXZLKJHGFDSAPOIUYTREWQABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwsyzFhhfdjhdjfjfjghhkjmkmkddkdfhddddhknkvdpckklcfdjdkjkjjjkdnfkdffkjjkcdckdkdxknknjkdknknkxxnkdkjfhjjhhjascfckfdjnfjfhjfkfcddncbjnhcfjfbfjxfjcjfjgdhdhwehrhwywhshfhdhfbhrjfjfhnndnnnngnfngngndjgjgjfjfjgjgnfnkgmgrdjuuufkfifomfhhhdhggfjhigbgnhfzbiopufjgfvvdhxfhgbvbbbhvbvbghgvhcghfvgfgvcvcvhjopppjhhxdssfqqqaasfgjhcghvcxfhhjvcghhvdfffyuujnvdfhehjfvebtnekkgwjgjfnrhfgwgqwhfjfkgkhkhjgnvbfbngggghggjuuhhgfddqweewwwqqqqqqqqqwwwwwwwweeeeeeeerrrrrrrrtttttttttyyyyuiiiiuiiiiiooooooooopppppaaaaaaaassssssssssssssdddddddddddddddddffffffffffgggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkllllllllzzzzzzxxxxccvvvbnnmmnnbvxzsfhhfwetyjjbfyhtteydttdtdgghfjdfjfjfjfvnhfngdgjgdgjddnddjgdjfgjgfgmtdxgjuduufteryedykiggljghfhfhfhfkfhgjhghghgkvghgfhfhfkfhcfhclfhvhhfiddbdbgggffnvfnnverbal irony gjgghhbnngdnnndfhsfbdbfvvvbgngbnbgngjjjnj gjjgjjmhjngbfhfbdbfhhjfhgjgdfhgbgjdkgkgjgjkgk dhggndgbnnfngnbsbnmgh khjrjgjhshfbjxndjgjfbsjddjgjsghjghkgkhdjxehrdhgktrjkfjsgngsjfhsj bcccnxnzbgnbnjndnhhfbjjnngngnshngdmfmhdj h dhdbjgjlljrjjfjgjfhnvkgggnjfjngjgj jgjjgjhekrnfngjebgbdbfghstjdkhmgmmndnmmjrhrjjhtrerdvhfhh guhhfhghghdhdbghxbsjfgjggnjgj hehehgjgjgjgjtjgbrhjfhhnfbjggndkdjmfhhnt fhdhhhhjdg

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    It was ok

    It was ok but I never really finished it ( wich by the way if you als havent finished it but are planning to dont read the summary of Under Wildwood spoiler alert) I think that the musterious benedict society was way better than this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Love!

    COOL!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Grows on you and hooks you!

    It took me awhile to get into this story but once I did, I was really hooked. I had given this to my great niece - age 9 - and was intrigued enough to get it for myself.
    Very imaginative - and intriguing to have the Wildwood lands an overlooked and nearly invisible part of Portland, OR. Having lived in the NW for many years, I especially enjoyed the "evil" role accorded to ivy! The heroes grow on you steadily and the main villain is VERY BAD - as in all good epic tales. Now I've completed book 2 in the series and am happily awaiting #3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    What a great book! To my surprise, I really enjoyed it...althoug

    What a great book! To my surprise, I really enjoyed it...although while reading, I did have to stop occasionally to get my dictionary to figure out the meaning of some of the words that were used (I really wonder if an 8 year old really understood the meaning of some of them). Stumbling across those words often caused me to lose my concentration just when I would be getting into the story...). Other than that, could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    great book!!

    In the beginning a baby is abducted by crow and the plan was to kill him, but he is saved by a girl
    His sister

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    LOVE IT

    I love this book. It has action,humor everything i love in a book. I recomend this book for ten and up but i could be wrong. The story has some heart in it, like how Prue goes into the Inpassable Wilderess (Wildwood) to get her brother Mac who was kidnapped by a murder of crows. It shows that she really cares about him, I would do the same for my two brothers. As much as i hate them sometimes we are a family and family sticks together. This book is wonderful and i hope that you enjoy it. DO NOT LET THE HATERS BRING YOU DOWN ABOUT THE BOOK YOU CAN DECIDE WHAT YOU WANT TO READ!!! By the way I am 12. :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    This book was pretty good!  It was very absorbing, and had a ver

    This book was pretty good! 
    It was very absorbing, and had a very fresh, new style! I look forward to reading UNDER WILDWOOD!!!!!!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Loved

    THIS BOOK WAS REALLY GOOD.....IT KEPT INTERETED THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE BOOK AND I READ IT IN THREE DAYS
    &hearts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3