Customer Reviews for

Wildwood Dancing

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book will never, ever stop being beautifully amazingg

I just finished reading Wildwood Dancing for the second time. This book-I'll tell you right now- will make you laugh, scream, and cry. You'll hate some characters, and love others. You'll be yelling at Jena: telling her exactly what to do even though she won't listen. T...
I just finished reading Wildwood Dancing for the second time. This book-I'll tell you right now- will make you laugh, scream, and cry. You'll hate some characters, and love others. You'll be yelling at Jena: telling her exactly what to do even though she won't listen. The ending is beautifully written and warms my heart each time I think about it. I most surely recommend this book to all who love fantasy, adventure, and true love.
Go on, read it. You know you want to ;)

posted by Reads_a_lot on November 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

horrible with a phenomenal ending

This book's first 370 pages were disgusting. All that happens is the father gets sick, Tati starts trying to kill herself over love of that Sorrow, Cezar makes inappropriate advances towards the sisters, and Jena talks to her frog every single page. Then out of nowher...
This book's first 370 pages were disgusting. All that happens is the father gets sick, Tati starts trying to kill herself over love of that Sorrow, Cezar makes inappropriate advances towards the sisters, and Jena talks to her frog every single page. Then out of nowhere the ending is amazing, all happy and sweet and even funny.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will never, ever stop being beautifully amazingg

    I just finished reading Wildwood Dancing for the second time. This book-I'll tell you right now- will make you laugh, scream, and cry. You'll hate some characters, and love others. You'll be yelling at Jena: telling her exactly what to do even though she won't listen. The ending is beautifully written and warms my heart each time I think about it. I most surely recommend this book to all who love fantasy, adventure, and true love.
    Go on, read it. You know you want to ;)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read !

    i love fantasy books and this is another one to add to my list of favorites. i was surprised all the way to the end. i highly recomend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Wonderful!

    One of the best fairy tales I have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful!

    I can honestly say that this tale was enchanting! I have never read anything quite like it. The author has written a wonderful masterpiece that matches any fairytale! You won't be sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For Romantic Fantasy Addicts

    Wildwood Dancing is for those of you who enjoy romance and fantasy. The book is supposed to be based off of 12 Dancing Princesses, but consider it a mixture between that and The Princess and the Frog. I found much of the book highly reminiscent of The Sevenwaters Trilogy. There were many elements that were the same: two brothers falling in love with the same girl, a forest that is a gateway to the Realm of Fae, a lovesick older sister and so on. However, the book was wonderful. It was one of those perfect books that had everything you could ever want in a book: mystery, magic, a beautiful setting, romance, and all tied up with a happy ending. The main character Jena is not a Mary Sue and is quite flawed, making the story altogether more interesting. You feel proper emotion for everything in the story. Frustration, anger, hate for the villains, and love for all of Jena's sisters. Beautifully written (Juliet Marillier is a fantastic autor), lovely story, great characters...an enticing book that is worth buying and rereading several times. The more adventerous sequel, Cybele's Secret, is just as good, if not better than Wildwood Dancing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I loved this book! If you are a fan of good vs. evil, true love, and magical places, you will enjoy "Wildwood Dancing." There is an unexpected twist at the end that will have you shocked and wanting more! The main chacater, Jenica, must try to hold her family together and learns a lesson in following her instincts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    The most breath taking book ever.

    Wildwood dancing is about five sisters, their father, and their cosins.
    When they found a portel in Jena's bedchamber the all go thourgh it and discover another kingdom called wildwood. When their father gets really ill and is sent away the sisters are on their own. Jena has a enchanted frog named Gogu he helpes her deside if she should marry or save the Wildwood from harm.On one of the full moons Tatiania falls in love with a night person, also known as a vampire. Jena tries to keep them apart for as long as she can.

    So if you like magical lands, forbiden lovers, dangers that await, and enchanted frogs then you would like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    horrible with a phenomenal ending

    This book's first 370 pages were disgusting. All that happens is the father gets sick, Tati starts trying to kill herself over love of that Sorrow, Cezar makes inappropriate advances towards the sisters, and Jena talks to her frog every single page. Then out of nowhere the ending is amazing, all happy and sweet and even funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Enchanting

    i love everything by Juliette Marillier. This is my favorite after Daughter of The Forest. I couldn't wait to go to bed at night to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Real Bore!!! It's second retelling of Twelve Dancing Princess b

    Real Bore!!!

    It's second retelling of Twelve Dancing Princess but with talking frog and Transyvania with vamps. It down right borning nothing happenning until later chapters but each chapters is too long it should be short and too much detail about family life. So I should read Entwined instead (future/soon).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Hi

    I read entwinded and loved it ( its just another name for the 12 dancing princesses) i hope this is as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

     can't believe I've never read this before! I have a small discl

     can't believe I've never read this before! I have a small disclaimer to very quickly make: I finished this book at 1:00 a.m. and books tend to seem better then than they really are, but then again, I stayed up till one reading it.
           Jena's matter-of-fact character was a breath of fresh air. She wasn't snarky, comical, or angsty. She was just nice. And, though I do enjoy a good sarcastic character, it was nice. As the second oldest left with the responsibility of her family, she was very sympathetic. I loved her and could safely wish her a happy-ever-after. But Cezar! He made my blood boil! (Which, to be honest, was kind of the point. So it was good.) Tati and Sorrow were perfect and lovely together. And to top off this cake of beautifully crafted characters was Gogu (Jena's pet frog). He had such a strong will for a frog.
    Characters: 5 Stars
           Wildwood Dancing is very loosely based on The Twelve Dancing Princesses, but it didn't take the same overused path of narratio. It took an entirely new angle, one that managed to be classic and incorporate the mystical nature of Transylvania while still being unexpected and exciting. I thought I saw what was coming, but I didn't (admittedly, I am quite gullible). It was satisfying, and bitter-sweet.
    Plot: 4.5 Stars
            The book did start out a bit slow and excessively wordy, but this aspect faded out after the first few chapters. Those chapters are definitely worth sticking through, and I think this narration helped reinforce Jena's character. It also brought to mind the straight forward nature of fairy tales and made the tale more beautiful.
    Style: 4 Stars




    Rating: 4.5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I fell in live with thisbook in high school, that was 3 years ag

    I fell in live with thisbook in high school, that was 3 years ago and ive been dying for her to ckme out with another teen book! I loved this book so very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A Classic Favorite

    Have reread since!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    AWESOME

    I totally love this book! Go Jenna and Costi! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    An alltime favorite

    This is one of my absolute favorite books. Its a nice spin on the 12 dancing princesses. I just keep rereading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Breathtaking

    Wildwood Dancing is one of the most beautifully written books I have read. The details and imagination put into it make you feel part of a magical world. Wildwood Dancing reminded me that even though I am getting older, the world is still a magical place, we just have to change images of our fairy princesses. I recomend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Love it!

    Poignant, beautiful, and extremely complex in its own way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Recommended-very enjoyable!

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a great blend of fantasy, romance and strong female characters. Characters are well developed and the book is well written. It will keep you reading until the wee hours of the morning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    In the wilds of Transylvania, set on a high spur of rock next to the Wildwood, rests a castle named Piscul Dracului. The castle itself is unexceptional, old and crumbling as it is. Looking at it, you would never know it hides a portal to the Other Kingdom.

    Each full moon five sisters travel through the portal into a magical glade where they dance with creatures rarely seen outside of fairy tales--fairies, dwarves, trolls and other creatures only whispered about back home.

    For nine years of full moons, the sisters have gone dancing in the Other Kingdom.

    Until now, the secret of the portal has been safe in Wildwood Dancing (2007) by Juliet Marillier.

    Part retelling of the story of the Twelve Dancing Princesses; part reinterpretation of classic vampire lore, Wildwood Dancing is an eerie, atmospheric story of forbidden love, precious gifts, and otherworldly creatures.

    Marillier's writing is rich and vivid, immediately transporting readers to the world of Jena (the narrator) and her sisters. Although dense with foreign terms (defined in a glossary at the end of the book) and unusual names (explained in a pronunciation guide at the end of the book), this story is sure to quickly enchant readers looking for a classic fantasy story with an original twist.

    All of the sisters are distinct and well-developed characters who bring their own charms to the story. Although the eldest, Tati, grew tiresome as a lovesick heroine, she provided a good counterpoint to sensible Jena who prefers the company of her enchanted frog Gogu to the prospect of marriage.

    Wildwood Dancing is largely a story about characters rather than events. Marillier takes her time getting to the crux of the story, using the beginning of the book to establish the setting and the characters, only to ultimately create a powerhouse, page turning, ending with unlikely twists and unexpected consequences for all of the sisters.

    The story of Jena's younger sister Paula continues in Cybele's Secret, a companion to Wildwood Dancing.

    Possible Pairings: The War for the Oaks by Emma Bull, Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones, Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford, The New Policeman by Kate Thompson, A Well-Timed Enchantment by Vivian Vande Velde

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8