Customer Reviews for

Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Average Rating 4.5
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

The best book I have ever read

I'm a 16 year old sophomore. would I suggest this book to an adult? No Would I suggest this book to a teenager? You're damn right I would. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was by far, THE best book I have ever read. It was funny, it was touching, and it had very relatable top...
I'm a 16 year old sophomore. would I suggest this book to an adult? No Would I suggest this book to a teenager? You're damn right I would. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was by far, THE best book I have ever read. It was funny, it was touching, and it had very relatable topics. I couldn't put the book down, by chapter 2 I was hooked. "Im constantly torn between killing myself and killing everyone around me. Those seem to be the two choices. Everything else is just killing time" The 'famous' quote written by David Levithan was all it took for me to want to read this. Every time I finished a chapter I was dying to know what would happen next. Every time I put the book down, I would think about it and come up with my own scenarios. one word, amazing. Anyways, I think anyone between the ages of 14 - 21 should read this book. I'm not saying anyone whose not in that age limit wouldn't like it. But I do think it will appeal to them more. Nevertheless, best book I've ever read. I guarantee you will love it.

posted by laxgirl12 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

My least favorite John Green book

After reading Paper Towns and The Fault in Our Stars, this one was a little lacking for me.

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    The best book I have ever read

    I'm a 16 year old sophomore. would I suggest this book to an adult? No Would I suggest this book to a teenager? You're damn right I would. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was by far, THE best book I have ever read. It was funny, it was touching, and it had very relatable topics. I couldn't put the book down, by chapter 2 I was hooked. "Im constantly torn between killing myself and killing everyone around me. Those seem to be the two choices. Everything else is just killing time" The 'famous' quote written by David Levithan was all it took for me to want to read this. Every time I finished a chapter I was dying to know what would happen next. Every time I put the book down, I would think about it and come up with my own scenarios. one word, amazing. Anyways, I think anyone between the ages of 14 - 21 should read this book. I'm not saying anyone whose not in that age limit wouldn't like it. But I do think it will appeal to them more. Nevertheless, best book I've ever read. I guarantee you will love it.

    50 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Disturbing? Are you kidding me...?

    Some reviewers have called WG,WG "disturbing" and "risky," or have commented on how mature the material is. Some have even expressed regret over buying it, unaware that it would be so blatant in some of its dealings with sex, pornography, and depression.

    THIS IS A WORK OF LITERATURE! As such, it deals with themes that might be considered offensive.
    D.H Lawrence wrote about astoundingly offensive things in novels such as "Lady Chatterly's Lover" (how many times does he use the "c" word?).
    "The Catcher in the Rye" dealt just as frankly with the idea of teenage sexuality as WG, WG does.
    Even Bronte's "Jane Eyre" was a social shocker in its time.
    So should authors be expected to steer clear from any content deemed "socially unacceptable/offensive"? Did Lawrence or Salinger or Bronte?
    No.
    Authors face these issues head-on, with the courage, insight, and tenacity that many others lack. They reveal to us (the general populace) the very basis of human nature--and sometimes that includes uncovering the seedy underbelly of humanity.
    WG,WG is a fantastic novel. It's beautifully written, thought-provoking, and it stays with you long after you've physically abandoned it. John Green and David Levithan are tender, insightful, and oh-so gut-wrenchingly real as the two Will Graysons.
    I strongly recommend this novel to anyone who has a heart for truth and a yearning to tap into (and hopefully understand a little bit better) the "miracle of human consciousness."

    DFTBA.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Will Grayson, Will Grayson

    I've been a fan of John Green for a few years now, and this book did not disappoint. Both characters were made so fully that they could have been actual people. There's a lot of cussing and talk about sex, but that's just what makes Will Grayson, Will Grayson: Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I haven't been a fan of David Levithan, I heard about his book Boy Meets Boy and didn't read it, but after Will Grayson, Will Grayson I'll be looking for more of his books.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well worth a look.

    WG, WG is a solid compelling read with a few nice turns and surprises and if I was a kid in high school, I would have been so glad to find this book. I would have thought that it was written on a young readers level, not a high school level though. I picked it up after it appeared on a couple of 'best of the year' lists. The bigger question I have as writer who has covered similar territory, is just what makes this book a YA or Teen book? Is it the dumbed down language and grammar mixed with the double spaced large font? Seriously, that seems to be about it. As a bookseller who had to guide parents to books for their kids, the only reason to separate out these titles was that they were appropriate in more than just the difficulty of the vocabulary. A parent, one would think, could go into the Teen section and be secure that they would be the equivalent of a PG film. This doesn't appear to be the case. In the YA books I've read, there have been scenes of kids describing how they prepare to masturbate. In the book, "Hero," an underage boy is outside a bar cruising for sex with men coming out of the bar. In WG, WG they indulge in underage drinking, they get into bars with fake ID's and become falling down drunk. They apparently can walk into a porno store and not have the clerk even care that they are obviously under age. The kids come and go as they will at all hours, driving across the state and back and the parents are pretty much fine with anything they do. The boys describe what sex is pretty explicitly every other breath with references to their obvious arousal just about as often. The only thing that doesn't happen is actual explicit sex. They kiss, they get to second base and then it fades to black. So my point is: What exactly is the point? You've written a book that has high value concepts and kids doing mature things as they explore their coming of age, but it's delivered in a neutered, titillating format of dumb vocabulary and bad grammar for no apparent reason. It's not bending to some rules of 'appropriateness' for kids, aside from outright sex, and it's not shying away from depicting kids doing what many kids do.so why not actually write it on a mature level with a legitimate vocabulary and good grammar and maybe even strive to make it a really meaningful piece of art that they will carry with them like they might Catcher in the Rye? The only reason it's written in a style for simpletons is because the authors are choosing to write it that way. Maybe its so that it can be found by teens easier? So that teens won't be bummed at having to work through a book with a lot of 'big' words? Because it's currently easy for authors cash in on the Teen scene? So that the teen buying it can say, 'hey mom, it's a teen book, how 'dirty' can it be?' And no WG, WG, isn't dirty, but it if it was a movie with that dialog, it would be a R rated film and with the homosexual activity between minors that's in it, it would probably be slapped with a NC-17 as many gay themed movies have that depict male on male heavy petting. Looking at it in that light, WG, WG, seems like an 'idea draft' for what could be a great book. Instead it's a good hearted, inconsequential gay fantasy on (what was once) a middle school reading level with a lot of f-bombs thrown in.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    My least favorite John Green book

    After reading Paper Towns and The Fault in Our Stars, this one was a little lacking for me.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Read!

    I absolutely loved this book. It was an extremely fun read! The writing was beautiful in this book. Both John Green and David Levithan, despite their different writing styles, did a great job writing about both of the Will Graysons. There were times when I laughed so hard that I cried, and others when I felt so bad for the main character that I almost cried. The humor was great, and their writing styles topped it all off.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who even considered reading it for a second. At first I wasn't sure if I would enjoy this book, but even though it was not the usual genre I read, it was great.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Surprised...

    I've not yetbread this book, but I am shocked to read judgmental reviews of it, saying you will not read any more of this author's work? John Green is fabulous and inspirational and unrelentingly reliable if one seeks a great work of art. I urge those of you who didn't like this one to give him another chance; it's the least you can do.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Mixed opinion

    The plot of the story was great. However, I guess I just wasn't prepared for what I was reading. This book is definitely for mature readers, and honestly, I wouldn't read anymore books by this author. I guess my point is, preview the book first before you buy it, read reviews about the content, not just the ones that say "oh, i loved this book!" or "Best book I've ever read!" Because, for me anyway, I wish I hadn't spent my money on this book.

    8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved Will Grayson, Will Grayson!!! I have read quite a few of John Green's novels, including The Fault In Our Stars, and love his style of writing; it is very real. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was really spunky, fun, and real and was a pleasure to read!! I woyld definitely recommend this novel to teenage readers who love realistic fiction :)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    5-Stars, through and through.

    Will Grayson Will Grayson is told alternatively between two different Will Grayson's. They meet in a very unlikely situation that sets off a thunderstorm of events that change the characters' lives. This is definitely one of John Green's and David Levithan's best work, I love it so much, I would recommend it to any teen.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Wow

    John Green's books never cease to amaze me, and this one was just as great as his others. I highly recomend this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Could not put this book down!

    I read this from cover to cover without stopping. I loved reading this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    very disturbing

    authors took a dangerous route

    3 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Phil Wrayson says...

    Thats was the most fabulous book ever. Lol ok well fabulous isnt a word id ever used in a sentence like that but in honor of Tiny it shall be posted. It really is an amazing book. One id recommend for anyone...unless your homophobic.....then nevermind.....but any one else YES! :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    I'm staring hard at my copy of Will Grayson, Will Grayson waitin

    I'm staring hard at my copy of Will Grayson, Will Grayson waiting on some from of genius to strike. Every once in a while you'll read a book and it will be exactly what your heart and soul needed. It will speak to a part of yourself that you have bottled up, a part that you force into silence. Not every book can have this effect on you; if it did you would be the tattered remains of yourself instad of the whole that you are. Every once in a while there will be a book that will ever so gently force you into seeing the world a little bit differently. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was that book for me.
    This book is the story of two teenage boys, both named Will Grayson, and how they cross paths one cold night in Chicago. The two Will Grayson's lives are then linked, as they end up sharing in the story of one very large, very gay teenager named Tiny Cooper. This book, this story of lives and how they become intertwined, is the story of what it means to grow up. It is the story of loving yourself and loving others, for exactly who they are.
    My book club of three read Will Grayson, Will Grayson kind of on a whim, and it is now in my top three books that we have read. I just messaged my friends in book club and asked them to share one truth that they learned from Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and this is our list:
    1. "When things break, it's not the actual breaking that prevents them from getting back together again. It's because a little piece gets lost- the two remaining ends couldn't fit together even if they wanted to. The whole shape has changed."2. Sometimes, the only way to heal is to accept how you're feeling, and accept that it's okay. You can't wish away your problems.3. Your best friend may be completely opposite of you.4. Being open-minded is important, otherwise you might miss the opportunity of a great friendship.5. Sometimes, you have to work hard to get what you want, but you should NEVER change who you are to get it.
    I could keep going. I could flip through the pages of Will Grayson, Will Grayson and find nuggets of truth hidden between lines of perfectly wrought teen angst. Instead, I'm going to talk to you about characters. They were so real. When I finished the book, I hugged it to my chest because there was this feeling, like a "the show must go on" feeling that told me those characters and their lives would continue, even though I closed the book.
    Will Grayson 1: "Caring doesn't sometimes lead to misery. It always does."
    Will Grayson 2: "i am constantly torn between killing myself and killing everyone around me."
    Jane: "Some people have lives; some people have music."
    Tiny Cooper: "Nothing's wrong. Every thing's right. Things couldn't be righter. Things could be less tired. They could be less busy. They could be less caffeinated. But they couldn't be righter."
    I'm sitting here, still staring at my copy of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, still trying to do this book justice, and I just don't know if it is possible. Here is what I can say about Will Grayson (one and two), about Tiny Cooper and Jane and Gideon, about loving yourself and not being afraid to love others:
    This book is one of those books that I would call life-changing. It's the type of book that causes you to see the world a little bit differently. It's the kind of book you walk away from changed. Now, go buy it from your local bookstore, or a Barnes and Noble, or even on amazon. Just go buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Sad to see it end...

    This was one of those books that I wanted to keep reading even after it was over. I wanted to hear Tiny's story and find out what happens to the Will Graysons. That being sad, the ending was pretty darn perfect (in its fictionally realistic way). There were so many good values taught through this book and the characters are just so well developed. I also appreciated the writing style that projected the two Will Graysons and I just stuck with this story from beginning to end. This was the first book by John Green I have read and I might read some more, David Levithan is who drew me in and I have an appreciation for his ability to co author amazing literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    John Green┬┐s writing style is always shown in ALL of his novels.

    John Green’s writing style is always shown in ALL of his novels. Same attack, same momentum, same catch. But among all his novels (except Let It Snow, I haven’t read that one yet), this is a bit of a disappointment for me. I skipped some of the parts since I found it a bit non-sense. Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars are way too better than this one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Love

    I absolutely love this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    I love this book so much. Ive read John Green before and he is amazing. This book is heartfelt. It shows you the true meaning of life and that theres always that one person out there that can just make your day. It brought me tears and laughter. I reccomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18