Customer Reviews for

Will I Ever Be Good Enough?: Healing the Daughters of Narcissistic Mothers

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This book helped me see that I am not alone! And it helped me understand family dynamics and how we kids responded to our mom and how we still respond. I do feel that the author should describe the different forms of narcissism on the book jacket or in the description...
This book helped me see that I am not alone! And it helped me understand family dynamics and how we kids responded to our mom and how we still respond. I do feel that the author should describe the different forms of narcissism on the book jacket or in the description of the book - because it does NOT mean "self love" like so many people think. I found the description of mom in the pages and read about how to cope with the past and the present relationship with her. And most importantly for me, I learned how to recognize the narcissistic tendencies in me so I treat my children better.

posted by 871776 on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you are a child of a Narcissistic Mother

This is an inside look at what you or a friend may have dealt with as a child of a narcissistic mother. Sometimes hard to face memories of youth. Well worth the journey. In the end, your left with the hope and knowledge to overcome a past that will some how always haunt...
This is an inside look at what you or a friend may have dealt with as a child of a narcissistic mother. Sometimes hard to face memories of youth. Well worth the journey. In the end, your left with the hope and knowledge to overcome a past that will some how always haunt you anyway. Tho less than without this read. I highly recommend it, may you journey toward healing and find peace at last!

posted by Jillian13 on November 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    Wow!

    This book helped me see that I am not alone! And it helped me understand family dynamics and how we kids responded to our mom and how we still respond. I do feel that the author should describe the different forms of narcissism on the book jacket or in the description of the book - because it does NOT mean "self love" like so many people think. I found the description of mom in the pages and read about how to cope with the past and the present relationship with her. And most importantly for me, I learned how to recognize the narcissistic tendencies in me so I treat my children better.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    Great Book

    Well written and thought-provoking. Helped me define some things in my past. Thank you for taking the time to explore such an important subject.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Gets right to the point and helps

    This book is a practical guide to help daughters of narcissistic mothers to recover from the effects of their mothers' mistreatment. It is not intended to be a full scale discussion of the causes and treatment of narcissism nor of any current scientific theories, but a source to help the people most severely impacted by it. The author offers specific behaviors to help in recovery. She states very clearly that if you need more intensive therapy, then you should get it; she gives some practical advice on therapeutic methods and practitioners. Overall, this is a terrific book and a real support for those who have or had narcissistic mothers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    EXCELLENT! I HIGHLY recommend this book.

    I have never written a book review before but I feel compelled to do so. This book is AMAZING. I had done alot of the work suggested in my own way years ago getting away from and recovering from my mother but recently began questioning myself again during a divorce. My biggest fear was choosing another narcassistic partner. My husband was an even bigger narcissist than my mother and I put up with a lot of unacceptable behaviors for a long time because they felt normal to me. This book has done so many things to improve my state of mind not the least of which is rebuild my confidence that I can pick someone good and worthwhile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    what a relief ... I'm not crazy or alone

    Dr. McBride lays out what can happen to the lives of the daughters of narcissists. I loved the line "Narcissistic Mothers: Always there when they need you" as it captured the essence of the relationship. An easy read in that it's not hard to get through or understand, but a difficult read in that Dr McBride lays out a path of recovery for us daughters, and it's not an easy trail. But as hard as life has been with The Mother, this path of recovery offers a real chance for change, and a real life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Fabulous aid for recovering daughters

    I am amazed that while having traveled far in my recovery that I found a book that made my jaw drop on several occasions. The book is well organized, covers all the points and offers recovering advice gathered over years of practicing it and counseling with it. You will need to reread it at least once to pick up on all the insight the author has to offer. Thank you for helping and sharing, it was done in a well written book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    It's a good one!

    Dr. McBride nails it here! I have been struggling with this issue for many years. All the emotions I have felt over the years that are considered taboo in our society are talked about here. It made me feel that I am not so alone and that these issues really do exist and happen to other people. I read this over a weekend and I believe this book will change my outlook about myself. While I was able to identify the many messed up issues with my mother that affected my outlook about myself I never knew how to fix the problem or change how I felt about myself. The book gives the reader understanding of narcissism the importance of accepting the situation for what it is and direction for learning how to care for yourself. The book was very helpful to me and it's definetely a keeper as I am sure I will be referring back to it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    The One Book Every Daughter Needs To Read...Now!

    For those who have had the misfortune of a narcissistic mother, this is the one book that will change your life forever. The wisdom, insight, wit and research of Dr. Karyl McBride pulls the cover off this open family secret. Her depth of knowledge is fair, frank and brings clarity. Her personal trauma and story gives this must read balance.

    As an award winning journalist, historian and scholar, I find her approach refreshing and one of a kind. It's rare to meet such scholarlship and urge you to take the time to make this "wrong" right.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Helpful

    In spite of what other negatitive review might say, I only agree with one thing she said, in my mother case she does have multiple mental health problems. Like being a Psyco-Path, no remose, she thinks she has done nothing wrong. However this book has helped me a great deal. Things in it that Dr. McBride said write about I did. Some things were just to painful to talk about, so I took what I wrote to my Dr and shared with her like that, and it helped. In some cases I would just sit there in her office and cry, I couldn't do anything else. I did try to stay in contact with my mother while doing this book, but McBride was right, she was right on target. She knows what she is talking about. I did have to separate myself from her, I am glad I read it, did the work in it. I am not where I want to be but I am better than what I was. Glad you she wrote it. A must read for anyone who has a mother that she descibes on the back of her book. 5 stars !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    life altering read!

    this book helped me understand the history of a narcissistic mother. It was a life altering read for me. it helped me to cope with and understand what is behind the feeling of "not being good enough"!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Great

    Great advice and to the point. Easy read, I learned and could relate more than i thought i would of. Its a must, even if you hsve doubts about your up bringing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    This is an exceptional guide to healing.

    I have read numerous self-help books on various topics of family dysfunction. This is the first book that describes my experiences so accurately that I could have written it myself! I quickly felt a huge burden lifted from my shoulders as I realized the role that narcissism has played in my relationship with my mother and with the men in my life. I am taking my time in reading it so that I can process my emotions and thoughts. Dr. McBride is my hero!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Eye opening book

    I recommend that to receive true self discovery apart from your parent you have to relieve yourself of that pain. This was a book I couldn't put down and also made me want to shut when I started to feel uncomfortable about my past. IT WILL BE AN EYE OPENER FOR MANY DAUHTERS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Highly highly recommend if you have a mother with NPD

    This is the first book that actually really helps you understand the problem and what to do about it to help yourself shake free from the after shock of growing up with someone with NPD. I especially liked that she stresses you don't need to feel guilty if you cannot remain in relationship. Very helpful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I love it

    Its a gentle book teaching us how to care for ourselves as well as we do everyone else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    highly recommends this book

    The best self help book I have ever read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Finally, a book that explains everything I've been thinking and

    Finally, a book that explains everything I've been thinking and feeling. Dr. McBride not only helped me see I was far from alone, but also how to handle and work through my feelings and accept my family limitations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    The Answer is in YOU!

    Thought I was well over my Mother and the things she did, but this book was a great help in finishing my journey. I have recommended this book to several others. I believe it will help all who read it that was raised by one of these Mothers.
    Thank you Karyl McBride for writing this book, it was needed by so many!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    An invaluable tool when dealing with a narcissistic mother.

    This book has helped me so much. It was a relief to read that someone knew exactly what I was feeling and why when I couldn't get anyone else to understand. It's a must read for anyone who has mother issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2