Customer Reviews for

The Will of the Empress (Circle Reforged Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great book.

    Well written and follows previous series well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book. Just the right amount of action, drama, and romance to make it a brilliant read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    brilliant example of quality literature.

    pierce steps it up a notch in this book. it is definitely worth your money, especially if you've enjoyed her other circle of magic/circle opens books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    surprise!

    I didn't know it existed until i got it from somebody. I was really excited because I like the previous ones in the series. I loved this one! I couldn't stop reading it. All the characters are really grown up so this book is a little more sophisticated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Reunited Magic

    I enjoyed reading the book very much and did recommend it to my little cousin. It shows how insecurites do arrise but if you follow your instincts and have confidence to do whats right you will get through your problems, whatever they may be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love

    I love this book so much and i highly respect her for what she did with this book. You dont find many books like this where there is a gay character...or two, and im glad she did that, i hope she keeps writing these books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The 1st book in the circle reforged!!!!

    I loved this book and have shared it with all of my friends and they loved it also. I hope Tamara Piece will continue writing about Tris, Sandry, Daja Briar, and the rest of the characters. In this book, Tris, Sandry, Daja, and Briar are reunited and are visiting Sanry's cousin, the Empress of Namorn. You will find out how the four mages are behaving after their trips to different places. They end up joining forces to battle with the evil empress. I recommend that you read The Circle of Magic, The Circle opens, and then begin with The Will of the Empress and after, Melting Stones. This book is a wonderful book to read any time. I also reccomend people to read this ages 12 and up or for young adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    A book you should read again and again

    This book it truly fabulous. I must say Tamora Pierce has outdone herself yet again. I always feel like I am a part of sandry, daja, briar, and tris' lives when i read this book, and i must say that it was hard for me to accept that this was the last story when it ended. Even though i wish and wish and wish there could be more stories i dont think they would be the same now that the little kids have grown up. Even though they have changed their personalities are the same and this book is incrediable. It is suspensful and every time a character was upset, i was upset, i felt what they felt and i still cant bear to think that this might be the last book. I recommend it for all but i do say that it is not appropriate for children, so bear that in mind before you buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Tamora Pierce's Best Circle book so far!

    The book was great! By far it was the best book out of all the circle series. It started to get a little boring in the middle, but the ending was much better than I expected!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    I loved this book!!!

    This was a really good book. I have been a fan of these books for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Not whar i was expecting

    Daja was so gross!i think shes encourging young women to go lesbien!!!!i wouldnt read this book or her next one,ther opprpreite!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Daja...

    Daja is my very least favorite character... she is gross. I like tamora though most of her books are awesome.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Loved it!!! :3

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Really good!

    I loved this book! I hope this becomes another quartet, like the last two sets. I have read and re-read it so many times it is falling apart! Well worth your money, several times over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Could be better...

    I thought this book was a little slowish, drawing out parts that didn't need any more explaination. I was really disappointed with Daj....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A Fascinating Fantasy

    I really enjoyed this book. It was wonderful to stand beside Sandry as she tied her foe¿s clothes together, and to see the sibling¿s broken friendship be repaired. The plot of this book was beautiful in most places, but I was able to put it down if needed. I found myself entranced by Peirce¿s descriptions of the mages as they used their magic. I loved Briar¿s gentle touch when dealing with plants. Tris¿s strange flight down a flight of stairs could have been explained a little better, but she made a most excellent recovery. I do wish though that Peirce would have connected Daja more with the others. There were some wonderful new twists in the plot of this novel, as well as some things I had guessed long before. This book is not quite as fabulous as a few books Peirce has written, but it certainly comes close. In general, this book is highly recommended to anyone looking for a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    I used to be pierce's biggest fan....

    While the plot of this book was ok, it was pretty slow and not much happened at the beginning. I found some parts of this book disgusting and there were many things that needn't have been described in this book. I just hope the next books will be less graphic. Overall I was very disappointed by this book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    You could put it down, but you'd still pick it back up

    It was really good. I didn't find it to be as good as some of the other Tamora Pierce books, but overall, it was well worth the time it takes to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Favorable Follow-Up

    Having started the journey of the circle 5 years ago, when some months ago I saw Ms. Pierce had written another book focusing on Sandry and her friends, I was immediately drawn in and purchased the book. Ms. Pierce, of course, never fails to perform when it comes to the books she writes, so this was yet another fantastically well-written enjoyable read. There were the usual introducements that surprised me, as well as others I had long guessed. The descriptions of the magic as well as people kept the book interesting with the vivid detail and imagery. The estrangement of the four as well as their eventual reunion was well thought out and executed. I would have liked to see more of Briar and Gyongxe, but I hope that will be explained in the next three books sure to follow. All in all, I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of Tamora Pierce, though I suggest young children refrain from reading it, due to the mature themes present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Rocked my socks off!!!

    i've read the other two quartets, and was totally taken by surprise when i saw this book in my library. i checked it out that day and probably would have stayed up into the night to finish it if i hadn't had a prior obligation early the next morning. it's definatly a page turner, though. The 4 mages have definatly grown up, and the author works with their adult personalities really well. it really brings some cultural issues (in the States, at least) into perspective... but i thought that it was slightly predictable at points (though i blame that misfortune all on my reading teacher... :[ ) i also liked how they gradually came to trust eachother again. i'm going to be sooooooo mad if she doesn't publish more!!! i do suggest you read the other 2 quartets before this book though-rather recently, too. there are some references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8