Customer Reviews for

The Will of the Empress (Circle Reforged Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Tamora Pierce is my Favorite Author

    This book is my favorite of all of her books. Tamora Pierce is an awesome author and my absolute favorite. Every single book she wrote I have and will definitely read more than once. I read every Harry Potter Book 7 times each and I would certainly do the same for Tamora Pierce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Will of the Empress (The Circle Reforged Series #1)

    I read this book because I had read all of Tamora Pierce's books and yet this one is different. I like all her books, but in Will of the Empress there are many real life issues of today put into a different world. And there is fun. It's nice to see the story go on of the four young mages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Amazing

    Wow this book was awsome! I loved the first two quartets but I wanted to see the four characters together again! This book delivered that perfectly! I love the older versions of the group especially Briar!! I hope that Tamora Pierce continues with this series! This book was amazing if you liked any of the others a little you will love this one! I read the whole novel length book in a day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    An excellent read!!!

    OMG, this book completly took me by surprise. There was so much stuff that I just didn't see coming. It was an amazing book that kept me guessing, though I was wrong almost every time! If you like Tamora Pierce you will like this book to, she has such an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    Wish there was more...

    This was a really good read for the most part. but when i got finished reading it, it seemed to be lacking something. I think the characters got away to easily. I thought it was really good how she made sure all four of seem equal according to their magical ability. I was so sure some of the characters would seem lesser than one another. this was a REALLY good book i totally recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Yay!

    I couldn't wait to get the book! I nearly drove me nuts because I had no sooner read chapter one when I had to put it down to go to school! When I read the reviews saying it wasn't one of the best I became seriously worried. But my worries were for nothing (though the fighting made me extremely uncomfortable there for a bit)because this book was everyting I expexted and more. Yay for Tamora Pierce!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    will of the empress review

    The Will of the Empress Is one of the nicest books in its class. The ninth book in its series, It tells of how the four young mages,Briar, Daja, Sandry, and Trisana travel to the far country of Namorn to visit sandrys Namornies estates. However, they find themselves rescuing sandry from would-be kidnappers, trying to marry her for her money and power. During the trial, the four are at odds, after being separate from one another for so long, and keep to themselves, not working in concert. This causes much confusion and many problems for the mages throuout the book. In the book the four friends have just come back from journeys accross the globe,except sandry. When they come back, they are afraid to let the others into each others minds , and cut themselves off from they¿re mental link. This causes great anger, especially for sandry,who wants everything to return to the way it once was in their childhood. The others , like briar and Daja, are afrain to show their minds for fear of spreading the horrible things they had seen. Tris had learned to scry the wind, a talent only one in a billion mages could learn to do without going mad. They were in discord until a noble tried to kidnap sandry and force her to marry him, at which they united again and ran from Namorn, even breaking the magical barrier that had stopped armys of the past from entering Namorn. This book is a unique book, using rarely seen vocab and diolouge, mixing magic and life in perfect harmony. The book was also quite a little treat for me and countless other fans of the series, for most had thought its predecessor, Shatterglass, had been the last of its kind. The caracters are also given great depth and are very diffrent from one another, yet even through their contrasting they blend together well to make a ¿splendidly contrasting arguifyed twist¿ as Briar would put it, on this great series. It is a great book and is very different from most books of its kind.[although that might be because they¿re all different from one another...]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Beyond awesome book!!!

    I absoulutely loved this book. It was magnificently written. I'm one of those people that loves Harry Potter books and gets through them in a day or two. This definitely kept be interested in the time while I wait for the next Harry Potter book. Though it starts out pretty slow and the vocabulary of Namorn keeps you looking in the glossary throughout the story, it definitely will entertain you. You will never want to put this book down, so when you start reading it make sure you have some time on your hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    SHE IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!

    Tamora Pierce is the best author of books I have ever read! I read a lot of books, and she writes the best!! I loved this book. I read it so fast that my mom got mad at me. Its just SO hard to put down a book this great. At first I got mad first because Sandry, Briar, Daja, and Tris didn't want to have their bond any more. But the farther I got, the more I understood why she did that. I also got mad that Tamora Pierce made Daja gay. But, in the end, I still loved the book. I think that Tamora Pierce is going to make another seires with this book. This book didn't feel like it ended. Keep on reading her books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    Has anyone noticed?

    has anyone ever noticed that all tamora pierce's book r really 4 girls? I mean seriously how akward would it be 4 a boy to walk up to you ans start talking about that book? Anyway this book is great and a must read on all tp fan's to read list P.S. no affence to any boys who read tp. Just don't come up 2 girls randomly and start talkin about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Will of the Empress (The Circle Reforged Series #1)

    What a wonderful story about life. This story doesn't start picture perfect but by the end you have a full story. Something more real with the fun of magic also. I loved Daja's story, and Tris. Well, all four of them really- all together. Great overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    TP FAN

    I really enjoyed this book, although I think Tamora Pierce has written better. I think that this book was targeted for a little bit older age group than the past Emelan books. Overall, I still think that this book is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    WOW WOW WOW

    Tamora Pierce has done it again. I literally got a chill when I opened the box. It didn't top Trickster's Queen, but it was still amazing. Tamora Rocks Forever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Awesome

    This was a thrilling return to the Circle of Magic characters' lives. I loved everything about this book (except for what Daja figures out about herself in regards to love--that was a little strange). It had a great plot and interesting details. Tamora Pierce is one of my favorite authors, and I hope that she keeps writing all her wonderful books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Her best yet

    I've read all that Tamora Pierce has out there, and I feel that this is her best yet. It has all the whimsy of her previous Circle books, but she incorporates some of the realism that is more commonly found in her Tortall series. Allowing her characters to grow and change, she brings to them new depth that is rarely found in Teen books. Her previous Circle series seem to be directed at younger readers, but this attempts and succeeds at themes and plots for the older set. Congratulations, Ms. Pierce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    An excellent return to the Circle

    Tamora Pierce has written another enjoyable episode in the world of mages and magics. Acknowledging that time apart has caused barriers between friends, she allows Sandry, Tris, Daja and Briar to show how each have changed and what they must re-learn of each other to truly find each other again. Full of romance, intrigue and human drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Lorasine

    One word... impossible. Over and over again, Tamora Pierce has shown that she can achieve the impossible. She has done so with her Tortall books, and her Circle books as well. And once again, Pierce has shown what many cannot do. 'The Will of the Empress is a page turning story that will fascinate teens. This is a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    The best so far!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The story flows well and keeps me turning the pages. Can't wait for more Circle universe books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8