BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

William Shakespeare: The Complete Works

Average Rating 2
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Collection

Loaded fine on my Nook and it was all there. No problems whatsoever. This is a pretty exhaustive collection. We get all of the popular plays and sonnets and a few obscure ones besides. Very neatly formatted and, for the price, unbeatable! Kudos to this publisher.

posted by BertRandall on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

erratic nook performance

this was one of the first purchases I made for my new nook simple touch. the file is largely non-functional. it opens only 20% of the time or so, and when it does open, navigation is painful and usually crashes. the one time I could actually get to the table of contents...
this was one of the first purchases I made for my new nook simple touch. the file is largely non-functional. it opens only 20% of the time or so, and when it does open, navigation is painful and usually crashes. the one time I could actually get to the table of contents, it showed only the comedies. I am terribly disappointed I ignored the other reviews that identified these problems. the only good thing is that I'm not out that much money. I'm actually removing it from my nook.

posted by sborrowman on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    erratic nook performance

    this was one of the first purchases I made for my new nook simple touch. the file is largely non-functional. it opens only 20% of the time or so, and when it does open, navigation is painful and usually crashes. the one time I could actually get to the table of contents, it showed only the comedies. I am terribly disappointed I ignored the other reviews that identified these problems. the only good thing is that I'm not out that much money. I'm actually removing it from my nook.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Collection

    Loaded fine on my Nook and it was all there. No problems whatsoever. This is a pretty exhaustive collection. We get all of the popular plays and sonnets and a few obscure ones besides. Very neatly formatted and, for the price, unbeatable! Kudos to this publisher.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Don't Purchase

    I'm a graduate student in Shakespearean studies and I bought this edition to have easy access to the books. 90% of the time the only play the nook recconizes is the first one. I can tell it to go to page 2321 and its still finding pages from the first play. The other 10% of the time it only gives me access to the first 1/2 of the book, stopping in the middle of a page.

    The menu doesn't work. In theory you are supposed to be able to click on a play title and it takes you there, in 6 months it has never done it. I regret buying this. FIND A DIFFERENT EDITION. I requested help at the Nook counter at my local B&N and they informed me there was nothing they could do, it was a faulty program and since it wasn't one of their editions I was out of luck.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Dont buy.

    No text whatsoever. Dont buy this version.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Nothing at all

    The book didn't open at all for me. Wish I knew how to get a refund.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Awful

    I tried using this, and it crashed my nook. I reccomend using the $4.79 one. It is organized by different genres.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unbelievable Collection!

    Wow! Where do I start. Took the chance on this since it was only $2.00 measly bucks and I thought it was too good to be true. Well, I can assure you, it is true. This collection is worth far more, given that you have all of the great plays of the legendary bard and a fully functional main table of contents that's linked. Sub contents appear in front of each play, so navigating this behemoth is a breeze. I LOVE it!!! Purchased the Sherlock Holmes collection as well, and that had a link for this title. Awesome collections, both!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Worthless as an EBook

    Absolutely worthless on a nook, or on a nook reader installed on a computer. The table of contents does not work. The sonnets would not load. I could read three sonnets from my hard copy before Henry V would open in the e-book. After two weeks, I deleted it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text

    The book simply wasn't there. A waste of money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Dosn't work

    I tried opening it a few times and it would open at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Crashed on my NOOK

    Opened the first time after long boot up. Second time could not navigate the book. Could not return to Table of Contents or any page prior to page 196 even though page number showed page one. Found out there are no refunds of downloaded books so BE WARY of every purchase. READ the REVIEWS and RATINGS first.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Booo

    Screw this book.i havent read it but allthese bad reviews say buying this book is bad.i saw like two good reviews.so im guessing buying this robs you four bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    This book doesn't open!

    :( Any help would be appreciated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Did not load at all! No refund. Do not waste your money!

    Would not load! Barnes and Noble shame on you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    A must read for all!

    It was an excellent book, for it had legible print, good connotations, and sturdy binding. I enjoied it very much, and I still read a scene or two each night. I'm a teen, so if I get interested in Shakespeare, in that case, the book must be pretty great. A great recomendation for every bookshelf.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1