BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

William Shakespeare's Star Wars: Verily, a New Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A very interesting take on A New Hope. I've now read both of t

    A very interesting take on A New Hope. I've now read both of the Shakespeare Star Wars plays and I've really enjoyed them both. I hope they adapt the other movies into these plays.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    William Shakespeare┬┐s Star Wars is a read every Shakespeare enth

    William Shakespeare’s Star Wars is a read every Shakespeare enthusiast will love! Likewise, it will make teaching Shakespeare to students that much more interesting. To take a story like Star Wars, one the masses know, love, and understand, and to transition it into Shakespearean language is ingenious, and I am very excited to work with it in the classroom a bit as we gear up to read Hamlet.

    The play begins with a sonnet that I can’t wait to show my students, and Doescher does a great job sticking to the Elizabethan form—it looks and sounds just like Shakespeare! I am highly impressed, and I’m so very glad I stumbled across this book.

    Perhaps my favorite part was the humor of R2D2, especially his asides in which he actually speaks in sentences as opposed to beeps! I’ve always wondered what a transcript of what R2 was saying would look like, and Doescher gives us some hilarious insights. I also really enjoyed picking out the references to Shakespeare’s great classics throughout the novel. There is one such scene in which Luke laments killing a starship trooper, and it actually mirror's Hamlet's famous "Poor Yorick" monologue quite well.

    All in all, this is great fun and I highly suggest lovers (and teachers) of Shakespeare scoop it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    A lot of fun.

    A great way to introduce Shakespeare to those unfamiliar.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Oh my read my book review.

    I got the sample and at the first scene it made me laugh so hard. Meep,indeed!Oh how comical C3PO is! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    This is the first (chronological movie release date) Star Wars t

    This is the first (chronological movie release date) Star Wars told in a parody of Shakespeare. The plot is virtually the same as the movie, Episode 4.

    Humor and drama abound throughout the book in this version/telling.

    Characters have similar motivations, yet these are a little more explicitly/differently expressed, as in often the case in screenplays.

    Overall, a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    William Shakespeare┬┐s Star Wars by Ian Doescher if a fun mashup,

    William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher if a fun mashup, what would hap­pen if the famed bard would write a well known story. Frankly, I don't think it's a far fetch, after all Shake­speare wrote crowd pleasers which some­how tran­si­tion them­selves into clas­sic lit­er­a­ture (my the­ory: a bored Eng­lish professor).

    I have to admit – I really don’t get William Shake­speare. I can cer­tainly see the genius behind the writ­ing and appre­ci­ate the sto­ries but I view him more a bit dif­fer­ent than most peo­ple. I see Shake­speare as some­one akin to James Cameron, a genius who can make a crowd pleaser while know­ing how to drive home a point. I also appre­ci­ate Shakespeare’s wicked sense of humor, how­ever most of the jokes don’t trans­late well sev­eral cen­turies after they were writ­ten and need fur­ther, and some­times in depth, expla­na­tion.
    The first rule about jokes: if you need to explain it, it’s not funny.

    I really enjoy the Star Wars mythos, the char­ac­ters and the extended uni­verse (EU), I got hooked on Star Wars: The Clone Wars with my son but as a movie lover, I thought the movies were lack­ing but I do appre­ci­ate the imag­i­na­tion behind them and the mag­i­cal storytelling.

    I was a bit on the fence about William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher, but I’m glad I read it. This is a fun book with plenty of homages to both Star Wars fans and Shakespeare’s fans. Unlike many of Shakespeare’s writ­ings, it’s a fast and easy read of a famil­iar story (with a few twists). Even a few Star Wars con­ti­nu­ity con­tro­ver­sies are addressed with a wink and a nod (Han: And whether I shot first, I'll né'er con­fess!") and R2D2's solil­o­quy is hilarious.

    Mr. Doescher’s attempt to recre­ate a Shake­spearean play is note­wor­thy and clever. The book read like the few Shake­speare works I have read (same tempo and pace) even though not as sex­ist, which is a good thing. The story is easy to fol­low, the char­ac­ters are inter­est­ing (some more than the movies) and the illus­tra­tions range from very good to “just OK”.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ian Doescher has loved Shakespeare since eighth grade and was bo

    Ian Doescher has loved Shakespeare since eighth grade and was born 45 days after Star Wars Episode IV was released. He has a B.A. in Music from Yale University, a Master of Divinity from Yale Divinity School, and a Ph.D. in Ethics from Union Theological Seminary.

    So when I found out that a fellow seminarian wrote a Star Wars book in Shakespearean prose, I had to review it.

    William Shakespeare's Star Wars is a literary mashup of... well just like it sounds. This book is the written adaptation of George Lucas' epic space adventure written in the voice of everyone's favorite baud. 

    Now, I love Star Wars, I even own the complete works of Shakespeare and I took High School drama for two years, so that hould qualify me to review this book, right? And admittedly, I was excited to get it - the cover is really cool (I actually like the true hard back cover more than the paper cover) and the inside is adorned with attractive etching-like sketches.

    And just as you would expect, Mr. Doescher does a great job of breaking the movie down into line and verse - and for the most part there are even some nice additions to the text that sound very Shakespearean. But the novelty of this book quickly wears off after a few sonnets.  I would say that perhaps 50% of the text is still pretty darn close to the actual lines from the movie.  

    I'll admit, when I read Shakespeare, I get lost real fast. I'm often confused by the speech and will quickly loose the plot. And so because I am so familiar with the Star Wars script I was actually looking forward to wading deep in the Shakespearean language and being able to keep up. But because Mr. Doescher only adds a few extras along with some scattered thee and thous - it's really quite simple to follow along.

    The book feels more like reading a movie script than it does a Shakespearean play.  But to be fair, I don't think the author was attempting to recreate the genius of Shakespeare in the first place. And I don't think any true fan of Star Wars would (or should) even care.

    The book is what it is - a lot of fun. In fact, I would add, don't buy one - buy several to have around the house and perform a reading with your friends when they come over. I think it would be fun to hear a bunch of thirty year old fanboys (and girls) speaking in Elizabethan accents reciting the lines to everyone's favorite space epic.

    Was that a confusing review? Let me sum up. It's not Shakespeare, it's fun. It's not brilliant literature, it's a creative mash-up that will be enjoyable to anyone who enjoys Star Wars.

    Thank you to Quirk books for a free copy for a fair and honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1