BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Willow

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

First of all Amy Richie i dont know whether to love you or hate

First of all Amy Richie i dont know whether to love you or hate you.. i was completely transfixed by Willow.. im sleep deprived and scatter brained.. SOOO lets talk about this book shall we..




Willow is a werewolf.. Her and her sister Ivy (also a werewolf) are being ...
First of all Amy Richie i dont know whether to love you or hate you.. i was completely transfixed by Willow.. im sleep deprived and scatter brained.. SOOO lets talk about this book shall we..




Willow is a werewolf.. Her and her sister Ivy (also a werewolf) are being raised by Bella.. They are being raised to be future pack leaders because in this society women rule.. woohoo!! I always enjoy a good matriarch.. So being a werewolf doesnt come as easy to Willow as it does to Ivy.. Willow just wants to be a normal teenager a cheerleader maybe have some friends.. Oh and to stay in the same place for longer than six month.. but you cant always get what you want.. They have just moved to another small town and suddenly guys are going out of their way to make Willow happy.. The hot guy Ruben is giving her the eye.. Although Willow is only 16 and not of age (age being 17) she comes to find out the reason for THIS move was to introduce her to her NEW pack.. Not ready to be a leader she reluctantly agrees to become this packs new leader at least until Ivy is of age then she can take over..




Leading doesnt come easy to her but shes trying and shes learning channeling Bella and seeking advise from Gage her pretend uncle who in my head is Zac Efron they may not look alike and to be honest i forgot how Gage is supposed to look because again in my head hes ZAC.. Clearly im insane i enjoy it and run with it whenever possible.. So lemme explain Gage the pretend uncle.. After introducing Willow to her new pack.. Bella and Ivy skip town well you need a cover story and well an uncle is as good as anything else right? well i think wrong.. but ill go with it.. Gage is an old werewolf apparently males age incredibly slowly while females age regularly.. Soon enough Willow finds herself attracted to GAGE see my point yet? Okay back to the story her pack has amazing influence at school and given her what shes desired friends! Carlie.. Aubrey and Lindsey CHEERLEADERS! They help Willow make the squad everything is going swimmingly well if you dont count the death and wolf sightings.. ugh men right! A few surprises some i totally predicted other i was really surprised with.. The biggest surprise to me was when i completed the book.. i completely taken when i turned my epage and BAM about the author.. Needless to say i cant wait for book 2 to be released! 

posted by Paperrdolls on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is probably my first book that I have ever read with a were

This is probably my first book that I have ever read with a were as the main character. Most of the books that I have read had weres as supportive characters. That being said, I did enjoy this book, as I usually do those published by the Anchor Group.

Willow is already...
This is probably my first book that I have ever read with a were as the main character. Most of the books that I have read had weres as supportive characters. That being said, I did enjoy this book, as I usually do those published by the Anchor Group.

Willow is already well aware that she is a werewolf, and has had some inkling of her destiny, thanks to stories told to her throughout her childhood after she was turned. Suddenly, she is whisked away and has to become the leader of her own pack, and to protect them and guide them. But she still has so much to learn and hates what she is, anyway.

What I liked about this book was its quick pace and ease of reading. Willow does grow and mature somewhat through the book as she has to take on more responsibilities. I liked most of the other characters and their chemistry.

I did feel a little lost here and there like I had missed something and felt like some areas needed more development. Some things were explained away rather quickly. But I have faith that as the series continues, the story will grow stronger. I look forward to checking out more of it in the future.

posted by Andrea_C on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Great, easy read! I was given a copy of this book in exchange fo

    Great, easy read!
    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.




    I would highly recommend Willow by Amy Richie. This YA story about Willow, a 17 year old werewolf, is one personal growth. Willow has never wanted to fully immerse herself in the roles of a female werewolf. She longs to blend in to the high school crowd, but her surrogate mother, Bella, moves her and her sister, Ivy, too often to make that dream a reality. Willow hunts only out of necessity, and never imagines herself following in Bella’s footsteps as a pack leader. However, as she quickly discovers, Bella has a plan that will force Willow to accept a leader role, whether she wants to or not. As the plot unfolds, Willow makes many mistakes as she settles into leading her young male pack, but she learns from them and remembers the training Bella instilled in her throughout childhood. Despite her initial resistance, Willow begins to accept her role and her pack quickly becomes allegiant to her leadership. I liked that this was an easy read, and it left me wanting to read the next book in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    First of all Amy Richie i dont know whether to love you or hate

    First of all Amy Richie i dont know whether to love you or hate you.. i was completely transfixed by Willow.. im sleep deprived and scatter brained.. SOOO lets talk about this book shall we..




    Willow is a werewolf.. Her and her sister Ivy (also a werewolf) are being raised by Bella.. They are being raised to be future pack leaders because in this society women rule.. woohoo!! I always enjoy a good matriarch.. So being a werewolf doesnt come as easy to Willow as it does to Ivy.. Willow just wants to be a normal teenager a cheerleader maybe have some friends.. Oh and to stay in the same place for longer than six month.. but you cant always get what you want.. They have just moved to another small town and suddenly guys are going out of their way to make Willow happy.. The hot guy Ruben is giving her the eye.. Although Willow is only 16 and not of age (age being 17) she comes to find out the reason for THIS move was to introduce her to her NEW pack.. Not ready to be a leader she reluctantly agrees to become this packs new leader at least until Ivy is of age then she can take over..




    Leading doesnt come easy to her but shes trying and shes learning channeling Bella and seeking advise from Gage her pretend uncle who in my head is Zac Efron they may not look alike and to be honest i forgot how Gage is supposed to look because again in my head hes ZAC.. Clearly im insane i enjoy it and run with it whenever possible.. So lemme explain Gage the pretend uncle.. After introducing Willow to her new pack.. Bella and Ivy skip town well you need a cover story and well an uncle is as good as anything else right? well i think wrong.. but ill go with it.. Gage is an old werewolf apparently males age incredibly slowly while females age regularly.. Soon enough Willow finds herself attracted to GAGE see my point yet? Okay back to the story her pack has amazing influence at school and given her what shes desired friends! Carlie.. Aubrey and Lindsey CHEERLEADERS! They help Willow make the squad everything is going swimmingly well if you dont count the death and wolf sightings.. ugh men right! A few surprises some i totally predicted other i was really surprised with.. The biggest surprise to me was when i completed the book.. i completely taken when i turned my epage and BAM about the author.. Needless to say i cant wait for book 2 to be released! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    This is probably my first book that I have ever read with a were

    This is probably my first book that I have ever read with a were as the main character. Most of the books that I have read had weres as supportive characters. That being said, I did enjoy this book, as I usually do those published by the Anchor Group.

    Willow is already well aware that she is a werewolf, and has had some inkling of her destiny, thanks to stories told to her throughout her childhood after she was turned. Suddenly, she is whisked away and has to become the leader of her own pack, and to protect them and guide them. But she still has so much to learn and hates what she is, anyway.

    What I liked about this book was its quick pace and ease of reading. Willow does grow and mature somewhat through the book as she has to take on more responsibilities. I liked most of the other characters and their chemistry.

    I did feel a little lost here and there like I had missed something and felt like some areas needed more development. Some things were explained away rather quickly. But I have faith that as the series continues, the story will grow stronger. I look forward to checking out more of it in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    . I read Willow by Amy Richie. I recommend this book. It starts

    . I read Willow by Amy Richie. I recommend this book. It starts with a 17 year old girl named Willow. She's in high school but she's also a werewolf being raised with her younger sister, Ivy, by a surrogate mother, Bella. She is of age to lead her own pack of werewolves, but isn't sure she wants it that way. I love that for this book, the females lead the males. It makes it exciting and a good different dynamic than other books! Willow is given a pack because the female was killed and the males needed a leader. Willow does not want this but is not really given a choice. She was taught well but she's still young. She tries and makes mistakes. But with a male werewolf, Gage, sent to protect and watch over her, she persists. A nightmare she's had since she was little comes to fruition, but a little less severe. There is love and danger as well as conflict. This is a great easy read that makes you want to read more. Can't wait to check out book 2 of the series! I was given this book for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Willow is one of those wonderful gems of a book that really capt

    Willow is one of those wonderful gems of a book that really captures your attention from Chapter One and does not let go throughout the entire book. You meet Bella, who is raising Willow and Ivy; all werewolves, just trying to go unnoticed. Willow is then thrown into the position of being a pack leader once she becomes of age. She is very hesitant to do so, and states her opinions openly; and just anticipates Ivy, her younger sister, taking over the pack when she is old enough. Willow just didn’t realize at the time how much she needs the pack, and the pack needs her. They are young, inexperienced, and make mistakes; but they would do anything to protect each other. Willow and the pack all attend high school, trying to fit in like regular students, and then things start unraveling around them. Just when you thought you have the characters figured out, you find out how wrong you are. I had one of those “holy crap!” moments, which is amazing! Not many books can do that to you! I cannot wait to read book two in this series, “Fern”. Just added it to my TBR list. Happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Willow by Amy Ritchie is the story of a 17 year old girl, Willow

    Willow by Amy Ritchie is the story of a 17 year old girl, Willow, who is struggling with trying to be a normal teen when she is anything but. Willow is a werewolf and as if that isn't difficult enough, she is given leadership of a pack of high school age male
    werewolves.
    I really enjoyed this story and thought it was a fun read. I loved the different spin on the werewolf pack dynamics - one female leader with a pack of males devoted to her...what girl wouldn't like that. I also really liked the characters in the story. All of the characters were well developed and had their own unique personality. I enjoyed getting to know the boys of the pack and I liked seeing how their personalities blended together and made the pack stronger. I really liked Willow and I thought that she was a great heroine. It was interesting seeing her grow from a teen who didn't want to be a pack leader to a strong leader who's pack stood behind her against enemies. I also enjoyed the interactions between Willow and Gage and her pack.
    The story was a little predictable at times (for example, I guessed Gage's secret very quickly) but there were also some surprises (like the friendship that develops between Willow and Carlie).
    If you enjoy YA paranormal stories and werewolf stories, then you should definitely check out Willow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Willow and her sister Ivy are werewolves, raised by Bella the wo

    Willow and her sister Ivy are werewolves, raised by Bella the wolf who changed them when they were just little. They have always known that when they came of age they would have to leave Bella and her pack and go find a pack of their own. But when Blake arrives from the council to take Willow to meet the pack she will lead Willow she doesnt want to go, she decides to stay with the pack for a short while until Ivy is old enough to take over. Soon Willow accepts her role and blanches at the idea of anyone else leading her pack.




    This is a great story, from the first few chapters I was hooked. So much so that I finished reading the story in one sitting. Richie has a way of writing that just draws you into the story, of making you feel like your a part of the pack. Its only been a few minutes since I put the book down and I wish I had the next instalment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    First off I have to say that Amy Richie did a great job she drag

    First off I have to say that Amy Richie did a great job she drag me into the story and I couldn't stop reading till the last page. You have Willow that is an wolf but she is also an teenager. Through out the book she is trying to figure out who she is. One she wants to be normal but at the same time now she has to be a leader of an pack. I love Willow she is awesome and her pack is great a bunch of teenage boys that also need to be teach how to blend in with the humans and also learn how to be an wolf. Then you have Gage which she is falling for and who can blame her cause I would too but she knows that is not his real name but the question is what is his real name. She does find out but you have to read it yourself to find out who he really is. You also have a couple other twist that Willow didn't know as well. I guess its time to get your copy of Willow and read to find out for yourself. Looking forward to reading what happens next for Willow and her Pack!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Pretty good

    I like this book but its kinda wierd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Different spin on werewolves

    This is a coming of age book. You now if your a were wolf and a teenager. It takes you on lot of twist and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    OMG..I loved this book from the beginning. It keeps you on your

    OMG..I loved this book from the beginning. It keeps you on your toes throughout the whole book. I loved experiencing the journey with Willow.. The story is about a young girl who turns into a wolf..She is made a leader of a pack at the age of 17. This is a must read for all ages..I highly recommend this book to everyone..So what are you waiting for get your copy now!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Apprentice's Den

    Apprentice's Den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    A good read

    A girl trying to be invisible and human with her gaurdian and out going sister but is thrown to lead a pack and become the person she is meant to be... can't wait to find out the nity.grity in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Great read

    Love willow and the gang..... cannot waitbto see whats instore for willlow and gage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1