Customer Reviews for

Willow (De Beers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    very flat

    i must say this book was a dissapointment. i've read the others in the series and this had to be the worst. she dragged too many details for too long and really ruined the story. i loved the ending, and the beginning was okay, but the middle seemed to take me days to get through. it was overly exaggerated and long to me. i would recommend the others in this series though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Ehhh...

    The book was well-written, but it's not her best work by any means. It's certainly different though. It's not one of her typical "from rags to riches" kind of stories that involve evil grandmothers that always end up dying by a stroke. It's a huge change, but I think the plot could have been better. It just wasn't very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Read this series after just finishing the Dollangangers series.

    Read this series after just finishing the Dollangangers series. And found the first two books, to be better in the series. Basically the ones with Willow as the MC actually. Anyway, this has Willow finding out something about herself as well as her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Medicine Cat Den

    Medicine Cat Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Ashenbird

    Ashenbird ran into the forest and mumbled somthing about toms. She saw a mouse and killed it, then after about 20 minutes of hunting, went back to camp with two mice and two sparrows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Elders den

    WS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Bubbles

    This book was amazing it kept me reading for ever it kept me thinking what is going to happen next. This book isfor every body who loves to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    I loved this book and plan on finishing the series. Fullbof all the twists vc andrews usually has and then some. Such a great read i couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    First time in a long time

    I started out reading VC Andrews in middle school and just recently started up again. I have always been captivated with her writing. Okay Willow to me was wonderful, I finished the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. Although, there were some parts that dragged and I admit I had to skim over, but it kept me interested in reading! Thatcher and Willow's relationship did seem a bit abrupt and suspicous to me but I could feel the emotions and intensity. There were also a couple of bits where, I was puzzled as to why the author felt it relevant to describe certain things i.e the housekeeper and the way he . . . you know? I won't give it away. I do recommend this book because I could feel the emotions of love and suspense.I ordered the rest of the series. So, hopefully no disappointments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Willow Book 1

    After finishing the Dollanganger series, I've begun the De Beers series. Here we meet Willow who finds out that the family she has isn't who they seem to be and goes in search of the truth about herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    I thought it was OK.

    This was the first time I read Andrews and I thought Willow was a bit boring at times. The characters were okay. There were interesitng points at times that kept me reading. I am going to order Wicked Forest and hope that the series keeps my interest. Overall, the book was okay but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    A slow-moving but good book

    'Willow' is a very good but slow-moving book. It was very hard to keep my attention on the book because it was so boring. It had some fun and exciting parts that I was very interested in. 'Willow' is about a girl who loses her adoptive mother and father. Willow, the main character, is then off to find her real mother. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a very long attention span.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Willow book 1

    This is book is alright but can get boring at times when something is being told over and over again. Seems similar to the dollanganger series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    AWFUL

    First off, I absolutely love V.C. Andrews' books. Her first ones were amazing and when the ghost writer first started out, the books were still just as good, my favorite series is the Landry. I also enjoy the miniseries, and Hudson was really good. But after reading Willow, I think Neiderman might have lost his touch. In fact the whole De Beers series was bad. I have every one of her books and this is probably the worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    this book was great

    I really loved this book.The ghostwriter did a good job writing this book for her.I recommend this book to alot of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Amazing

    Willow is one of the best books I have ever read. I read it in only one night! V. C. Andrews is a great writter and I am interested in reading anything she wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Great

    I have been reading v.c Andrews books and been hooked since i was in high school this is one of the best I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    good book

    It was a good book but I didn't care for Willow that much. I loved HEAVEN, though that was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    AWESOME!!!

    i have read most of the V.C Andrews series and I thought that his book wasn't as good as the other series but it was good way to start the book. Willow is a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    This was a Great Book

    I was a little disappointed with Lindon not supporting his Half Sister when he found out. I thought he was being selfish. Yet I may have his reaction. I thought Thatcher jumped to conclutions after that incident instead of asking questions. Overall I thought it was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3